R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-21-2004, 09:50 PM   #46
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: bronx,ny
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to serpent2400 Send a message via Yahoo to serpent2400
Default

Was up guys, i had the same problem but i was runing a 7single, and i tried everything then one day i put a longer antena tube and the glitch was gone.
serpent2400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2004, 05:12 AM   #47
Tech Elite
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by doorman
You wrap the small wires from the servo and esc. through them.
We even ran the personal transponder through it also.

Doorman
So I got a couple of those filter jobs, the hole in the middle is pretty darn big (compared to the serve, esc wires) ....do you run all wires through 1 filter or esc through a seperate one than servo? and then do you just run it through or pigtail it them run it through? ...any chance of posting a closeup picture?
__________________
http://www.arroyoc.com
http://www.gearchart.com
http://www.weracemountainbikes.com
HarshGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2004, 06:39 PM   #48
Tech Addict
 
Blakesrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grover Beach/Palm Desert, CA
Posts: 660
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Blakesrc
Default

XXX-S Bill,

I just came across this post and it sounds like you and I have/had the exact same issue. Even more of a co-incidence that mine started one year ago 2 days before i went to Speedworld for the Nats!hehe. I can remember walking down the driveway with my XXXS in hand and getting about 25 ft away and having the car go completly crazy on its own. I had just picked up 2 monsters and done some tweaking and both caused massive glitching in my xxxs and SD. Still to this day I am very cautious with the Monsters, i tend to stick more with p2k2's for that reason. Funny though a lot of people have not had any problems with their monster stocks, must just be a radio equipment combination that causes the motors to act differently.

Glad you figured it out,

Blake
Blakesrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 04:35 PM   #49
Tech Initiate
 
Rockheadsguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kenosha, Wisconsin
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to Rockheadsguy
Default My glitching update

I posted a couple weeks back about having similar glitching problems with a brand new QC2 ESC in my Losi... what I figured out was that the Quantum Competition 2 overheats pretty easily and starts to glitch-- it only happens near the end of a run. For some reason with the QC2 the motor and ESC run way hotter than other ESCs I've had in the car, with the same gearing and a similar track. I've heard the overheating problem is pretty common...

Some makeshift heatsinks helped a little, but I'm going to try the Worlds upgrade kit with the special heatsink and concentrate on keeping everything as cool as possible. I'll post if it gets any better...
Rockheadsguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 06:00 PM   #50
Tech Addict
 
JohnMatrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Newark, CA
Posts: 608
Send a message via AIM to JohnMatrix
Default

my Q2 has never hot, that i know of, are you running mod?
JohnMatrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 06:06 PM   #51
Tech Master
 
psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,520
Default

I run Quantum Sports in most of my cars, including my XXX-S. I have never had a glitching problem with any motor with it. If I race a nice 19T motor and the ambient air temp is pretty hot, say over 100 deg, I have had the Quantum Sport do the thermal shutdown. It comes on again after about 10 seconds, but it never glitched. I would make sure you have the heatsink installed and installed correctly. Even though it doesn't look like it does anything, I feel that it does help cool the esc.
psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 06:13 PM   #52
Tech Addict
 
JohnMatrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Newark, CA
Posts: 608
Send a message via AIM to JohnMatrix
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by psycho
I have had the Quantum Sport do the thermal shutdown. It comes on again after about 10 seconds, but it never glitched.

Never heard of this? what is it and how do we do it?
JohnMatrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 08:05 PM   #53
Tech Initiate
 
Rockheadsguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kenosha, Wisconsin
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to Rockheadsguy
Default

No mod, running a monster stock... I've had the "thermal shutdown" happen once or twice, but usually the car will either jump to full speed for a second or two (long enough to hit a wall) or suddenly jerk fully left or right and slow down briefly.
Rockheadsguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 09:11 PM   #54
Tech Master
 
psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,520
Default

The only time I have had thermal shutdown happen was in my F201 with a 19T motor (Orion Element, not that it matters.) Basically, the car just stops going, but you have steering. Leave your finger off the throttle for a few seconds and let the thermal shutdown reset and you're good to go again. It's not what you want to have happen at the end of a tight points series, like what happened to me, but I guess it's better than cooking a $90 esc. There's no indication that the thermal protection has reset, so you just have to blip the throttle occasionally until it starts going again. Maybe it beeps or the light flashes. I'm not sure. It's only ever happened to me under race conditions and usually just as I mash the throttle going on to the back straight.
psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 09:42 PM   #55
Tech Regular
 
mwcet8k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 266
Default

I was all set to buy a QC2, but after reading about them on various threads, it sounds like there are quite a few problems that people are having w/ them. I think I'll take the safe road and go w/ a GT7. I've never had any problems with Novak (I've owned a ton of their stuff) and their customer support is among the best in the industry.
mwcet8k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 10:18 PM   #56
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,235
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rockheadsguy
No mod, running a monster stock... I've had the "thermal shutdown" happen once or twice, but usually the car will either jump to full speed for a second or two (long enough to hit a wall) or suddenly jerk fully left or right and slow down briefly.
I wouldn't think that the occurrences you are describing with your Monsters and the QC2 are related to "thermal shutdown". Sounds like plain old glitches.

Certainly the "suddenly jerk fully left or right and slow down briefly" is the same thing I was experiencing over a period of two weeks. But, I (with a lot of help from my friends) seem to have traced it down to worn bushings on the Monster making too much electrical noise with running at high rpms.

I'm going to have to investigate further about the effects of a "thermal shutdown". Thanks.
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 10:40 PM   #57
Tech Fanatic
 
CA$H's son's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: ya mama's house
Posts: 881
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to CA$H's son
Default

hey boys i just recently hung up the Losi just to try the TC3 i found that u need a silicone tube on the antenna from the reciver to where the antenna goes in the tube also novak speed controls have been known not to hold AMPS and RPMS of finely tuned monster stocks i use a LRP 7.1 and its perfect if it still gltiches with ur fast motor get ur self a novak wiring harness kit about $10 bucks it solves allot of motor induced glitching.

if it doesn't help after about 12 bucks of items just go back to building ur motors like u were with more torq than R's

hope this will help you out

this issue could be a thermal shut down but i kinda hate to think taht big i like to trboule shoot with small things then work the way up. Also with using the wiring harness you don't need a motor diode either. If it has anything to do with it I also own a futbaba 3PK and a Hitec- Servo
CA$H's son is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 03:59 PM   #58
Tech Initiate
 
Rockheadsguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kenosha, Wisconsin
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to Rockheadsguy
Default

Well, because it's only happening at the end of a run, and especially near the end of the night when I can't keep up with cooling down between heats, I'd assumed it was heat related. Maybe not, but I'm out of ideas...
Maybe I'll put the QC2 in my Mini Cooper next week and see if it can handle the might of a Mabuchi motor...
Rockheadsguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 04:18 PM   #59
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose California
Posts: 1,251
Default

Bill: Maybe the higher RPM motors just shook the onboard caps loose? Sounds kinda funky now all these XXX-Ses have glitching problems. Then again, it is a Losi

I've heard that Synthesized radios have weaker signal. That could be it (even though as a fellow XS3 owner I know you wouldn't give the JR up...LOL)

Are you gonna be at Sheldon's next week?
The Black Kat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 09:28 PM   #60
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,235
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rockheadsguy
Maybe I'll put the QC2 in my Mini Cooper next week and see if it can handle the might of a Mabuchi motor...
Sounds like a worthy test...

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
esc glitching ScottyRC08 Radio and Electronics 6 03-30-2008 11:51 PM
GTB Glitching Vegaspilot Electric Off-Road 4 06-11-2006 10:28 AM
Need Help! Car Glitching!! MugenMTX3Kid Electric On-Road 47 02-28-2004 03:27 PM
Glitching on my 3PK FUK_WRX Electric On-Road 10 08-15-2003 09:50 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:26 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net