R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-12-2010, 09:51 PM   #1
jrp
Tech Master
 
jrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,606
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default Android app for Roll-Out and Final Drive

Just wanted to introduce the next version of a new app I just placed on the AndroidMarket. It is named "RC Gears". It is a simple rollout and final drive calculator.



It is version 2.0 and now costs $0.99. The original version was named "Gears!". I renamed this version because of name clashes with a toolkit that Google used to develop by the same name. RC Gears is more appropriate for this app anyway. I have added the ability to store up to 5 sets of calculations by model name. This makes it easier to use when racing multiple cars on the same day.

You can post here for any questions or problems you might have.


I hope it is self-explanatory, but if not, here is a quick start...

When app first opens, you can type in a model name for the first page of settings you will define.

Next you need to enter your cars Internal Drive Ratio. For pan cars/direct drive axles, you would enter 1.0. For all other cars enter the correct value, like 1.83 for a Losi JRX-S Type R touring car...

Next pick you tire type, foam or rubber. This determines if you are gonna calculate Roll Out or Final Drive Ratio. For Foam it will use tire diameter to calculate a Roll Out value. For Rubber, it will calculate Final Drive Ratio.

Next, you must enter values for all but 1 of the remaining fields. Then hit the calculate button. If you left a field blank, then that field will be calculated. If you have values in all the fields, then the Final Drive Ratio or Roll Out will be recalculated based upon the other values.

Next to the Calculate button are two arrow buttons. They allow you to quickly navigate to the other pages for storage. You settings are remembered as you leave one page and go to another. This version will allow 5 different models to be stored.

That is it.

I am interested in fixing any errors you might find, and adding other features in the future, so feel free to post anything here (be nice ).




Last edited by jrp; 10-15-2010 at 09:45 PM.
jrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 01:26 AM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Holland
Posts: 123
Default

Excellent, thanks a lot for this.
__________________
_____________________________________________
Tamiya TRF 417, Fantom Racing
rcpoint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 07:33 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Barry White's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: HEAVEN
Posts: 720
Default

First timer here. When I go to android market I see Featured, Top Free and Top Paid. Isn't there a search button or something?
Barry White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 07:37 AM   #4
jrp
Tech Master
 
jrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,606
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry White View Post
First timer here. When I go to android market I see Featured, Top Free and Top Paid. Isn't there a search button or something?
On my Droid X, running android2.1 if you click on the magnifying glass in the header, it opens a search box to type in. I can also, hit the options button to bring up a Search menu item.
jrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 07:46 AM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Barry White's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: HEAVEN
Posts: 720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrp View Post
On my Droid X, running android2.1 if you click on the magnifying glass in the header, it opens a search box to type in. I can also, hit the options button to bring up a Search menu item.
I only have V1.6 on my Xperia 10 mini. The webpage shows just the same as opening it up with my computer
Barry White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 07:52 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

nice software...use it in my htc desire..
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 10:26 AM   #7
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Can you add a Menu with Exit as an item? Otherwise you need to use Advanced Task Killer, or do a Force Close to kill the app.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 10:39 AM   #8
jrp
Tech Master
 
jrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,606
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
Can you add a Menu with Exit as an item? Otherwise you need to use Advanced Task Killer, or do a Force Close to kill the app.
My ears must of been burning, because I was just thinking I should at least add an Exit menu item. I'll get on that as soon as possible. Thank you for the suggestion.
jrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 10:42 AM   #9
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

And maybe a clear button for each item. Trying to select the entire field to delete it a PITA, same for pressing the backspace button a bunch of times. Other than those minor issues, nice job, Jim.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 10:45 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
madjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,769
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to madjack
Default

Great work, thanks!
madjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 10:46 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
KHoff7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Much better than the other similar app for android that didn't have rollout.
__________________
Awesomatix USA / Middle River Hobbies / Sweep / Psycho Cells Racing
Karl Hoffmeister
KHoff7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 11:37 AM   #12
jrp
Tech Master
 
jrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,606
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
Can you add a Menu with Exit as an item? Otherwise you need to use Advanced Task Killer, or do a Force Close to kill the app.
Just uploaded an update to the Android Market that includes an "Exit" menu item. Kind of goes against the whole Android application life cycle, ie. Android likes to manage the apps in memory itself, but nonetheless seems to kill the app when used.
jrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 11:38 AM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 295
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
And maybe a clear button for each item. Trying to select the entire field to delete it a PITA, same for pressing the backspace button a bunch of times. Other than those minor issues, nice job, Jim.
+1

Thanks for the effort!
g26er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 11:58 AM   #14
jrp
Tech Master
 
jrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,606
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
And maybe a clear button for each item. Trying to select the entire field to delete it a PITA, same for pressing the backspace button a bunch of times. Other than those minor issues, nice job, Jim.
Joe, if you "long press" in the field you want to clear, do you get a menu that includes "Cut All" ? I am seeing various different results on Long Press, but that should give you a Cut option.
jrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 02:28 PM   #15
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrp View Post
Joe, if you "long press" in the field you want to clear, do you get a menu that includes "Cut All" ? I am seeing various different results on Long Press, but that should give you a Cut option.
Jim -

On a Droid running the latest Froyo (FRG22D), all I get on a long press is "Copy All". No "Cut All". Nice that your app remembers the last values.

Edit: Apparently, you need to select the field first, then long press to get the entire menu. For example, if the Internal Ratio box is outlined in red (or is it orange), if you long press on any other box, all you get is "Copy All". If you first select that box so that it is highlighted, a long press gets you the full edit menu. One of the many quirks of Android, I guess.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:29 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net