R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2012, 04:44 AM   #3901
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suteki View Post
Has anyone tried installing a Futaba BLS551 servo on the 2011 model and have any problems? Purchased my car second hand and it didn't have the 25 tooth adapter for a Futaba servo so I purchased a generic servo saver that is roughly similar.

I'm finding the servo saver won't fit between the gap in the top deck and is instead sitting under it. I managed to shave the top part of the servo saver off but its left less than a mm of plastic for the screw to go into.

Have an xray servo saver on the way but I'm not convinced it's going to fit out far enough to clear one side of the top deck either. I can put some spacers on the servo posts to push the servo further inward but it's very nearly hitting the steering posts as is.

I'll have to take a picture to better explain my problem.
Sounds like you need to use the small spacers to move the servo further inboard, so the servo save fits into the gap in-between the two sides of the top deck.
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 06:27 AM   #3902
Tech Regular
 
Suteki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toowoomba AUS
Posts: 478
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
Sounds like you need to use the small spacers to move the servo further inboard, so the servo save fits into the gap in-between the two sides of the top deck.
Yeh I'm just concerned that I won't be able to move it inboard enough without the servo hitting the actual steering columns. I need get a pic of it, also maybe I should just wait till this part comes in so I can really see what sort of space I have to work with.
Suteki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 06:37 AM   #3903
Tech Elite
 
Midnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Edmond. Oklahoma
Posts: 2,066
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

Turn it and shoo goo it down.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suteki View Post
Has anyone tried installing a Futaba BLS551 servo on the 2011 model and have any problems? Purchased my car second hand and it didn't have the 25 tooth adapter for a Futaba servo so I purchased a generic servo saver that is roughly similar.

I'm finding the servo saver won't fit between the gap in the top deck and is instead sitting under it. I managed to shave the top part of the servo saver off but its left less than a mm of plastic for the screw to go into.

Have an xray servo saver on the way but I'm not convinced it's going to fit out far enough to clear one side of the top deck either. I can put some spacers on the servo posts to push the servo further inward but it's very nearly hitting the steering posts as is.

I'll have to take a picture to better explain my problem.
__________________
RC8T; Losi 2.0B; FT T4; AKA & RB
Hoffman Photography, www.carolinasrc.com
Midnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 02:17 PM   #3904
Tech Regular
 
T3_PASSION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: tamworth
Posts: 307
Default

can any one tell me what parts i would need and part numbers to put the servo on my 2011 t3 in the t3 2012 position.
T3_PASSION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 07:58 PM   #3905
Tech Elite
 
haywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,807
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T3_PASSION View Post
can any one tell me what parts i would need and part numbers to put the servo on my 2011 t3 in the t3 2012 position.
Shoe goo and a couple of the 4.9 x 8 ball studs and some shims is all I used!
__________________
Calandra Racing Concepts/ Hobbywing / Team Scream / Progressive Rc / Ko Propo / MotivRc / Dri-Fit Mafia /
haywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 08:30 PM   #3906
Tech Addict
 
kinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 600
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T3_PASSION View Post
can any one tell me what parts i would need and part numbers to put the servo on my 2011 t3 in the t3 2012 position.
Have search through this thread mate, it has been explained a few times and there are pics and a few different methods.
Here is my method
http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...011-a-190.html

You basically only need a slightly longer turnbuckle (5mm longer than stock from memory) , all the other parts you already have if you have servo and servo posts.

Last edited by kinga; 01-05-2012 at 08:41 PM.
kinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 12:18 AM   #3907
Tech Regular
 
T3_PASSION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: tamworth
Posts: 307
Default nosram pure evo 17.5 motor

i am running an xray t3 and was wondering if anyone knows what FDR i should run with nosram 17.5 timed
T3_PASSION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:59 AM   #3908
Tech Addict
 
kinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 600
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Is that with speedy timing? Probly around 5.5 to 6.5 depending on the track and your timing settings. 4 is around what I run untimed.
Your manual for the motor will give you some indication too
kinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 01:58 AM   #3909
Tech Regular
 
mrjeremyaaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Gold Coast, QLD
Posts: 355
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Hi all,

picked up an 11 spec t3 - my first on road car and have almost completed the build.. unfortunately i have just realised that the grub screws int he arms, the poke through to the chassis, are upside down...

is there a quick way of getting to these without taking hte whole thing apart????

Also, i'm in need of some gearing advise, looking to run a 21.5 with blinky speedy. any suggestion on where to start?


Thanks in advance...
mrjeremyaaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 03:01 AM   #3910
Tech Champion
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjeremyaaron View Post
Hi all,

picked up an 11 spec t3 - my first on road car and have almost completed the build.. unfortunately i have just realised that the grub screws int he arms, the poke through to the chassis, are upside down...

is there a quick way of getting to these without taking hte whole thing apart????

Also, i'm in need of some gearing advise, looking to run a 21.5 with blinky speedy. any suggestion on where to start?


Thanks in advance...
who assembled it??

Just remove the lower susp mount screws nearest the droop screw and you should be able to get to them out without too much hassle.

IIRC the guys gear at around 3.5 for 21.5 blinky
__________________
www.facebook.com/mcpheerc
CraigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 03:32 AM   #3911
Tech Regular
 
mrjeremyaaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Gold Coast, QLD
Posts: 355
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
who assembled it??

Just remove the lower susp mount screws nearest the droop screw and you should be able to get to them out without too much hassle.

IIRC the guys gear at around 3.5 for 21.5 blinky

Awesome, thanks Craig.
mrjeremyaaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 05:21 AM   #3912
Tech Elite
 
blade072's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide S.A
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

http://vbcracing.com/t32fvbc.html#

looks funky.....
__________________
David Randall

AWESOMATIX A800X ★ MUCHMORE ★ R1 WURKS ★
ROCHE RAPIDE F1-16 ★ SANWA M12 ★ SILVERBACK ★
HOBBYWING ★ RCMAKER ★ VOLANTE RC ★
blade072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 03:30 AM   #3913
Tech Addict
 
kinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 600
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

You guys might remember I was asking for advice a few weeks ago about setups regarding my car being loose off/on power.
After rebuilding the car to kit setup the car was horrible, after the first race meet recently I was talking to a few of the local old hands, all of whom recommended more droop.
After setting the car back to 5mm front and 5mm rear Over ride height droop and 5.5 mm front and 6mm rear ride height, the car was finally handling well. And I was on pace again finally.
It is a bumpy large outdoor tarmac track. no other changes were made to the kit setup other than this
My adivce is to listen to the locals, as I was told by many on the internet that this much droop would make the car handle poorly. Not so, it turns out you need this much droop to handle a bumpy track.
My question is, when people list 6 and 5 droop settings, are you talking about ORH droop or droop set on the droop blocks.
kinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 04:07 AM   #3914
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kinga View Post
You guys might remember I was asking for advice a few weeks ago about setups regarding my car being loose off/on power.
After rebuilding the car to kit setup the car was horrible, after the first race meet recently I was talking to a few of the local old hands, all of whom recommended more droop.
After setting the car back to 5mm front and 5mm rear Over ride height droop and 5.5 mm front and 6mm rear ride height, the car was finally handling well. And I was on pace again finally.
It is a bumpy large outdoor tarmac track. no other changes were made to the kit setup other than this
My adivce is to listen to the locals, as I was told by many on the internet that this much droop would make the car handle poorly. Not so, it turns out you need this much droop to handle a bumpy track.
My question is, when people list 6 and 5 droop settings, are you talking about ORH droop or droop set on the droop blocks.
6/5 is often downstop measured with the car on the blocks - not ORH.
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 05:41 AM   #3915
Tech Regular
 
mrjeremyaaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Gold Coast, QLD
Posts: 355
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
who assembled it??

Just remove the lower susp mount screws nearest the droop screw and you should be able to get to them out without too much hassle.

IIRC the guys gear at around 3.5 for 21.5 blinky

when you refer to 3.5, does this mean 24 pinion / 84 spur, or do you also need to take the internal drive ratio into account to arrive at this figure?

reason being that I bought a 44 pinion and 74 spur today thinking that this would be close (by my calculations FDR of around 3.2) only to to find that they don't fit into the chassis together without fairly serious modifications taking place...
mrjeremyaaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:57 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net