R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2004, 09:07 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 8
Which 1

4WD RC10-TC3 Team Touring Car Kit RTR us($230)
is it a competive car? can I do better for around the same price?

I have a oppourtunity to buy a hpi pro3 second hand for a bit more than us$100 comes with shell and is in good condition but have to get a few more parts to be racing.

whats the best
KAYSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 09:10 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 289
Send a message via AIM to Dougnuts55
Default

I think that the tc3 is the better car and its rtr and im assuming your just starting off.

Doug
Dougnuts55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 09:13 PM   #3
Ike
Tech Master
 
Ike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,131
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Assuming you have good parts availability go for the TC3, it's an old design but still works very well and there are plenty of upgrades as you get better and grow in the hobby. Keep in mind depending on the level of your local club most RTRs aren't going to make you very competitive but it's not a bad platform to start with.
Ike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 10:25 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to burbs Send a message via Yahoo to burbs
Default

the pro 3 was proven not to work.. even the team guys wouldnt run it.. the pro 2 was faster for them... go with the new pro 4 or the tc3.... the tc3 is an older model but when something is perfect why change it.... it still won alot of big races this and last year..


Xray is the bomb to
burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 10:53 PM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 8
What was so wrong with the pro3 ?

With the tc3 rtr what is needed to be done to get it right(up there with the better ones?
KAYSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 10:58 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KAYSER
What was so wrong with the pro3 ?

With the tc3 rtr what is needed to be done to get it right(up there with the better ones?
I'll answer the second part: driving skill....and maybe a little maintainence. You can even go to Associated's website, go to the B4/T4 forum(scroll down and on the left), and Associated will tell (7th and 8th questions down) you the extra hop ups aren't really worth it, especially if you're starting out.
aviaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 11:31 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by burbs
the pro 3 was proven not to work.. even the team guys wouldnt run it.. the pro 2 was faster for them... go with the new pro 4 or the tc3.... the tc3 is an older model but when something is perfect why change it.... it still won alot of big races this and last year..


Xray is the bomb to
Hara raced pro 3 before testing pro 4 prototypes and he did not bad.
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 11:46 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 289
Send a message via AIM to Dougnuts55
Default

First of all any driver as good as hara could drive just about any rc car that is some what decent and kick some ass.
Dougnuts55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 12:34 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dougnuts55
First of all any driver as good as hara could drive just about any rc car that is some what decent and kick some ass.
Amen
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 02:06 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 148
Send a message via ICQ to Seano
Default

Buy the TC3, I had a pro3 for a while but was never very fast with it. Mind you it was box stock pretty much, you have to spend a lot of money on hopup parts for the pro3 to get it to run well. Sure hara did well with his but it had so many custom parts on there it barely resembled a pro3.
Seano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 12:11 PM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 8
Wink

CHEERS!! I JUST GOT OUT BIDDED IN THE AUCTION FOR THE PRO3 NOW WILL B BUYING THE TC3 (BRAND NEW) FEWH THAT WAS A CLOSE ONE!!!
KAYSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 12:41 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
mwcet8k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 266
Default

Question for anyone really familiar with the Pro 3. I've always wondered what was wrong with it? It looked like a really smart design with the battery and the motor mounted centrally. But it also seems like HPI skimped on materials, which prevented it from becoming very popular. Do you think it would have done better (on the track and overall sales) if it had the same design, but included a carbon fiber chassis, better shocks, etc.???
mwcet8k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 05:13 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to burbs Send a message via Yahoo to burbs
Default

the chasis has to much twist flex in it.. ebven if u get all the stiffening stuff it is just not built right.... all the guys who had em here were faster with the pro 2.. and most ened up with a tc3 till the pro 4 came out
burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 05:48 PM   #14
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 8
Cool

with the rtr tc3 what is the difference between the RC10TC3 besides the price
I can get the rtr for US$200 thats complete with radio set?

I can get RC10TC3 for $280? + atleast anther $200 to be on road!!
for that extra $280 would I b better to upgrade the rtr??

I want a semi competive car to start with!!!(but still a newbie but have a rappy50v2 so models arnt an issue with setup etc)
KAYSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 06:04 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
pheyhoe's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England!
Posts: 1,332
Default

this pro3 goes well at our club but has had a fair bit done to it. a bog standard sd still whoops it though.

__________________
[SIZE=1][COLOR=navy]Paul Heyhoe[/COLOR][/SIZE]
pheyhoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:19 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net