Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Opinions on which Touring Car to get? >

Opinions on which Touring Car to get?

Opinions on which Touring Car to get?

Old 08-10-2010, 06:48 PM
Tech Regular

Exclamation Opinions on which Touring Car to get?

I've been out of the racing scene for some time. But I've been doing RC for over 30 years. I've run a Tamiya TA02 chassis and an HPI RS4 Pro for Touring Cars. I still have them!

So now, I've been thinking of getting back in to TC racing. First, it looks like hell has frozen over since I see that Tamiya has actually won several TC championships! What is up with that? It always used to be Associated, Losi and Yokomo. Now it seems that Yokomo is not even as easily available.

So in researching TC's they all pretty much look the same to me. They all are belt driven by 2 belts with most of the TC's even having a similar design where the spur gear is sandwiched between the two belts. What ever happened to originality? What ever happened to the shaft driven cars like the Associated TC3? I.e. - why did Associated abandon it and start making belt driven cars? Or is this just the latest fad?

The Losi seems to be laid out like my old RS4 Pro where the spur is on one side and the two belts are side by side. I see this as being easier to install the motor and fiddle with the pinion mesh. And I do like the Losi battery placement in the middle.

Pricewise, the Associated seems to be the cheapest. I also like the fact that parts will be readily available everywhere. From that standpoint, the Associated and Losi are favorable.

So with the TC's all pretty much looking the same, can anyone throw their opinions on what are the differences among them? Can anyone comment on what driving styles are suited for a particular car?

Associated TC5R $350
TOP Photon $390
Schumacher Mi4LP Pro $400
Kyosho TF-5 $425
Losi JRX-S Type R $440
Hot Bodies TCX $460
XRay T3 $490
Tamiya TRF416 $590

Thanks in advance!