Like Tree2Likes

Xray T3 2011

Old 05-08-2012, 08:41 PM
  #4081  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: victoria BC
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rshair View Post
assume you are running spool front? for me spool tends to understeer. i am also running on asphalt, low-medium grip and medium track outdoors. without buying anything you can:
1. run kit setup 350 cst with 3 holes front and rear unless you are running that already. you can try 4 holes to get more roll but too soft shocks leads to overheating tires then there is no grip
2. run short camber link in the front to increase the camber rise. static camber should be 1.5 deg all round. or adjust as you please.
3. run the -0.75 suspension arm holders to give more roll (front and rear), not a favorite but you will get more roll.
4. run the diffs in lower position
5. remove some of the screws from the top deck, you can try removing 2 from the rear first (the motor bulk heads) and then 2 from the front and see how it goes. more flex should give some grip
6. with some elbow grease you can cut the rear bit of the top deck and joins together near the motor end, there was a posting of this somewhere in this forum. worked for me.
7. reduce the wheelbase of the car on the rear, should get some better turn in. you can push in the rear anti roll bar so that it sticks out by 2 mm and push in the front anti roll bar as much as possible. some say it is better to reduce the wheelbase from the front rather than rear.
8. you can reduce the track width in the front a little but you need to experiment and find that balance. you may get something but you lose others.

if you plan to remove that spool, try a gear diff in the front, 150 k diff oil and adjust as you see fit. if you plan to buy then you can get the rear diff as well, get some springs, anti roll bars.

you can try soft inserts (even low profiles) to give you with more air gap.
the looks like a good set up but
Hey just a quick question. I haven/t ran my Xray for almost a year now. well it seems, sorry ran it once on carpet last winter with rubber tires. so now i'm going back out side. does anyone have a good set up for 17.5 blinky on a short asphalt track. the car is stock no hoop up or nothing. so lay it one me.

the motor is going to be a sonic 17.5

esc does it really matter its blinky.
Cheers

DRew
cyrrus is offline  
Old 05-20-2012, 12:39 PM
  #4082  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
32819toon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North of England
Posts: 580
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default front knuckle screw

I've recently lost a few bottom screws from the front left arm / knuckle. I replaced the knuckle last time it happened. Anyone have any advice on why this is happening and what I can do to prevent it.
32819toon is offline  
Old 05-20-2012, 02:54 PM
  #4083  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (128)
 
Dusttt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lake Forest
Posts: 2,370
Trader Rating: 128 (100%+)
Default

anyone have a good pinion/spur combo for 17.5 blinky with a fantom D3 or a sonic?
Dusttt is offline  
Old 05-20-2012, 03:10 PM
  #4084  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (84)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,691
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dusttt View Post
anyone have a good pinion/spur combo for 17.5 blinky with a fantom D3 or a sonic?
92T spur and 47-50T pinion for N/R 17.5
OVA is offline  
Old 05-21-2012, 03:15 AM
  #4085  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (15)
 
kinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 614
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

gear for 3.8 FDR for 17.5 blinky with Revtech/Trinity or associated motors. lower number for bigger track, higher for tighter track. Choice of pinion/spur is whatever suits your car and what is available. Try gearchart.com to work it out

To free up the rear end you need to RAISE the rear roll center, not lower it. You can do this by dropping the inner upper camber link to the lower inner hole(less effect), or raising the lower suspension arm(more effect). Try stiffening the rear spring too, go to a 2.8 rear spring. Or you can just move the shocks more upright.
Download the setup workbench app for iphone/android and all your questions will be answered. Best 5 bucks I ever spent
kinga is offline  
Old 05-25-2012, 02:41 PM
  #4086  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (78)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 307
Trader Rating: 78 (100%+)
Default FDR

Bigger track 3.85 smaller track like what I run, 3.96. Small track, you won't have any go till half way down the straight. 48P 69/33or34, 64P 90/44or45
btrukr is offline  
Old 05-25-2012, 03:01 PM
  #4087  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
samnelso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fitchburg, MA
Posts: 1,751
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 32819toon View Post
I've recently lost a few bottom screws from the front left arm / knuckle. I replaced the knuckle last time it happened. Anyone have any advice on why this is happening and what I can do to prevent it.
This happens to me occasionally as well. I check these screws as often as I remember and just snug them up when they're loose.
samnelso is offline  
Old 05-25-2012, 03:03 PM
  #4088  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
samnelso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fitchburg, MA
Posts: 1,751
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I like running 100T xray spurs when I can as the motor button head screw will fit through the holes in the gear, unlike smaller spurs.
samnelso is offline  
Old 05-27-2012, 06:02 AM
  #4089  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (30)
 
MrRolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sans Souci, Sydney, Australia
Posts: 962
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Ive checked the parts cross reference table, but just want to confirm that T2 arms, uprights, C-Hubs can be used on the T311.

Also with regards to the L and H blocks are you able to use these in all 4 roll centre positions ( can they be flipped over ) or do you need to use the orange roll centre mounts from the T2009?

Thanks in advance
MrRolla is offline  
Old 05-27-2012, 10:24 PM
  #4090  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 3,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MrRolla View Post
Ive checked the parts cross reference table, but just want to confirm that T2 arms, uprights, C-Hubs can be used on the T311.
Yes. There might be some variation in hard and extra hard spec arms, also, I think the T2009 might have had the 2 hole arms. T2008 also had the same molding arms and hubs, the T2007 had slightly different arms but the hubs are the same.

Originally Posted by MrRolla View Post
Also with regards to the L and H blocks are you able to use these in all 4 roll centre positions ( can they be flipped over ) or do you need to use the orange roll centre mounts from the T2009?
Not so sure about this, the orange will fit in all four but I think you need to swap the the blocks between sides rather than turn them upside down.
nerdling is offline  
Old 06-04-2012, 05:45 PM
  #4091  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (13)
 
smilekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,536
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

can we use low mounting lower arm adapter (lower roll center)? the standard is the middle mounting im thinking to change with low mounting adapter because of block upper chamber link is limit im using standard L block. is it o.k for low grip track ?
smilekt is offline  
Old 06-24-2012, 04:34 AM
  #4092  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (30)
 
MrRolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sans Souci, Sydney, Australia
Posts: 962
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

awfull quiet in here!!
MrRolla is offline  
Old 06-24-2012, 04:44 AM
  #4093  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,726
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Awesomatix.
dontfeelcold is offline  
Old 06-24-2012, 04:51 AM
  #4094  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (30)
 
MrRolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sans Souci, Sydney, Australia
Posts: 962
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dontfeelcold View Post
Awesomatix.


you got it?
MrRolla is offline  
Old 06-24-2012, 05:47 AM
  #4095  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,726
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Not yet. supposedly back in stock July.
dontfeelcold is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.