R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-03-2011, 03:20 PM   #196
Tech Elite
 
Racecrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: RC Mecca
Posts: 4,138
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yumlailai View Post
My motor only works with non sensor mode, is that mean my sensor died? I have taken the sensor out and i cannot see any physical damage. I cleaned it with motor spray and it still doesn't work. Any suggestion on what i should do next?

Thank you
Have you tried a different sensor wire?
__________________
Jimmy Wright

www.trackstarrc.com ~ www.facebook.com/TrackStarRC ~ Home of the 2x's Stock Nationals Champion TS-Gold & TS-Black tire sauce, TS-1+ lubricants, TS-Precision bearings, XRG Xtreme Racing Grease, Scale Auto Engineering, ElevenTech, WRD2, Carbon 12, Stiff Products
Racecrafter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 04:01 PM   #197
Tech Fanatic
 
jammincrtjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Whats is max timing in degrees on the Duo3?
__________________
NEXUS RACING www.nexusracing.com | FANTOM RACING www.fantomracing.com
ORCA www.orcarc.com | TURTLE TRAX / www.turtletraxraceway.com
--------------------------------------------------
"If you're not first...you're last!"
jammincrtjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 04:17 PM   #198
Tech Adept
 
yumlailai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Richmond
Posts: 228
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Racecrafter View Post
Have you tried a different sensor wire?
I did, but it still does not work and I tried my nemesis with the same sensor wire and it work on my nemesis

Thank you
yumlailai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 04:56 PM   #199
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yumlailai View Post
My motor only works with non sensor mode, is that mean my sensor died? I have taken the sensor out and i cannot see any physical damage. I cleaned it with motor spray and it still doesn't work. Any suggestion on what i should do next?

Thank you
Usually that is the case, you can get replacement sensors.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 07:27 PM   #200
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Gearing

I have a new Xray T3r and I am looking for a ESc and gear settings. I am new to onroad and don't want to smoke the motor. I am using a Duo 3 17.5t with full timing and a Castle Mamba Max Pro.

thanks

Mike
mdhyams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 07:44 PM   #201
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Racecrafter View Post
Each "mark" is 2 degrees. Each in between is 2 degrees.

So if you go from one hash mark to the next you are advancing ( or retarding) 4 degrees.

In addition to........... (a previous post)

.080 past 0 is aproximatly 7.5 deg of timing, .100 is about 10deg of timing.. this is by measuring from 0deg mark.. hope that helps to understand what the timing may be..

JP
__________________
Gary Lanzer
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 07:46 PM   #202
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
In addition to........... (a previous post)

.080 past 0 is aproximatly 7.5 deg of timing, .100 is about 10deg of timing.. this is by measuring from 0deg mark.. hope that helps to understand what the timing may be..

JP
So if you turn it all the way up what are you at for timing?
mdhyams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 07:48 PM   #203
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdhyams View Post
I have a new Xray T3r and I am looking for a ESc and gear settings. I am new to onroad and don't want to smoke the motor. I am using a Duo 3 17.5t with full timing and a Castle Mamba Max Pro.

thanks

Mike
Go back in here and see post #108 and #111 that should get you going.
__________________
Gary Lanzer
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 07:51 PM   #204
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdhyams View Post
So if you turn it all the way up what are you at for timing?
Off hand I dunno, I don't have any of my stuff right here to measure, but if you measure from 0 to extreme cranked setting then convert you should get a pretty close guesstimate.
__________________
Gary Lanzer
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 10:48 AM   #205
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,340
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Trinity said starting a 0 deg and each line is 8 deg.
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Team CRC|Awesomatix USA|TQ Wire|
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 11:49 AM   #206
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

I assume there was an update to the can to include timing hash marks? I must have missed that somewhere along the way, because I only have one line on my motor.
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 11:50 AM   #207
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PitNamedGordie View Post
I assume there was an update to the can to include timing hash marks? I must have missed that somewhere along the way, because I only have one line on my motor.
Yes they updated them about a month ago (fist of Dec) to include hatch marks. That was the only thing that changed.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 05:24 AM   #208
Tech Addict
 
warnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 522
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

So does anyone know the the degrees each mark is? There are some saying 2 degrees and some 4.. bit confused..

The marking seem to be the same as the duo 2 motors.. so is each one 4 degrees?

Also when compared to a duo 2 17.5 with open esc..would a good starting point be the same as the duo 2 or add some teeth on the pinion on use a smaller pinion??

Cheers

Cheers
__________________
TCX Smokem / F104 wgp
Major Sponsor : Visa Card
TEAM SMA - www.smaracing.org
warnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 07:11 AM   #209
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by warnos View Post
So does anyone know the the degrees each mark is? There are some saying 2 degrees and some 4.. bit confused..

The marking seem to be the same as the duo 2 motors.. so is each one 4 degrees?

Also when compared to a duo 2 17.5 with open esc..would a good starting point be the same as the duo 2 or add some teeth on the pinion on use a smaller pinion??

Cheers

Cheers
My setup is very similar to my Duo2 setup. Although it runs cooler so if conditions allow it I run extra motor timing. You can go down a tooth to start to be safe. Start with 0 motor timing as well.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 09:38 AM   #210
Tech Elite
 
Racecrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: RC Mecca
Posts: 4,138
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Default

OK let me do the math for you....

Endbell = 1.417" diam

X 3.14 = 4.449" Circumference

/ 360 (degree) = .0124" per degree

Each hash mark is roughly .025" thick (double the per degree measurement, meaning each hash mark is 2 degrees)

Each space in between the hash marks is the same .025" thick. (again double the per degree measurement meaning each "blank spot" is 2 degree)

SO....... That means if you move the adjustment from the beginning of a painted mark to the end of the painted mark (or beginning of the blank mark) you have moved 2 degrees. If you move again to the beginning of the next paint mark you have moved it 4 degrees.

That make it clear now?
__________________
Jimmy Wright

www.trackstarrc.com ~ www.facebook.com/TrackStarRC ~ Home of the 2x's Stock Nationals Champion TS-Gold & TS-Black tire sauce, TS-1+ lubricants, TS-Precision bearings, XRG Xtreme Racing Grease, Scale Auto Engineering, ElevenTech, WRD2, Carbon 12, Stiff Products
Racecrafter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:00 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net