Like Tree31Likes

TAMIYA M-06 Thread

Reply

Old 04-14-2018, 05:51 PM
  #2176  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (60)
 
Raman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,496
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Well itís May and last year Tamiya released the M07.. was hoping for an M08.. instead they released a TB05
Raman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 06:51 AM
  #2177  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 12
Default

Hi, Does Renault 5 Turbo fit M06, I 've found the body from TeamBlueGroove.
Pao44445 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 06:56 AM
  #2178  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (60)
 
Raman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,496
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Pao44445 View Post
Hi, Does Renault 5 Turbo fit M06, I 've found the body from TeamBlueGroove.
no it wonít fit.. there isnít enough room in the back
Raman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 09:15 AM
  #2179  
Dan
Tech Elite
iTrader: (53)
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,742
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Is an M06 or M07 faster on black carpet?
Dan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 09:20 AM
  #2180  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (60)
 
Raman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,496
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dan View Post
Is an M06 or M07 faster on black carpet?
I missed TCS this year so have yet to go against an M07. The 06 will still accelerate quicker.. quesiton is corner speed.

The 07 does have better suspension geometry, so that will probably play a factor.
Raman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2018, 10:06 AM
  #2181  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Hi all, I'm new to the M06 thread. I have an ABC MR2 AW11 body that I'd like to fit to a chassis. I have the HPI Cup Racer chassis, which fits nicely, but is a very open design. I'm looking for something more enclosed and protected. The M06 has the right wheelbase (210 mm) but I am not sure about the track width. The body is 160 mm wide. Is the track width adjustable on the M06? I like the wheels on the Renault Alpine kit but the specs say the width is 168 mm. Are there adjustments in the chassis for track width, or is it done with different wheel offsets? Thanks!
Falesi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 05:51 PM
  #2182  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (60)
 
Raman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,496
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

No you canít adjust the track width. So either you use hex axles that are wider or wheels with + offsets
Raman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2018, 11:10 AM
  #2183  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 628
Default

This chassis is give'n me a hard time.
I can't go fast into any Hair-Pin. (tap the breaks and it Over-Steers)
It Over-Steers less than before; with the set-up change; but it still has Over-Steer under (near) heavy breaking.

Last edited by GuyIsDamGood; 10-31-2018 at 06:59 PM.
GuyIsDamGood is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2018, 12:33 PM
  #2184  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (60)
 
Raman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,496
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Your main issue is that youíre trying to use brakes. You canít with this chassis. Itís a rear wheel drive RC chassis and will swap ends every time. Especially in a turn. The only time you can use brakes would be on carpet when going perfectly straight.

My recommendation would be to practice letting off the throttle before entering the turn and applying throttle middle of apex. Get used to driving it that way and then you can even let off before entering and once you enter hop right back on throttle. It prefers to be driven that way.

Now if if you still feel you need brakes.. turn on drag brake on your esc.. that will work.. but I personally feel it will rob you of corner speed.



Last edited by Raman; 10-07-2018 at 10:02 AM.
Raman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2018, 08:10 AM
  #2185  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 499
Default

Originally Posted by GuyIsDamGood View Post
This chassis is give'n me a hard time.
I can't go fast into any Hair-Pin. (tap the breaks and it Over-Steers)
It Over-Steers less than before the set-up change; but it still has Over-Steer under (near) heavy breaking.
Tighten the diff and you can brake. It also helps to have downforce. I guess you do not run a wing as you run the stock tamiya body of some sort. What diff do you run? open?
MatsNorway is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 10:11 AM
  #2186  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 628
Default

Thanks for the info Raman.

Ha Ha!.....I agree. I want to drive this chassis more like a chassis with a rear And Front diff. I know.
I thought a set-up change would make a difference.


Thanks for the info MatsNorway.

I run an Open Diff (with some Anti-Wear Grease inside).
-I run the chassis with the Tamiya S15 Nissan Silvia Body.

Last edited by GuyIsDamGood; 10-10-2018 at 10:36 AM.
GuyIsDamGood is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 12:56 PM
  #2187  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 499
Default

Get an oil diff. It is the single biggest upgrade you can do in terms of transforming the handling. Try it with tick oil to really notice the difference.
MatsNorway is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 06:55 PM
  #2188  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (60)
 
Raman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,496
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

The trick to this car is weight transfer. You need it to be on to rear 90% of the time. This is why I suggest putting spacers in front shocks to take out all droop and allowing the rear to have full droop.

You need to change the stock diff! Its junk for the track. What surface are you running on? Carpet or Asphalt?

I run the ball diff very tight.. as I run on high grip carpet. When I ran on asphalt a few years back, it was still on the tight side.

i personally never ran the oil diff as my car was set up for TCS legality. Otherwise an oil diff would be a good option.

On low grip asphalt I would try 3k. On high grip carpet.. I would start at 5k and maybe even 7k!

MatsNorway likes this.
Raman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 07:10 PM
  #2189  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
foampervert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,454
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default things you can try for m06

Originally Posted by GuyIsDamGood View Post
This chassis is give'n me a hard time.
I can't go fast into any Hair-Pin. (tap the breaks and it Over-Steers)
It Over-Steers less than before the set-up change; but it still has Over-Steer under (near) heavy breaking.
These things help with the oversteer that is inherent in m06

-use less grippy tires in front (vs the back). a grip differential will immediately make the car understeer, by how much depends on the difference in grip.
-Use long wheelbase. Long wheelbase cars have less inherent weight transfer off throttle and will reduce oversteer situations
-Use as little droop (maybe even zero) in the rear. again, this limits rear to front weight transfer when braking.
-drive with less brakes. less brakes means less weight transfer... try lowering (not neutral) the throttle before you come to the turn and smoothly increasing the throttle as you transition from turn entrance to turn exit.... obviously needs practice because no other car is driven this way... except for 2wd buggies long ago with crap tires...
-battery as forward as possible. this limits weight transfer to the front on braking... the weight is already in front. (i use super shorties in my m06, all the way in front, for this reason)
-make the rear roll more. softer rear springs and damper oil + lower roll centre
-make sure that the chassis is not scrubbing. this causes weird handling through the turn.

Do note that these tips are all within this thread and are by no means my own personal opinion. just a combined tuning advice from all users in this thread.

setup different AND drive different... or buy a m07

-Alexander

Raman likes this.
foampervert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 07:21 PM
  #2190  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 628
Default

Ha Ha!.....Thanks for the info guys. But; I know about all of that (I've posted my own set-up a few pages back. . . . .page 138 - post # 2068).

I just want to run this chassis more relaxed.

I think the Longest Wheelbase is the answer for Ending some Oversteer.

Last edited by GuyIsDamGood; 10-12-2018 at 08:00 PM.
GuyIsDamGood is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service