R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-11-2011, 11:04 AM   #271
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
What is your ESC setup? I run middle to 1 tick of timing on the motor depending on ambient conditions and the track I am running on.
With the SP 13.5 my Tekin setup is as follows, the setup has plenty of rip and speed so I just need to know if I need to make changes for the D3 to keep temps in check. I don't currently have too much time to get to the track to test before my next club event

10 degrees on motor

Boost 50
Turbo 12
Delay 0.2
Ramp 2
Start 6000ish
End 19000ish

Motor temps 170 to 175 after 5 minutes with no fading.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 11:06 AM   #272
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skitee View Post
With the SP 13.5 my Tekin setup is as follows, the setup has plenty of rip and speed so I just need to know if I need to make changes for the D3 to keep temps in check. I don't currently have too much time to get to the track to test before my next club event

10 degrees on motor

Boost 50
Turbo 12
Delay 0.2
Ramp 2
Start 6000ish
End 19000ish

Motor temps 170 to 175 after 5 minutes with no fading.
That is a good starting point for a D3. The gearing will most likely be different. I would suggest a 6.3 final drive and 0 timing on the motor to start.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 11:09 AM   #273
Tech Elite
 
R3VoLuTiOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,391
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
Yes what Racecrafter posted is the true definition of why. It easier terms though its as Yang said as I use a Load type dyno so as a load is applied to the motor the rpm drops and this is where the amp draw comes in. As you put a heavier load on it the amps go up and rpm goes down.

EA
makes sense.

Did you get my last email?
__________________
John Tsang 🏁 VBC Racing 🚗 ORCA RC 🚗 GripworksRC 🚗 MotivRC 🚗 GravityRC 🚗 RC America

http://www.facebook.com/VancouverRRR 🏁 http://www.facebook.com/OvergearedRacing
R3VoLuTiOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 11:42 AM   #274
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
That is a good starting point for a D3. The gearing will most likely be different. I would suggest a 6.3 final drive and 0 timing on the motor to start.
Cool thanks.

So currently my FDR is at 7.6 with SP, do you still suggest 6.3 ? The straight is around 130ft leading into a sweeper which is around 90ft
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 11:49 AM   #275
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by R3VoLuTiOn View Post
makes sense.

Did you get my last email?
Not sure. I replied to the last one I got. Resend it and Ill check it again.

Your order went out today also.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 06:46 PM   #276
Tech Addict
 
warnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 522
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default D3 17.5

Has anyone seen this on the bearings for the new Duo 3? (New one with timing markings) Just got one last week .. ran it for 3 mins and the car started to make a loud noise coming from the motor. Opened it up and found the bearings were leaking the grease that is packed in them big time.. cleaned it off.. noise went away for 10 sec's and then it stated again. only did a few small burst of throttle opened the motor again and then this is what I saw on the bearings again.. Motor is not damaged or anything it still works fine.. but want to sort out this bearing issue before I use it again.

The bearings in the Duo 3's are in very tight fit so I don't know if the bearings are just place in the end bell holes or if there is some kind of clip holding them in there... I have replacement bearings that would fit (don't want to break anything removing the old ones).. but there seems to be a problem if this is on a new motor. Maybe too much grease packed into the bearings or?? when I free spin the bearings its like I am doing it under water.. they are free but not as free as they should be.

I didn't oil or grease the bearings (which may have casued this) as they are packed with grease already. I have some Fantom Bearing Oil but I have to removed the grease from the bearings to put it in..

Just wondering if anyone else has had this issue.
Attached Thumbnails
EPIC "D3" Duo 3-img_0242.jpg   EPIC "D3" Duo 3-img_0243.jpg  
__________________
TCX Smokem / F104 wgp
Major Sponsor : Visa Card
TEAM SMA - www.smaracing.org
warnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 05:18 PM   #277
Tech Addict
 
bsmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rocklin, California
Posts: 630
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default bad sensor board?

I'm a little bummed. After reading all the good times you guys were having with your D3's, I went ahead and ordered an Express tuned 13.5 from A-Main.

I soldered it in, put power to it, and nothing. After checking all of the connections, I pulled the sensor wire, and it worked. I checked with another sensor wire, and still nothing.

I'm assuming the board is bad. Is there a way to check this with a volt meter or anything?

I hope this isnt an weakness with these motors since I read an earlier post about the same issue. I've had a handfull of brushless motors over the past few years. I've burned a few up, but never had a board go bad, especially out of the bag!

The part will cost me around $30+ from A-MAIN, which I'm not too thrilled about.

If anyone has any suggestions, i'm all ears (or eyes!!)

Thanks,
Steve
bsmooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 05:47 PM   #278
Tech Adept
 
zerius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Culver City, Ca
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I had this happen to my Ballistic not too long ago. My Tekin RS wouldnt fire up unless I removed the sensor wire. It started doing this when I made an adjustment to the motor timing right before a qualifier

I corrected the problem by removing the endbell, cleaning it out and re-seating it. Never had a problem since.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsmooth View Post
I'm a little bummed. After reading all the good times you guys were having with your D3's, I went ahead and ordered an Express tuned 13.5 from A-Main.

I soldered it in, put power to it, and nothing. After checking all of the connections, I pulled the sensor wire, and it worked. I checked with another sensor wire, and still nothing.

I'm assuming the board is bad. Is there a way to check this with a volt meter or anything?

I hope this isnt an weakness with these motors since I read an earlier post about the same issue. I've had a handfull of brushless motors over the past few years. I've burned a few up, but never had a board go bad, especially out of the bag!

The part will cost me around $30+ from A-MAIN, which I'm not too thrilled about.

If anyone has any suggestions, i'm all ears (or eyes!!)

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Jeff G
zerius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 06:20 PM   #279
Tech Champion
 
John Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 8,925
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Bsmooth,

Shoot me a e mail at [email protected] and I will got over this issue with you. I mayu know whats going on. If not we will fix issue. Its usally a simple thing.

John Tag
__________________
www.express-motorsports.net for all your motor needs
Multi time National Champions,Reedy Champs,Vegas Champs,Birds, Champs,[email protected]

Team Associated-Express Motorsports-Trinity-Reflex Racing-A Main Hobbies-ProtekRC
John Tag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 06:27 PM   #280
Tech Addict
 
bsmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rocklin, California
Posts: 630
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Tag View Post
Bsmooth,

Shoot me a e mail at [email protected] and I will got over this issue with you. I mayu know whats going on. If not we will fix issue. Its usally a simple thing.

John Tag

Thanks John.

I just sent you an email.
bsmooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 06:54 PM   #281
Tech Master
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Tag View Post
Bsmooth,

Shoot me a e mail at [email protected] and I will got over this issue with you. I mayu know whats going on. If not we will fix issue. Its usally a simple thing.

John Tag
Now that's customer service at it's finest. Big thumbs up!
__________________
Tom Keith

Tekin & Sweep, thanks for all that you do for you know who!

Associated/T.O.P./Mugen/Fantom/Spektrum/Savox
Buckaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 07:10 PM   #282
j86
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vancouver/Seattle
Posts: 89
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckaroo View Post
Now that's customer service at it's finest. Big thumbs up!
be good if and when it gets resolved, you post what was done so others may be aware of it if its an easy fix
j86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 11:33 PM   #283
Tech Addict
 
bsmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rocklin, California
Posts: 630
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Tag View Post
Bsmooth,

Shoot me a e mail at [email protected] and I will got over this issue with you. I mayu know whats going on. If not we will fix issue. Its usally a simple thing.

John Tag

John,

thanks for the phone help tonight. It seems I did have a lot of flux that must have ran down the solder tabs when I wired it. I cleaned it all up with some denatured alcohol and a cotton swap, and it worked!

You went above and beyond what reasonable customer service is!

Thanks again,
Steve
bsmooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 06:38 PM   #284
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Can anyone share with me the size of the screws for the timing adjustment (the 3 on the endbell)

Also what is the bearing size?
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 09:52 PM   #285
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bvoltz View Post
Can anyone share with me the size of the screws for the timing adjustment (the 3 on the endbell)

Also what is the bearing size?
The timing adjustment screws are 1.5mm.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:53 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net