R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-16-2004, 09:25 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Kennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: If Nissan Motorsport is Nismo, Then Honda Motorsport must be Homo
Posts: 633
Default Stupid question of the week... Cyclone Vs TC2

Whats the difference between these two orange products?

Hi Guys, Still new to R/C but are these both of the same or is the Cyclone like a first generation superseeded by the Cyclone TC2?
Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 09:41 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,148
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Scott Fisher
Default

The cyclone is the first generation for off-road. There was also a TC. That was the first generation Touring cyclone.

The second generation was the 2 series. Cyclone 2 for off-road and TC2 for on road.

Now it is just the GT7.
__________________
| Capricorn | Ybslow | Proline-Protoform | Johnny Bravo Racing | Desoto Racing | Murnan Modified | Matrix Tires | Powermaster Fuel |
Scott Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 09:44 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Kennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: If Nissan Motorsport is Nismo, Then Honda Motorsport must be Homo
Posts: 633
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Scott Fisher
The cyclone is the first generation for off-road. There was also a TC. That was the first generation Touring cyclone.

The second generation was the 2 series. Cyclone 2 for off-road and TC2 for on road.

Now it is just the GT7.
So the Cyclone and C2 are only for off road?
Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 10:05 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 289
Send a message via AIM to Dougnuts55
Default

No they i own a cyclone and they work great for touring cars. I use it with my tc3.

Doug
Dougnuts55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 10:05 PM   #5
WC
Tech Master
 
WC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Global Citizen
Posts: 1,930
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kennedy
So the Cyclone and C2 are only for off road?
If you believe the marketing boys then sure! and oh I've got a left-handed screwdriver that needs a new southpaw home.

Cyclone/cTC and C2/TC2 differ between 'TC' & normal versions only in the programming of their preset profile settings.

If you program your own into the user-programmable Profile #4 using a Novak Pit Wizard, you can set either up exactly how you want & they'll perform exactly the same.
__________________
--------------------
www.PandaGFX.com
--------------------
www.MelbRC.org
----------------
WC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 10:07 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
SammyXp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 428
Default

I've been trying to determine what exactly is the difference between the Cyclone vs C2 and TC2 and there isn't much of a difference...
http://www.teamnovak.com/products/ES...cont_index.htm
Some settings (that can be reprogrammed, anyway). The C2 and TC2 are *slightly* lighter but that could be because the external shottky diode and capacitor aren't internal, as they are on the original Cyclone. The case is also marginally smaller.

All in all, the original Cyclone still seems to be a great buy. I'm looking to find one for cheap to replace my antique electronics.
SammyXp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 01:10 PM   #7
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

True, & by far, the biggest difference between the Cyclone/TC & C2/TC2 is the removal of the old style switch to a single button that I believe acts as both the on/off switch & the one-touch setup/throttle program button....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 03:06 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
cartmen34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Grizzbob
True, & by far, the biggest difference between the Cyclone/TC & C2/TC2 is the removal of the old style switch to a single button that I believe acts as both the on/off switch & the one-touch setup/throttle program button....
If you have a choice between a TC or a TC2, GET THE TC! The single button for on and off is difficult to work.

This is the problem I constantly had with my TC2: after my run I would try to shut the car off. You have to hold the button down for a brief period, then release it to shut it off. the problem is that sometimes it won't shut off. So I held the button down just a hair longer.... but this sends the esc into setup mode! I wound up having to reset my throttle trims several times a raceday. I finally got so sick of it that I took the thing out of my cars, and now I only use it as a last resort backup unit.
cartmen34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 03:33 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
SammyXp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 428
Default

Wow, thanks for the heads up on the switch! I questioned the sanity of forcing you to stick your hands underneat the body, fiddling around for the on/off button in a car that just finished a long main with a hot motor!
SammyXp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 06:19 PM   #10
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, I never bothered with the C2/TC2, I just kept using my original CycloneTC's until I finally got out of debt & had the cash to get a GT7, & I imagine that's why Novak stopped using the all-in-one button when the GT7 came out. But at least it was an interesting experiment(you can't say they aren't trying to innovate)....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stupid but serious question Thorin Nitro Off-Road 9 11-27-2007 11:38 PM
A stupid question MK_Arbiter Electric On-Road 7 06-04-2006 09:46 PM
stupid question NitroRacerXX Electric Off-Road 3 03-27-2005 07:40 PM
Another Stupid Question...lol jhigga15 Florida Racing 2 01-18-2005 09:14 AM
This is gonna sound stupid question but I have a battery Question. Smoke21 Electric On-Road 7 04-25-2004 09:10 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:39 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net