Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
2-speed electric >

2-speed electric

2-speed electric

Old 09-02-2010, 01:42 PM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: antigua
Posts: 32
Default 2-speed electric

I got a HPI RS4 sitting without an engine and i'm thinking about putting my brushless system on it but keeping the original gearbox wit it. I'm not so sure if it has been done before, will there be any problems with that type of conversion?
Attached Thumbnails 2-speed electric-imgp2587.jpg  
snail run is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 02:53 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (9)
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 906
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by snail run View Post
I got a HPI RS4 sitting without an engine and i'm thinking about putting my brushless system on it but keeping the original gearbox wit it. I'm not so sure if it has been done before, will there be any problems with that type of conversion?
If you can custom mount your motor and have a custom made pinion gear adapter for 2-spd gas pinions, shouldn't be a problem. The rest is just to figure where to mount the battery.
rc_square24 is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 08:22 PM
  #3  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: antigua
Posts: 32
Default

i have most of the fabricating part figured out getting brakes is my problem. thats the only thing i cant come up with
snail run is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 08:34 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
old-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,118
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by snail run View Post
i have most of the fabricating part figured out getting brakes is my problem. thats the only thing i cant come up with
Just retain the throttle servo for the brakes, having said that all car ESC has brakes. So you might as well ditch the throttle servo and rely on the brakes provided by the ESC.
old-man is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 08:46 PM
  #5  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: antigua
Posts: 32
Default

Originally Posted by old-man View Post
Just retain the throttle servo for the brakes, having said that all car ESC has brakes. So you might as well ditch the throttle servo and rely on the brakes provided by the ESC.
the gear box is set like a one-way dif
snail run is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 09:03 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (80)
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,082
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Ditch the 2 speed. Many have tried and it just doesn't seem to work. Brushless motors have the torque that nitro motors lack.
pakk is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 09:13 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
old-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,118
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by snail run View Post
the gear box is set like a one-way dif
You are right. the 2-speed is like a one-way. Suggestion from pakk seems better idea.
old-man is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 09:17 PM
  #8  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: antigua
Posts: 32
Default

seem to not work in what way?
snail run is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 09:23 PM
  #9  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (9)
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 906
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by snail run View Post
i have most of the fabricating part figured out getting brakes is my problem. thats the only thing i cant come up with
Ahh, missed the brakes.

Can you somehow pair the throttle servo with the esc channel so both work together. Like how some 1/5 scales use 2 servos for steering?
rc_square24 is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 09:40 PM
  #10  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: antigua
Posts: 32
Default

Originally Posted by rc_square24 View Post
Ahh, missed the brakes.

Can you somehow pair the throttle servo with the esc channel so both work together. Like how some 1/5 scales use 2 servos for steering?
that crossed my mind but i wasn't sure it would work.might try making a "Y" connector now
snail run is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 09:47 PM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (9)
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 906
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

You should be able to mix it in your radio, or is it a 2channel system?
rc_square24 is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 09:48 PM
  #12  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 276
Default

If your radio do not have a 3rd ch mixing. Just use a y-connector. connect both brake servo and ESC to ch 2. Set reverse according to the brake servo direction, then set the ESC. Will work perfectly. Been doing it for sometime with my 1/5 electric bike (need a servo to pull the front brake) before I get the 4pk which have 3rd ch mixing.
gpm-parts.com is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 09:48 PM
  #13  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pakk View Post
Ditch the 2 speed. Many have tried and it just doesn't seem to work. Brushless motors have the torque that nitro motors lack.
Reread this post. All brushless conversions I have seen have been converted to single speed. This is because 2 speed is not necessary with the performance of a brushless motor. Get rid of the one way parts and use the ESC to brake.
Dragonfire is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 09:55 PM
  #14  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (80)
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,082
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dragonfire View Post
Reread this post. All brushless conversions I have seen have been converted to single speed. This is because 2 speed is not necessary with the performance of a brushless motor. Get rid of the one way parts and use the ESC to brake.
isn't that what I said?
pakk is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 09:58 PM
  #15  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: antigua
Posts: 32
Default

Originally Posted by Dragonfire View Post
Reread this post. All brushless conversions I have seen have been converted to single speed. This is because 2 speed is not necessary with the performance of a brushless motor. Get rid of the one way parts and use the ESC to brake.
so your trying to tell me it would not work better?
snail run is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.