R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2011, 09:08 PM   #1696
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olhipster1 View Post
too funny
..
2011 Kit setup worked very well with Jacos..
but the minute I put on new Solaris setup went to shizz...

Anyone have any suggestions on what to change setup wise to adapt to the tires.
It depends on what the different tires do to the car, loose, push, traction roll?
I personally have never ran Solaris tires so I don't know what differences performance wise.
__________________
Chris Lockhart

**TEAM RCAMERICA**XRAY**HUDY**PROLEVEL RC**
chensleyrc1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 09:47 PM   #1697
Tech Elite
 
olhipster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Asgard
Posts: 3,994
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to olhipster1
Default

I find the 2011 became loose with the Solaris tires.
i'll try Paul's setup and see what happens.

Thanks for the info everyone.

gotta say the car is probably the best quality of all my cars.
__________________
everything is Cause and effect
every Action has a reaction.
"I drank too much wine - I must take a p!ss"
CAUSE and EFFECT
olhipster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 12:22 AM   #1698
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

You can also try less traction compound on the front until they break in. Even on new sets of JACOs I run about 50% on the front for the first battery or two.
__________________
Chris Lockhart

**TEAM RCAMERICA**XRAY**HUDY**PROLEVEL RC**
chensleyrc1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 02:50 AM   #1699
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,760
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chensleyrc1 View Post
What about the old F1 cars that used active suspension, didn't it limit the suspension so it always kept a specified distance between road and chassis? It failing is what killed Senna right?
F1 cars have always had sparks etc coming from underneath on most tracks at some point with or without the active suspension.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xpress View Post
I believe Senna died from a steering column breaking.
No, he died from a combination of low tyre pressure (having been behind a safety car for a while) and then pushing to the limit before they reached working temps.
Car bottomed out (how ironic in this conversation) and he lost control, the steering column broke on impact with the wall.
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 04:41 AM   #1700
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
No, he died from a combination of low tyre pressure (having been behind a safety car for a while) and then pushing to the limit before they reached working temps.
Car bottomed out (how ironic in this conversation) and he lost control, the steering column broke on impact with the wall.
Yes, active suspension had been banned and the Williams without it that year had been handling horribly. Indeed Senna had been worried about the car's unpredictability all weekend. Of course he had to get in the car on Sunday, but we all wish he hadn't
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 08:12 AM   #1701
Tech Elite
 
Chris08527's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: 732
Posts: 2,154
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olhipster1 View Post
I find the 2011 became loose with the Solaris tires.
i'll try Paul's setup and see what happens.

Thanks for the info everyone.

gotta say the car is probably the best quality of all my cars.
Orlando,
pretty sure myself, Big Al, and Alex Valls are all running the kit set-up. I know i am using the solaris tires with no probs (not sure what the Al's are using for tires) not sure how many runs you have on them, if they were freshies they may need a couple of runs before they come in. I have prob 3 weeks and a lot of practice on mine with no issues, hot lap in the main was a .5 and i did a .6 . . . PM me if you need anything . . .
__________________
"Hello How 'bout that ride in? I guess thats why they call it Sin City." Alan Garner~"I play the drums, I'm good as hell" Richie Rich
Chris08527 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 08:42 AM   #1702
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olhipster1 View Post
I find the 2011 became loose with the Solaris tires.
i'll try Paul's setup and see what happens.

Thanks for the info everyone.

gotta say the car is probably the best quality of all my cars.
Try Pauls setup (Or mine from snowbirds) as they are pretty much the same. I have ran Jaco Blues, Sweep and Solaris tires. I have not really had to change nothing other than .5 degree of camber (more with jaco than others) and the car has been really really good on all.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 10:50 AM   #1703
Tech Adept
 
Chubba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 174
Smile

Hi there. Almost finished my new T3. Was wondering have a much more tire warmer and was wondering how long to heat the tires for and at what temperature to aim for?

Thanks.
__________________
[Mugen MRX 5] [Yokomo R12] [Xray T3 2011] [Xray X10 Link] [KM HK-1]
Chubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 11:22 AM   #1704
Tech Elite
 
olhipster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Asgard
Posts: 3,994
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to olhipster1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris08527 View Post
Orlando,
pretty sure myself, Big Al, and Alex Valls are all running the kit set-up. I know i am using the solaris tires with no probs (not sure what the Al's are using for tires) not sure how many runs you have on them, if they were freshies they may need a couple of runs before they come in. I have prob 3 weeks and a lot of practice on mine with no issues, hot lap in the main was a .5 and i did a .6 . . . PM me if you need anything . . .
thanks dude.
much appreciated.
__________________
everything is Cause and effect
every Action has a reaction.
"I drank too much wine - I must take a p!ss"
CAUSE and EFFECT
olhipster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 12:19 PM   #1705
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Southwest Austin
Posts: 46
Default

Who has the best prices on the t3'11 in the us?
dreadwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 12:59 PM   #1706
Tech Champion
 
Kwikvdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 5,970
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kwikvdub
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olhipster1 View Post
I find the 2011 became loose with the Solaris tires.
.
Chris is right!..... The kit set-up is REAL close and works real well with the Solaris tires. Didn't know you were having so much problems with handling. Bring your car over to us so that we can give it a complete check up...... We have a lot of time before the first Main goes out.
__________________
Alex Valdes

TQRacing / 360 v2 RC Raceway / Team Downgrade Designs
Kwikvdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 12:59 PM   #1707
Tech Champion
 
Kwikvdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 5,970
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kwikvdub
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreadwing View Post
Who has the best prices on the t3'11 in the us?
Stormer's Hobbies!!
__________________
Alex Valdes

TQRacing / 360 v2 RC Raceway / Team Downgrade Designs
Kwikvdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 02:49 PM   #1708
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Southwest Austin
Posts: 46
Default

Thanks, good price. Though it looks like they are out of stock on both Stormer and Amain hobbies.
dreadwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 08:22 AM   #1709
Tech Master
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
Try Pauls setup (Or mine from snowbirds) as they are pretty much the same. I have ran Jaco Blues, Sweep and Solaris tires. I have not really had to change nothing other than .5 degree of camber (more with jaco than others) and the car has been really really good on all.

EA
EA,

I was looking at your setup for the 'Birds, specifically your rear toe-in. Off the sheet it looks like you ran the 1.5mm shim + 1 degree uprights which would give you 4 degrees of toe-in if I'm not mistaken but the final toe in box has 3.5 degrees marked.

and .. Pauls Cleveland setup has 0.4mm shims + 1 degree uprights which should give 2.5mm but the final is stated as 3.5mm ..

Just checking the math .. wondering what the final toe-in should actually be?
ByteStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 09:29 AM   #1710
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByteStream View Post
EA,

I was looking at your setup for the 'Birds, specifically your rear toe-in. Off the sheet it looks like you ran the 1.5mm shim + 1 degree uprights which would give you 4 degrees of toe-in if I'm not mistaken but the final toe in box has 3.5 degrees marked.

and .. Pauls Cleveland setup has 0.4mm shims + 1 degree uprights which should give 2.5mm but the final is stated as 3.5mm ..

Just checking the math .. wondering what the final toe-in should actually be?
Yes what I had checked is correct. If you measure it you will have 3.5 degrees total with that setup. At least on my setup station it did. Paul has the wrong shim checked on his. It should be 1.5mm shim also with 3.5 total.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:17 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net