R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-18-2002, 10:49 PM   #31
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 250
Send a message via ICQ to JesseT
Default

Overkill in the size is quite common as it seems. However the type of the capacitor is much more important. It should be a high frequency or a low-impedance capacitor. Changing to a huge capacitor of the wrong type can be a step to worse from the stock capacitor.
On the other hand, no capacitor will make you win races.
JesseT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2002, 12:05 AM   #32
Tech Master
 
Geetoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: HPI/HOTBODIES
Posts: 1,871
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Geetoo Send a message via Yahoo to Geetoo
Default

Got my caps in Hong Kong which costs around US$5 only. Its a rubicon brand.
__________________
www.hpiracing.com
www.hotbodiesonline.net
www.nosram.com
www.team-durango.com
www.actionhobbiesonline.net
Geetoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2002, 12:37 AM   #33
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 250
Send a message via ICQ to JesseT
Default

I got my dyno to completion and I made a few test with caps. Instead of the normal power supply I used a speedo and an old blue Panasonic 3000, because of it's high internal resistance. The motor used is a 13x3 Corally. I dyno tested the power got out of the motor with three power level settings that approximately match 1/3, 2/3 and full throttle. All measurements were done with and without a cap. The cap used was what I normally use, Rubicon ZL 4700 uF. The ZL series was the best I could find a year ago.
From the results it can be seen that the improvement is massive on partial throttle, especially close to the 50% pulse width. At full throttle no difference was noticed. I also set the motor to run with a constant low speed and swithced the cap on and off. The power incresed and decreased accordingly. I hope I have proved my point now.
Best regards, JesseT
Attached Images
File Type: jpg capacitor test.jpg (81.6 KB, 781 views)

Last edited by JesseT; 04-24-2002 at 03:15 AM.
JesseT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2002, 02:26 AM   #34
dw
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Burbage, Leics
Posts: 212
Default

are the1/3 power lines labelled the right way round?
According to your graph 1/3 throtttle is better without the cap.
2/3 throttle shows an improvement with the cap.
If the graph is labelled right then 50% throttle would give little to no difference in performance.
dw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2002, 03:14 AM   #35
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 250
Send a message via ICQ to JesseT
Default

Yep, they are labeled wrong. I'll fix it...
Corrected...

Last edited by JesseT; 04-24-2002 at 03:16 AM.
JesseT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2002, 05:50 AM   #36
Tech Regular
 
RC Nitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NN Virginia
Posts: 432
Default

JesseT & dw:
Thanks for the info. Can you clarify some stuff for a newbie. I know little about electric cars, I am a ME not an EE

My experance stems from a HPI pro I had years ago. ran a midnight 2 motor that I had to solder 3 cap to. I have a Quantum competition in the car using a green machine 3. This has the caps already in the end bell. Do I need to solder the caps that came with the controller to the motor???

Thanks for any help.
RC Nitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2002, 06:28 AM   #37
Tech Master
 
David Galdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 1,652
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to David Galdo Send a message via AIM to David Galdo Send a message via MSN to David Galdo Send a message via Yahoo to David Galdo
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JesseT
Yep, they are labeled wrong. I'll fix it...
Corrected...

JesseT :: Could you demonstrate the affect a cap has with a stock motor? Just for comparison to a Mod motor.
__________________
Hot Bodies | HPI Racing | HPI TV | Speedzone USA | Team Epic | Trinity | TRC
V-Dezign 4.0

Last edited by RCCadet; 04-24-2002 at 06:34 AM.
David Galdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2002, 07:16 AM   #38
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 250
Send a message via ICQ to JesseT
Default

RCCadet:
Sorry, no. I don't have a single stock motor. A guess the effect is pretty much the same, for the exception that stock class racing is done pretty much using only full throttle, and this is where the capacitor of the ESC plays of no role.
RC Nitro:
Don't confuse the ESC capacitor we are talkin about in here to the capacitors that are on the motor. The motor capacitors are to eliminate radio interference created by the motor. These are very much needed for proper operation, but the type of them is not crucial. If your motor already has capacitors, you're fine. They don't need to be the ones that were supplied with your ESC.

Last edited by JesseT; 04-24-2002 at 07:21 AM.
JesseT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2002, 07:21 AM   #39
Tech Master
 
David Galdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 1,652
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to David Galdo Send a message via AIM to David Galdo Send a message via MSN to David Galdo Send a message via Yahoo to David Galdo
Default

I suspect the cap is a marginal or useless attachment on an open large flowing track but for the tight and small tracks it may be of some benefit where full throttle is rare.
__________________
Hot Bodies | HPI Racing | HPI TV | Speedzone USA | Team Epic | Trinity | TRC
V-Dezign 4.0
David Galdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2002, 08:26 AM   #40
Tech Regular
 
RC Nitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NN Virginia
Posts: 432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JesseT
RC Nitro:
Don't confuse the ESC capacitor we are talkin about in here to the capacitors that are on the motor. The motor capacitors are to eliminate radio interference created by the motor. These are very much needed for proper operation, but the type of them is not crucial. If your motor already has capacitors, you're fine. They don't need to be the ones that were supplied with your ESC.
JesseT:
I did, thanks very much for the clarification and the info!!
RC Nitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2002, 09:17 PM   #41
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Santee, CA
Posts: 17
Default Schottky diode

Would soldering the schottky diode on my Cyclone to the soldering post be the same as soldering the the diode to the endbell? Would this hurt performance of the ESC or motor?
He-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2002, 06:55 AM   #42
Tech Master
 
Geetoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: HPI/HOTBODIES
Posts: 1,871
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Geetoo Send a message via Yahoo to Geetoo
Default

I had a mistake in soldering my schottky diode to the motor with wrong polarity. I noticed everything went wrong but had a few laps with it. Will this damage the ecs and motor?
__________________
www.hpiracing.com
www.hotbodiesonline.net
www.nosram.com
www.team-durango.com
www.actionhobbiesonline.net
Geetoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2002, 08:17 AM   #43
Tech Rookie
 
Doraemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Geetoo
I had a mistake in soldering my schottky diode to the motor with wrong polarity. I noticed everything went wrong but had a few laps with it. Will this damage the ecs and motor?
Garet. okay lang yan... kung tumakbo pa yung ESC mo ulit after mo makabit nang baliktad yung diode, edi okay pa yan! (kung bakit kasi baliktad magkabit eh..)

Yung motor mo, walang kaso yan! slave lang ng ESC yung motor eh... ayos lang yan! sige, ulitin mo, tingnan mo, hindi masisira ang ESC mo at Motor mo... dali ulitin mo!
Doraemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2002, 01:19 AM   #44
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

geetoo: in my case, i also soldered the diode backwards. after pulling the throttle, the motor ran slowly then the diode started to burn up and crack open. after removing the diode, everything worked fine. i dont think this will damage the motor and esc.
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2002, 10:53 AM   #45
Tech Master
 
Geetoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: HPI/HOTBODIES
Posts: 1,871
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Geetoo Send a message via Yahoo to Geetoo
Default

Marvi/Doraemon: Kasi when I was soldering it, may dumaan na magandang chicks Yun ang palusot ko. Pero kung uulitin ko eh dapat dumaan ulit yun chick. Pero sige I will check it out. Thanks!
__________________
www.hpiracing.com
www.hotbodiesonline.net
www.nosram.com
www.team-durango.com
www.actionhobbiesonline.net
Geetoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
capacitors? aus jd 2703 Electric On-Road 22 08-13-2007 02:51 AM
ESC capacitors pro4racer Electric On-Road 1 08-10-2005 05:45 AM
esc capacitors??? primusblowsgoat Electric On-Road 2 12-23-2004 10:01 AM
Capacitors on ESC slow Electric On-Road 3 01-07-2004 08:17 AM
Capacitors!! Where to get them???? Racer4Life Electric On-Road 15 10-09-2003 04:34 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:01 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net