Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
receiver antenna wire >

receiver antenna wire

receiver antenna wire

Old 04-06-2002, 09:58 AM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
seaball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,304
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default receiver antenna wire

what's involved with replacing an antenna wire? is it tuned to some frequency? if so, must the guage and lenth be duplicated? what else is necessary information?
seaball is offline  
Old 04-06-2002, 10:12 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
RAP66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: receiver antenna wire

Originally posted by seaball
what's involved with replacing an antenna wire? is it tuned to some frequency? if so, must the guage and lenth be duplicated? what else is necessary information?

From what I understand yes the antenna length is "tuned" but not by the way you aree thinking.. the antennas are tuned by wavelength (lamda). There was an article in RCCAR ( I forget which mag) it was the issue that had an interview with Hitech, it was mentioned that the antenna length is based on the wave length.... typically 1/8 to 1/4 lambda. I will have to look later maybe I can find you the exact mag.




Rich
RAP66 is offline  
Old 04-06-2002, 12:59 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 593
Default Antenna length

I have replaced a few. I bought the wire at the hobby shop, but it is too long and needs to be trimmed.

I think Hitec is 19" and Futaba is 23".

I have also used stranded speaker wire (maybe 18 to 22 guage). It worked fine.

Just take apart the reciever, and solder in a new piece of the right length. You can measure some one elses to be sure you get the right length, this is important.

Have a ball

David Root
David Root is offline  
Old 04-06-2002, 08:50 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
seaball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,304
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

cool. do find that article if you can. otherwise i'm thinking length is the only variable affecting the tuning.
seaball is offline  
Old 04-08-2002, 01:06 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 250
Default

Yes, copy the length and gauge so you don't upset the frequency selectivity trimming done in the facory. Matching the length to lambda/4 or lambda/8 is not that important.
JesseT is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 04:37 PM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: seattle, WA
Posts: 864
Default

My friend has a rtr T3 with the old Hitec radio AM system (I think they use some Ace Jaguar radio system now). But anyway, the wire broke and I'm going to replace it for him for his birthday. Does anyone know how long the wire needs to be? David Root said 19". Is that for all Hitec recievers? Also, could you screw up your reception by having a too long reciever wire? Thanks
racerdx6 is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 04:56 PM
  #7  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 30
Default

Racer,

My car is an old RTR which came with the HiTech radio and receiver. I don't use the receiver anymore but when it was in the car it worked just fine. No reception problems or any such thing. Since I didn't buy the car new so I'm not positive but, I don't think the antenna was ever trimmed.

I just went and measured it and from the receiver box to the end of the antenna is 44 mm.

Hope that helps.

Edit: The receiver is an HAS-2MB

Last edited by plbman; 12-19-2003 at 05:21 PM.
plbman is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 06:46 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
 
Intermision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 338
Default

Are you sure that is the right length, sounds kinda trimmed. LOL
Intermision is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 06:50 PM
  #9  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 30
Default

LOL...guess 44mm would be pretty short

Make that 44 cm.

That should teach me not to grab my wife's metric ruler instead of a "normal" ruler
plbman is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 09:42 PM
  #10  
Tech Master
 
davepull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange Park, Florida
Posts: 1,180
Default

another option is to contact the manufactor and give them the model reciver and they should be able to tell you the lenth
davepull is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 10:05 PM
  #11  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oregon
Posts: 103
Default

ya that or they could say ur RX is screwed and that you need to buy a new one directly from themfor $200!
blue micro is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 10:57 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
 
davepull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange Park, Florida
Posts: 1,180
Default

Originally posted by blue micro
ya that or they could say ur RX is screwed and that you need to buy a new one directly from themfor $200!
well hopefully you won't fall for that. futaba sells reciever wire. and buddy if you are paying $200.00 for a reciever you probably will !!!!!!!!!!!
davepull is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.