Esc Capacitors

Old 01-06-2004, 04:57 PM
  #121  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: 50v capasitor

Originally posted by Leester
I was looking on the Panasoninc capasitor website with a 50 volt capasitor. Would that work on a Novak GT7? Let me know!

-Lee
10v is all you need...

there's some on ebay for $9.99 for 2 10v 10,000uf capacitor that is perfect for the GT7 and others.
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 05:11 PM
  #122  
Tech Master
iTrader: (22)
 
Leester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wrong Planet
Posts: 1,054
Trader Rating: 22 (96%+)
Default

Would 50volt just fry the speed control?
Don't worry RC zombie I am no rookie to RC racing I'm just looking for something to get insanely amounts of power out of my TB evolution 3 I know how to tune a motor and drive a rc car
If I can't get 50V in the car could I go above 10V?
please give me as much information on these capsitors as you can
I will need all the help I can get

thank you!

Leester is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 01:50 AM
  #123  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
rough512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,455
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Leester
Would 50volt just fry the speed control?
Don't worry RC zombie I am no rookie to RC racing I'm just looking for something to get insanely amounts of power out of my TB evolution 3 I know how to tune a motor and drive a rc car
If I can't get 50V in the car could I go above 10V?
please give me as much information on these capsitors as you can
I will need all the help I can get

thank you!


Hi,

It doesn't matter what voltage rating you install on your ESC as long as you don't use one whose rating is below the available battery voltage (7.2V).

It looks to me like you're under the impression that installing a 50v cap will give you 50V for your motor. Your capacitor will only charge up to the actual available voltage--that of your battery. If you want insane power on your car, go Brushless....
rough512 is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 02:26 AM
  #124  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 277
Default

Interesting, say what happens with I have a 50V cap, I charge it up first using whatever means, then put it onto the ESC. Now whats gonna happen? Insane punch?? How long is that gonna last?
lawndoggie is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 03:17 AM
  #125  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
rough512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,455
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Interesting, say what happens with I have a 50V cap, I charge it up first using whatever means, then put it onto the ESC. Now whats gonna happen? Insane punch?? How long is that gonna last?

assuming that the capacitor does not get disharged during installation, You will only get a 50V spike lasting a few miniseconds then you will be back on your battery voltage... but I really doubt this since you will be installing it in parallel to the battery. Once you connect the battery, your Capacitor is back to around 7.2V-the battery voltage..
rough512 is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 02:38 PM
  #126  
Tech Master
iTrader: (22)
 
Leester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wrong Planet
Posts: 1,054
Trader Rating: 22 (96%+)
Default

Thanks guys for all the help I'm going to be looking into this alot

By the way Rough512 I actally do run brushless and I won it a few times, also i just won the stock sedan class in the US novak touring car race this year it was pretty cool. thanks for the help!

Lee
Leester is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 05:37 PM
  #127  
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Default

i thought the higher the voltage the less punch

i had a 16v and switched to a 25v and i felt a diffrent

lower voltage the better
higher the uf the punchier

correct me if im wrong..... this is how i remembered it
Calvin Ng is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 09:58 PM
  #128  
Tech Master
iTrader: (22)
 
xray racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 1,574
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

hey everyone
i just bought an lrp quantum worlds kit for my quantum comp.

it comes with one large and one small power cap

which one do i use for stock racing to give me the best punch out of corners???

i know nothing bout all the tech side of things i just know there is a big and a small one and im just looking for one to give me lotsa punch

btw, i have punch setting on my quantum @ level 5, or full, is there anything else apart from installing a power cap that will give me more punch??? i know about batteries and alike, im just wondering about the speedy.

also, the auto start feature on my speedy doesnt seem to work, it says to hold brake for over 5 seconds and then when u go it will launch faster, but i cant tell the difference. i use the auto start feature on my ko mars controller and i can notice a huge difference, but i cant when i use the speedy to do it

please let me know if anyone has information to help me, thanx in advance
robbie lloyd
xray racer is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 11:26 PM
  #129  
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

I installed a big @$$ capictor in my car, very punchy.
Tek Nickal is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 11:37 PM
  #130  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 177
Default

Hey AzNDRAGster, noticed you're from SF. Where do you race? RC Tech?
was ist los? is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 01:47 PM
  #131  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by AzNDRAGster
I installed a big @$$ capictor in my car, very punchy.
trying install TWO and using fukuyama batteries. i have two of the "bazooka" sized ones from Ko Propo on my VFS-2000. asked robert if i can use two.. he laughed.. "ya.. masami uses two" and i said.."hell, if masami doesit, im gonna do it too! "

ill post pictures of it if you guys wanna see.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 01:51 PM
  #132  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Hebiki
trying install TWO and using fukuyama batteries. i have two of the "bazooka" sized ones from Ko Propo on my VFS-2000. asked robert if i can use two.. he laughed.. "ya.. masami uses two" and i said.."hell, if masami doesit, im gonna do it too! "

ill post pictures of it if you guys wanna see.
or you can use only 1 Novak capacitor
the KO caps are rated 1000uF the Novak is 4700uF... and I have one rated at 10,000uF
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 03:38 AM
  #133  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 19
Default

Hi Everyone,

I was looking for another capacitor to put into my novak cyclone, and I saw one that say 50V @ 22 MFD!!!! This is from a speaker cross over board. I am not sure if this is correct( number that high!!! or misleading). But I might give it a try.... LOL

Have anyone see this figure before???

Thanks,
TheNoi is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 03:51 AM
  #134  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,726
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

as far as i know, esc caps smooth out power spikes and dont improve motor performance.

solder a cap onto the motor and watch what happens, its like a turbo when its on the dyno, but on the track it charges up then discharges into the motor causing acceleration when you dont want it. thats what happened when i tried it.
dontfeelcold is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 04:22 AM
  #135  
Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
Pro ten Holland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Druten/Holland (Europe)
Posts: 1,701
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by TheNoi
Hi Everyone,

I was looking for another capacitor to put into my novak cyclone, and I saw one that say 50V @ 22 MFD!!!! This is from a speaker cross over board. I am not sure if this is correct( number that high!!! or misleading). But I might give it a try.... LOL

Have anyone see this figure before???

Thanks,
It's a reular figure for such a cap. There are even heavier ones available. All will damage your ESC. The cap on the ESC helps the FET's in the ESC switch faster. Using just any capacitor will not help the FET's, they might not even shut at all. This results in an on/off switch feeling of the ESC. The ESC will run hot and might even be damaged. If you want a bigger capacitor, get one from your ESC's manufacturer. The problem is regular capacitor are designed to work at 1000Hz (1KHz) max. Todays ESC's switch at much highre speeds. The maximum usuable frequency is not specified with regular capacitors. I used a reular capacitor, and my car felt faster, but the ESC ran very hot. Don't make my mistake!

Using a larger capacitor isn't nescessary, it will only slightly improve performance.
Pro ten Holland is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.