Like Tree2Likes

Xray T3 2011

Old 03-07-2011, 10:08 PM
  #1621  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (26)
 
Bonadona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 460
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by obi wun View Post
thanks for the setup information...last question for the night..what is the difference between the exotec chassis and the stock chassis...i think i spelled that right...
Wow, the professor on the T3 thread! Otha, I may be mistaken but I dont think Exotek makes a chassis for the T3 2011 Spec. I think it's only for the 2010 which does not use the new bell crank steering therefor it will not work. The new 2011 kit chassis is awesome and you do not need to look elsware for performance. You must have your eye on Bates' car... Lol Glad to hear, let me know if I can help.
Bonadona is offline  
Old 03-07-2011, 10:13 PM
  #1622  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (47)
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,806
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Don't forget you have not one, but two, A-main capable T3'11 drivers who race at your track. Not that Eric's set up isn't good, but I'd be looking at Hawk or Bullwinkle's car if it was me racing in Flowood.
andrewdoherty is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 01:02 AM
  #1623  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (17)
 
StickyFingaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: East Bay, CA
Posts: 703
Trader Rating: 17 (90%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fred Hubbard View Post
Yes it's 1.9. I recommend starting with EA's setup from the 'Birds and talk to him about his setup from the last Mid West Grand Slam they both are really good.

EA's 2011 Snowbird Nationals 17.5 Setup
Inglewooood... Inglewood always up to no good!

Fred when are you coming up to NorCal to run some asphalt? We should be up and running by April... I know you're gonna be going at it hard since you're running with all the big boys now!



Martin
StickyFingaz is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 02:01 AM
  #1624  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (20)
 
kcunamay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 392
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Got my T3'11 conversion kit and thought I'd share chassis pics. Left is the '11


With the car pretty much converted, I did not have to use any weights to even out the l/r balance. Can't wait to run it.


kcunamay is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 02:10 AM
  #1625  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (11)
 
Cristian Silva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 950
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Big thanks to Paul from Flying Fox for the aweswome gear Diff, first time running one I found it had a better feel, power out of corners and consistent throughout the whole run than a ball Diff which lead me to a state titles win.
Cristian Silva is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 04:01 AM
  #1626  
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,974
Default

Originally Posted by kcunamay View Post
Got my T3'11 conversion kit and thought I'd share chassis pics. Left is the '11
[/IMG]

Are those gear diffs Xray stock?

What model did you convert from?
niznai is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 07:22 AM
  #1627  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,267
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Today released new option parts
Attached Thumbnails Xray T3 2011-xr-302028-o.jpg   Xray T3 2011-am-010005.jpg  
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 07:37 AM
  #1628  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (20)
 
kcunamay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 392
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by niznai View Post
Are those gear diffs Xray stock?

What model did you convert from?
No, they are the SPEC R Diffs. It started as a T3. I got the conversion kit from Ashford Hobbies.

http://ashfordhobby.com/detail.aspx?ID=9103
kcunamay is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 07:49 AM
  #1629  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,721
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by obi wun View Post
thanks for the setup information...last question for the night..what is the difference between the exotec chassis and the stock chassis...i think i spelled that right...
In comparing the Exotek to the 2010 car the flex is different and the chassis is narrower so it scrubs less and therefore carries more cornerspeed. Regarding the 2011 car...there may be an Exotek chassis in the works



Originally Posted by StickyFingaz View Post
Inglewooood... Inglewood always up to no good!

Fred when are you coming up to NorCal to run some asphalt? We should be up and running by April... I know you're gonna be going at it hard since you're running with all the big boys now!



Martin
HAHA, that's right...what up Martin! I won't be up until May, we have a couple of big local's down here in April (ROAR Regionals and XRAY Challenge). See ya soon!
Fred Hubbard is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 08:23 AM
  #1630  
Tech Master
iTrader: (101)
 
mickrcarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Marietta Ohio
Posts: 1,522
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fred Hubbard View Post
In comparing the Exotek to the 2010 car the flex is different and the chassis is narrower so it scrubs less and therefore carries more cornerspeed. Regarding the 2011 car...there may be an Exotek chassis in the works





HAHA, that's right...what up Martin! I won't be up until May, we have a couple of big local's down here in April (ROAR Regionals and XRAY Challenge). See ya soon!
I have a feeling this exotek chassis for the 2011 spec will have the servo sitting vertical just like the Tamiyas
mickrcarver is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 08:25 AM
  #1631  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 189
Default

i just finished building my T3R which i have almost converted to a T3. I have a question regarding the ride height. No matter what I do, the suspension travel allows the chassis to touch the ground at full compression. This also applies to my nitro cars. Is this a normal thing? Is there a way to prevent this without stiffening the suspension?
omegaf is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 08:29 AM
  #1632  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,486
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by omegaf View Post
i just finished building my T3R which i have almost converted to a T3. I have a question regarding the ride height. No matter what I do, the suspension travel allows the chassis to touch the ground at full compression. This also applies to my nitro cars. Is this a normal thing? Is there a way to prevent this without stiffening the suspension?


No 100% normal.
Integra is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 08:42 AM
  #1633  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 189
Default

so the only thing i can really do is tighten the screws on the dampers to get maximum ride height but at the cost of stiffness and higher GC?
omegaf is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 11:27 AM
  #1634  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by omegaf View Post
so the only thing i can really do is tighten the screws on the dampers to get maximum ride height but at the cost of stiffness and higher GC?
You don't want to do that. It is normal for the chassis to touch the ground at full compression, but it should not do so on the track unless your track is exceptionally bumpy. Tightening the preload on the springs all the way still wouldn't prevent the chassis from being able to touch the ground.
M-Technic is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 12:13 PM
  #1635  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 189
Default

yea, it seems there is no way to stop it. i was only hoping that a higher ride height and stiffer springs would make it harder for the chassis to hit the ground. But if you say the setup is ok like this then i will leave it.

i don't understand why the cars are made like this though. even my nitro cars are the same. you don't ever want the chassis to hit the ground because that would take weight off the wheels and cause loss of traction at best or the whole thing could end up flying in the air on a big bump. surely there has to be a way to control suspension travel?
omegaf is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.