R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-22-2011, 07:01 AM   #286
Tech Elite
 
MAD916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: La Center Seca
Posts: 3,117
Default

I also had one of the new ones with timing marks show up DOA... soldered it up, bumped the timing a click or two , and it started cogging bad from start. drove a couple laps. put on a motor checker and all three senor lights were on and shorted out.... replaced with sensor board from old D2 runs fine...
__________________
Timezone Raceway Park " on-road outdoor european style road course.
Timezone II 60'x100' indoor carpet track. Host of the ROAR 2011 Carpet Nat's.
Timezonehobbies.com your new source for online RC products.
MAD916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 07:28 AM   #287
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsmooth View Post
I'm a little bummed. After reading all the good times you guys were having with your D3's, I went ahead and ordered an Express tuned 13.5 from A-Main.

I soldered it in, put power to it, and nothing. After checking all of the connections, I pulled the sensor wire, and it worked. I checked with another sensor wire, and still nothing.

I'm assuming the board is bad. Is there a way to check this with a volt meter or anything?

I hope this isnt an weakness with these motors since I read an earlier post about the same issue. I've had a handfull of brushless motors over the past few years. I've burned a few up, but never had a board go bad, especially out of the bag!

The part will cost me around $30+ from A-MAIN, which I'm not too thrilled about.

If anyone has any suggestions, i'm all ears (or eyes!!)

Thanks,
Steve
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAD916 View Post
I also had one of the new ones with timing marks show up DOA... soldered it up, bumped the timing a click or two , and it started cogging bad from start. drove a couple laps. put on a motor checker and all three senor lights were on and shorted out.... replaced with sensor board from old D2 runs fine...
The Older D1 & D2 boards are the identical part. Save yourself a few bucks and use those up if you have them! I have one in my pitbox from a Fantom ION1 that I bought for $5.99? I think they are all (Trinity, Fantom, etc.) at the $19.99 price point now however.
__________________
Dude, Go RRReally FFFast - When something gets in your way - Turrrnn
VRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 08:49 AM   #288
Tech Master
 
WIITA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,590
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VRacing View Post
The Older D1 & D2 boards are the identical part. Save yourself a few bucks and use those up if you have them! I have one in my pitbox from a Fantom ION1 that I bought for $5.99? I think they are all (Trinity, Fantom, etc.) at the $19.99 price point now however.
Are the rotors the same as well? can I use my ion3 rotor in my ion 1?
__________________
Team CRC / Sanwa / Team scream / Genesis RC / Hobbywing / TQ Wire / Schelle / MIP / RC^2 / TEKNO / BoomRC
WIITA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 08:53 AM   #289
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAD916 View Post
I also had one of the new ones with timing marks show up DOA... soldered it up, bumped the timing a click or two , and it started cogging bad from start. drove a couple laps. put on a motor checker and all three senor lights were on and shorted out.... replaced with sensor board from old D2 runs fine...
Hey Mark,

Guess if you would ordered one of mine for the same price you paid you would have gotten one that was tested, dyno'd and knew worked! LOL

J/K....95% of the time if there is a concern it is in the sensor board. Even on motors that just seem to run bad if you change the board a lot of times they will be better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WIITA View Post
Are the rotors the same as well? can I use my ion3 rotor in my ion 1?
While the physical size of the rotor is the same the material is different, they look different and are not ROAR legal that way. You have to use the Nickel plated D3 rotors in the D3 motors to be legal if racing under ROAR rules. Plus the new rotors seem to hold up better and are stronger overall than the older black ones.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 09:14 AM   #290
Tech Elite
 
MAD916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: La Center Seca
Posts: 3,117
Default

Yeah yeah yeah Eric.... It was a surprise I guess Rick ordered them from Stormers, and supprised me with one Thursday night... Snowbirds gift... and he also didn't want to show up with 2 of them for him and Richard and hear me whine about it...


We'll get some of your tested ones in the case for the Nat's then if they dont perform we'll send them to your pit...

See ya at the birds....
__________________
Timezone Raceway Park " on-road outdoor european style road course.
Timezone II 60'x100' indoor carpet track. Host of the ROAR 2011 Carpet Nat's.
Timezonehobbies.com your new source for online RC products.
MAD916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 09:33 AM   #291
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAD916 View Post
Yeah yeah yeah Eric.... It was a surprise I guess Rick ordered them from Stormers, and supprised me with one Thursday night... Snowbirds gift... and he also didn't want to show up with 2 of them for him and Richard and hear me whine about it...


We'll get some of your tested ones in the case for the Nat's then if they dont perform we'll send them to your pit...

See ya at the birds....

What a good friend.....Or saving his ears one! LOL

Sounds good....See ya Monday!

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 01:10 PM   #292
Tech Addict
 
sprintcarracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 545
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Whats a good temp for 17.5 touring stock? I'm at 140 to 145 after 6min.
sprintcarracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 07:53 PM   #293
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northern California
Posts: 108
Default

I bought a brand new D3 last week put it in the car and ... nothing. Thankfully the guys at NorCal took the motor back but had already replaced another customer's D3 that had the same trouble out of the box! I don't think you should have to buy a pre dyno'd motor to ensure that you will get one that works (sorry EA) I guess I'm back to TEAM POWER's if I can find one.
__________________
Independent Racer, J-Spec sand and sealer, Dog hair free since 2011
Dragarcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 08:08 PM   #294
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragarcher View Post
I bought a brand new D3 last week put it in the car and ... nothing. Thankfully the guys at NorCal took the motor back but had already replaced another customer's D3 that had the same trouble out of the box! I don't think you should have to buy a pre dyno'd motor to ensure that you will get one that works (sorry EA) I guess I'm back to TEAM POWER's if I can find one.
I agree you shouldnt have to but every manufacture has issues with mass produced items. Its just a matter of how they handle it that determines where you spend your money. Glad to hear that Norcal took care of you. Awesome service there!

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 08:22 PM   #295
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know the bearing size for the Duo3 motors?
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 08:32 PM   #296
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bvoltz View Post
Does anyone know the bearing size for the Duo3 motors?
1/8th x 5/16 I THINK....

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 08:50 PM   #297
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
1/8th x 5/16 I THINK....

EA
And he usually thinks right!
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 08:12 AM   #298
Tech Addict
 
sprintcarracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 545
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

I think there are issues with the dyno'd motors as well. Had a guy at my track put in a new 17.5 that was dyno'd and had issues with it. The tekin was flashing a wrong motor type over the leds. Put in a novak no motor issues.
sprintcarracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 11:48 AM   #299
Tech Apprentice
 
kyle133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Essex Ontario, Canada
Posts: 89
Default

i ran my new 17.5 duo 3 at the canadian onroad nationals this weekend. started 3 teeth above where i would gear my LRP x12 17.5. I also left the motor timming where it came out of the box.

the class was open esc stock touring. FDR was 6.14. i could not get my motor over 110 degrees F and made stupid power all over the track. i got use to my motor always coming off around 180+ and was nice to be able to grab the can and not get 3rd degree burns

great job on the motor epic! wont be switching motors anytime soon
__________________
ACTION HOBBIES KINGSVILLE
MT POCKETS RACING
kyle133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 12:39 PM   #300
Tech Regular
 
bagged69chevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Visalia CA
Posts: 429
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Any suggestion on FDR for the new D3 17.5 for the Touring car boosted stock class? Ive tried a 4.0 and a 7.0 and am currently at a 5.85 FDR, but just doesn't have enough top end. Other guys in my class are running anywhere from 4.5 to 6.9, with different motor ESC setups. So I really don't know where to start. Im running on two different tracks. First Norcal Carpet track roughly 80x40? and an asphalt track 120x80.


My setup
CAR: TC5
ESC: Mamba Max Pro
ESC TIMING: 45*
MOTOR: D3 17.5
MOTOR TIMING: 1 click
RAMPING: 3500-7000
TEMPS: 165-170*
__________________
Nick George

www.localrcracing.com
bagged69chevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:25 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net