R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2011, 09:48 AM   #391
Tech Fanatic
 
RobS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chatham, Ontario
Posts: 877
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
Nope.

What was your gearing/ESC settings?
6.3 FDR
48 boost
10000 end rpm
3000-4000 start
8 turbo
delay .3
ramp 2
motor timing 2nd notch on + side

I'm pretty sure its not the settings as I used the same settings with another D3 for the rest of the weekend and it was fine. When my motor blew I had literally just put the car down on the track and did one lap. Never was free revved either.
__________________
Rob Say
Action Hobbies Kingsville
"In racing you never really lose. You either win, or learn."
RobS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 08:15 PM   #392
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobS View Post
6.3 FDR
48 boost
10000 end rpm
3000-4000 start
8 turbo
delay .3
ramp 2
motor timing 2nd notch on + side

I'm pretty sure its not the settings as I used the same settings with another D3 for the rest of the weekend and it was fine. When my motor blew I had literally just put the car down on the track and did one lap. Never was free revved either.
Well I don't know what to say about your motor, but those settings are pretty aggressive. With 2 ticks of timing on the motor and all the speedo's timing being added before 10,000 RPM, that can build a lot of heat. I run that same FDR but with no timing on the motor and I run a 5,000 to 17,000 RPM range and I still have temps around 180.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 08:32 PM   #393
Tech Fanatic
 
tmaxx26power's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

I bought a Trinity Duo3 17.5 Been running it on an indoor carpet oval track in an EDM oval car-sorry this isnt a on road car but there seemed to be alot of good knowledge in this forum so I had to ask. It is a non boosted esc(Tekin RS Pro-Blinky Mode) class. I want to to bump the timing up on the can but not sure how much to go and exactly how to go about it. On the endbell is a 0 and on the can is a + with spaced marks to the left of that. Right now with the motor at 0 (as it appears) my gearing is correct and my temps are great but looking for a little more speed. Thanks
__________________
Kyosho RB6 Stock Buggy
Kyosho ZX6 Mod 4wd Buggy
Kyosho SC6 Pro2

Last edited by tmaxx26power; 03-16-2011 at 09:13 PM.
tmaxx26power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 06:05 PM   #394
Tech Fanatic
 
tmaxx26power's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmaxx26power View Post
I bought a Trinity Duo3 17.5 Been running it on an indoor carpet oval track in an EDM oval car-sorry this isnt a on road car but there seemed to be alot of good knowledge in this forum so I had to ask. It is a non boosted esc(Tekin RS Pro-Blinky Mode) class. I want to to bump the timing up on the can but not sure how much to go and exactly how to go about it. On the endbell is a 0 and on the can is a + with spaced marks to the left of that. Right now with the motor at 0 (as it appears) my gearing is correct and my temps are great but looking for a little more speed. Thanks
Anyone?
__________________
Kyosho RB6 Stock Buggy
Kyosho ZX6 Mod 4wd Buggy
Kyosho SC6 Pro2
tmaxx26power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 06:47 PM   #395
Tech Master
 
trerc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmaxx26power View Post
I bought a Trinity Duo3 17.5 Been running it on an indoor carpet oval track in an EDM oval car-sorry this isnt a on road car but there seemed to be alot of good knowledge in this forum so I had to ask. It is a non boosted esc(Tekin RS Pro-Blinky Mode) class. I want to to bump the timing up on the can but not sure how much to go and exactly how to go about it. On the endbell is a 0 and on the can is a + with spaced marks to the left of that. Right now with the motor at 0 (as it appears) my gearing is correct and my temps are great but looking for a little more speed. Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmaxx26power View Post
Anyone?
Loosen the 3 screws on the sensor side of the endbell and the center will turn, advance the timing slowly and check your temps. If your gearing is right you will likely end up with the timing pretty much cranked when racing in blinky mode.
__________________
If it smells burnt up.. it's more than likely hot.. you don't have to touch it..
trerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 07:02 PM   #396
Tech Fanatic
 
tmaxx26power's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trerc View Post
Loosen the 3 screws on the sensor side of the endbell and the center will turn, advance the timing slowly and check your temps. If your gearing is right you will likely end up with the timing pretty much cranked when racing in blinky mode.
So I turn the endbell clockwise towards the marks to the left of the +symbol correct? How do I know where full timing is? Is there a built in stop? About how much timing are you adding at full cranked?
__________________
Kyosho RB6 Stock Buggy
Kyosho ZX6 Mod 4wd Buggy
Kyosho SC6 Pro2
tmaxx26power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 07:07 PM   #397
Tech Master
 
trerc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

Yes, towards the plus, it will stop at the plus.
__________________
If it smells burnt up.. it's more than likely hot.. you don't have to touch it..
trerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 07:25 PM   #398
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone tested different rotors in 17.5 tc spec (no boost)? If so which rotor and fdr. thanks
franc furter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 07:00 PM   #399
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 24
Default

RoadRunnerGTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 08:10 PM   #400
Tech Addict
 
4wheeldrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodstick Ga.
Posts: 690
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I just picked up a used D3 13.5 and when I got it I spun the motor by hand and noticed that it was pretty noisy, sounded like a rattle, certainly didn't sound smooth. Once installed I ran the car and it was immediately noticeable the noise it made, the car made good speed but the noise was concerning. Is this typical of this 13.5 or is there something wrong here? I have a D3 17.5 and it's whisper quiet so I'm curious as to why this motor would be this noisy.
4wheeldrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 08:25 PM   #401
Tech Regular
 
ewashburnaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 469
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4wheeldrive View Post
I just picked up a used D3 13.5 and when I got it I spun the motor by hand and noticed that it was pretty noisy, sounded like a rattle, certainly didn't sound smooth. Once installed I ran the car and it was immediately noticeable the noise it made, the car made good speed but the noise was concerning. Is this typical of this 13.5 or is there something wrong here? I have a D3 17.5 and it's whisper quiet so I'm curious as to why this motor would be this noisy.
That sucks.. get your money back.
__________________
Fishhook
ewashburnaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 08:44 PM   #402
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4wheeldrive View Post
I just picked up a used D3 13.5 and when I got it I spun the motor by hand and noticed that it was pretty noisy, sounded like a rattle, certainly didn't sound smooth. Once installed I ran the car and it was immediately noticeable the noise it made, the car made good speed but the noise was concerning. Is this typical of this 13.5 or is there something wrong here? I have a D3 17.5 and it's whisper quiet so I'm curious as to why this motor would be this noisy.
I get them brand new like that. Its usually from the Bearing in the Sensor end that is not installed all the way or is crooked. Usually just tap the shaft of the motor on the table lightly and it will seat the bearing.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 09:31 PM   #403
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 24
Default

EA,

which rotor do you recommend for 17.5 non-timing in TC? and what do you consider as to how the rotor is properly shimmed.

Any info would be appreciated.

thanks
RoadRunnerGTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 03:31 PM   #404
Tech Addict
 
HappyHippo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Anyone that has a good setup for EPIC D3 13,5 motor with LRP Stock Spec V2?
HappyHippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 09:29 AM   #405
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 92
Default

Has anyone who has used the Duo2 and moved to the D3 found you need to change your normal gearing (FDR) much ?

Depends on the track as to gearing I know, but on a back to back using the Duo2 at the same track was there much if any difference ?


I run a Tekin RSPro. normal settings (latest Vegas software)

.02 Turbo delay
50 Boost
16 turbo
3 steps
2500 rpm start
10001 rpm end
no motor timing at all.
FDR approx 7.12 on a moderate complex track with 20-25 metre straight

This is on the Duo2, average temp is 65 Deg C (not sure what that is in F), normaly they say don't breach 80 Deg C so im well within that.

Would the D3 see this change much, if at all ?

cheers for any help
Jo90uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:53 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net