Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
How does "Cheat/Timing" work >

How does "Cheat/Timing" work

How does "Cheat/Timing" work

Old 09-11-2010, 07:54 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Missle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 112
Default How does "Cheat/Timing" work

So I broke down and sold my first born so that I could complete my CC electronic setup. I've got a Castle/Neu 1518 1800 KV with MMM on 4S with 26/43 gearing (Kyosho IGT2 Vette). So now my question is what is this so called "Cheat" mode in the Castlelink software? Is it just simply adjusting the timing? Is it changing the Kv? Does it become affective at a certain RPM? Thanks in advance.
Attached Thumbnails How does "Cheat/Timing" work-car-stuff-025.jpg   How does "Cheat/Timing" work-car-stuff-024.jpg   How does "Cheat/Timing" work-car-stuff-023.jpg  
Missle is offline  
Old 09-11-2010, 10:02 AM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
SuperEk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10,333
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

very nice setup, make your own motor mount & batt tray?
SuperEk4 is offline  
Old 09-11-2010, 11:34 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Missle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 112
Default

Thanks. The mount is .60 plank motor holder cause I just don't like how the conversion set can flex. As for the battery holder, that's some CF armor plate that use for making my plank firewalls bullet proof.
Missle is offline  
Old 09-16-2010, 08:03 PM
  #4  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Missle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 112
Default

This is kinda amazing that with the wealth of knowledge and know-how, there's not been a single response to my original question concerning timing. NOBODY understands how this works with the ESC's?
Missle is offline  
Old 09-16-2010, 08:51 PM
  #5  
Suspended
iTrader: (2)
 
GordonFreeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reality
Posts: 1,719
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Since nobody is chiming in here, I'll give a simple answer. They advance the timing based on RPM and maybe other parameters. I'm sure there are people on here that know much more than that.
GordonFreeman is offline  
Old 09-16-2010, 09:48 PM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by GordonFreeman View Post
Since nobody is chiming in here, I'll give a simple answer. They advance the timing based on RPM and maybe other parameters. I'm sure there are people on here that know much more than that.
That is the simple answer. I suggest you check out the Castle Creations Mamba Max Pro thread (which looks to be what you have in there) in the Electric Onroad section. The whole point of dynamic timing systems (AKA cheat mode) is to maintain the motors maximum output at all speeds rather than just top end or bottom end power. If you haven't used it before it will surprise just how much faster your current system can be with it set up correctly. A 4s version would be stupid fast with the right motor but realise that you need to keep an eye on your systems temps when using such features and also your battery will produce less runtime on a full charge dur to the increased output.
Dragonfire is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.