R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-14-2002, 11:21 PM   #46
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

i have the older millenium (v 1. something) and when i tried charging an old 2400 pack (discharged then stored for about a month), the LCD read "conditioning in progress" what does it mean? i got the charger used so i dont have a manual. is this some form of a trickle charge to bring up the voltage? does the millenium have any settings for this feature? thanks for any info BTW, after a few minutes, the charger went back to the normal charging screen and charged my 2400 (after about 2 false peaks)
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2002, 02:03 AM   #47
Tech Elite
 
ijnek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S'pore & M'sia, JB
Posts: 2,510
Send a message via ICQ to ijnek
Smile

when u read the "batt conditioning" screen,dun panic.it normally happens when the batt has been left used for some thing...

if i remember correctly,it is to bring the batt back up 2 it's peak performance,...or somewhere close 2 it's peak performance.
ijnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2002, 08:21 AM   #48
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 113
Default

I didn't read the previous suggestions (sorry) but I will suggest the Duratrax IntelliPeak Mini charger. It is $64 and charges NiCD and NiMH, and has a discharge function. I am using it and it is great!
Greg_Hager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2002, 11:11 AM   #49
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Send a message via ICQ to dtm
Default Re: KO Propo BX212 Advance

Quote:
Originally posted by Potato
KO Propo BX212 Advance

Anyone heard of this charger? How is it? How does it compare to a 16x9, or 16x5? Does it charge Nimh, and do it well? Thanks.
212 is the predecessor to 213. Very nicely made (as is the 213)and great for Nicads, but does a very good job of 'toasting' Nimhs!!!
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2002, 05:34 PM   #50
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

thanks ijnek after some fiddling, i saw that there are no settings for the "conditioning in progress" screen. but after the 3rd cycle, the battery no longer needs conditioning, it starts charging right away after i hook it up.
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2002, 06:34 PM   #51
Tech Elite
 
ijnek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S'pore & M'sia, JB
Posts: 2,510
Send a message via ICQ to ijnek
Smile

u will not b able to find any settings bcos u can't and there isn't any...

it's suppose 2 work in this way : when u connect up ur batt,the charger will 'check' ur batt 2 c if it needs any conditioning,if it detects tat ur batt is ok,then it will charge straight away...but if ur batt has been left un-used for some time,the batt conditioning function will kick in.

anyway,my final word is,...watever charger or batts u r using,jus enjoy tis sport!!!
ijnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2002, 08:00 PM   #52
Tech Addict
 
Simon K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 573
Wink

I use a CS Spacecharger, very good little unit although I wish I'd been less of a cheapskate and paid for the backlit model
I believe they are imported into the USA by Schumacher.
Will charge between .5 and 5.5A, it's a little on the low side for HV's in stock although I do mine at 5.5A with a 60mv delta peak(Adjustable)
Simon K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2002, 08:25 PM   #53
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

Simon, isn't that the one with the game? I think your yokomo inporter (can't remember name) showed me something like that.

I just painted (airbrush) my T35 black, backed it with urithane and it looks nice. Also picked up a Millenium Pro, nice.

Anyone have the Pro-Trak? Can it discharge at up to 30, or just 20?

Speedo
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2002, 08:29 PM   #54
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 292
Default

Good qn on the Pro-Trak... anyone know?

Also, what's the "correct" Amp to discharge the newest 3000HVs?


thanks!
jwwu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2002, 08:32 PM   #55
Tech Addict
 
Simon K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 573
Wink

Yup,
Kelvin had one and it was very affordable when compared to the Mil. and Pit bull.
I like being able to dial out the false peaks by just upping the delta P. value.

There's quite a few Pro Traks in Auckland where the importer was, quite a popular unit but just a little pricey, around $7-800 I think. The CS unit cost me just under $300 direct from C.S themselves(In Germany)
Check out their goodies here http://www.cs-electronic.com/index.php


Protrak website...http://www.users.zetnet.co.uk/pro-trak/

Last edited by Simon K; 04-17-2002 at 08:38 PM.
Simon K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2002, 08:34 PM   #56
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

Yeah, I imagine they make the CS tire too? I think schumacher does distribute them here. How much does the Millenium Pro go for over there? Turbo 35 (I hate to think)

Josh
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2002, 08:48 PM   #57
Tech Addict
 
Simon K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 573
Wink

For a Mil. Pro, I wouldn't expect much change from around $4-500, thats a reason why I went with the C.S.
The LRP Quadras were around the $335 mark, these have no digital readout so no real info can be gained from them.
Simon K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2002, 01:05 PM   #58
Tech Adept
 
Ian S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 241
Default

The pro-trak can only discharge at 20 amps but can simulate discharges up to 30 amps.

Last edited by Ian S; 04-18-2002 at 01:08 PM.
Ian S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2002, 10:10 PM   #59
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Send a message via ICQ to dtm
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Simon K
For a Mil. Pro, I wouldn't expect much change from around $4-500, thats a reason why I went with the C.S.
The LRP Quadras were around the $335 mark, these have no digital readout so no real info can be gained from them.
I hope you are talking NZ$ and not US$!??!!!!!
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2002, 08:02 PM   #60
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 36
Default

I was wondering on whether to get to get the duratrax charger or the quaser pro. I would get the duratrax one its just that I cant see that it will be as good as a charger as the Quaser because It cost twice as much. I was just wondering if you guys know of any bad things about the duratrax intellipeak digital. Do you think that the Quaser will get more out of my new nimh batteries???????
cantbestopped44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 08:06 AM
New to the Forum! YzakB4DDRG Rookie Zone 1 03-27-2005 05:18 PM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 09:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:11 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net