Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Glitching on my XXX-S cars >

Glitching on my XXX-S cars

Glitching on my XXX-S cars

Old 06-16-2004, 07:52 AM
  #31  
Tech Regular
 
mwcet8k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 266
Default

Bill, one other question. Did you at any point try an ESC other than the QC2?

And for everyone, here are those filters:

http://horizon.hobbyshopnow.com/prod...p?prod=JRPA028
mwcet8k is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 07:55 AM
  #32  
Tech Regular
 
mwcet8k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 266
Default

doorman, where do you attach those filters? On the power wires going from the esc to the motor, or on the wire going from the esc to the receiver?
mwcet8k is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 10:44 AM
  #33  
Tech Master
 
psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,520
Default

I just thought of something else that you might try. How about removing all the electrics and motor from the car, leave them all hooked up and see if the electrics glitch outside of the car. This should eliminate some issue with the car as the source of problems. I have never had serious glitch problems with my xxx-s and I bought mine when it very first came out.
psycho is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 01:30 PM
  #34  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 75
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by mwcet8k
doorman, where do you attach those filters? On the power wires going from the esc to the motor, or on the wire going from the esc to the receiver?
You wrap the small wires from the servo and esc. through them.
We even ran the personal transponder through it also.

Doorman
doorman is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 01:59 PM
  #35  
The Evicerator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 4,145
Default

Dawson is da man!
Steve Weiss is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 01:42 AM
  #36  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 75
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Evicerator
Dawson is da man!
Steve, Your the man!
Think you'll ever get back to Cleveland?

Tracy Rumschlag
aka Doorman
doorman is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 08:50 PM
  #37  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,378
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by psycho
I just thought of something else that you might try. How about removing all the electrics and motor from the car, leave them all hooked up and see if the electrics glitch outside of the car. This should eliminate some issue with the car as the source of problems. I have never had serious glitch problems with my xxx-s and I bought mine when it very first came out.
This was done as explained earlier. All major components connected but out of the chassis.

The bottom line is that it was the two 25,000 rpm Monsters I had in both my cars. When I switched motors to my next best 23,600 rpm units the glitch was completely gone. Had placed a hard soldered Novak #5820 motor capacitor on both 25Kers which more seems to have compounded the problem for them; but. not for my lesser rpm Monster motors...Hmmmmmm...

Off to Speedworld Cup in the morning...THANKS FOR EVERYONE'S INPUT.
Still Bill is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 09:33 PM
  #38  
Tech Regular
 
mwcet8k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 266
Default

Well that's a relief. I was starting to think it was the XS3. I wonder if you took the capacitor board off the motors and soldered conventional caps on if that would fix the problem? It's a bummer that you can't use your best motors.
mwcet8k is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 09:58 PM
  #39  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,378
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Talking

Originally posted by mwcet8k
It's a bummer that you can't use your best motors.
I can always concentrate on my driving...
Still Bill is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 01:15 PM
  #40  
Tech Regular
 
mwcet8k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 266
Default Another potential fix...

I was at the track last night talking about interference problems and a guy that works at the track mentioned something he's seen a lot w/ the xxxs. Apparently, the screws that are used to hold the ESC wire in place as it runs around the motor can cause problems. He said he's seen a lot xxxs glitching problems completely fixed by drilling a few holes in the gear cover and using cable ties to run the wire up and over the motor. I'll give this a shot if I ever problems in the future.
mwcet8k is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 01:37 PM
  #41  
Tech Master
 
lazyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Franklin,WI
Posts: 1,536
Default

have u checked all ur wires makeing sure non are accidently exposed making the wire inside visable... on my old tc3 i would have a similer problem, a friend of mine told my that if i were to twisted the possitive and the negative wires it would get rid of some of the motor noise/interference... try that and or replace all the wires that go to the motor and the batts on the speed control...


hopefuly that made sence lol lazyboy

Last edited by lazyboy; 06-19-2004 at 01:43 PM.
lazyboy is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 04:50 PM
  #42  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jacksonville FL
Posts: 110
Default

Since the qc2 has a reactive drive freq could it be the interaction of the spedo w/ the high rpm mtr? I'd slap a binary (supposedly an rpm mtr right?) in it and see if it still does it.
Poppa Ray is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 11:09 PM
  #43  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,378
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Still more great input.

I practiced at the Speedworld Cup yesterday without a glitch. Inspired by that we went to Ripon for some night racing and won going away.

Only had to detune my motors to about 24,500 rpm at 5V (no load) to apparently eliminate the glitch problem.

Miss that 500 rpm; but, it sure is a lot more fun driving with some peace of mind.

Will do RCCAR tomorrow and am hoping for more great things.

Thanks all.
Still Bill is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 11:51 AM
  #44  
Tech Master
 
psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,520
Default

Did you get the chance to try that motor with a new bushing?
psycho is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 08:31 PM
  #45  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,378
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Talking

Originally posted by psycho
Did you get the chance to try that motor with a new bushing?
Not yet. But, I think you got it. That bearing was loose.

Bill
Still Bill is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.