R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-27-2004, 05:42 AM   #136
Tech Master
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,721
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

thats very interesting, i might try an original cap for my cyclone tc2 andsee what happens, i "dented"the last one, didnt know they where that soft ive been running a big bastard of a cap because its all i had.
dontfeelcold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 11:16 AM   #137
Tech Addict
 
stonedgti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 699
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I have some 6.3v caps. Can I use those?
__________________
Team Powers | ORCA | OD 12 Racing | NorCal Hobbies | JWerks | Sonic Racing | Team Gayzer | AYO Racing | Team Hastings | Uncle Larry Concepts | Moonlight Toys
stonedgti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 11:33 AM   #138
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stonedgti
I have some 6.3v caps. Can I use those?
you may burn it.... 6cells is 7.2vdc
better it play it safe and get 10v or higher.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 03:17 PM   #139
Tech Addict
 
stonedgti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 699
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Cool Got it...thanks for the reply.
__________________
Team Powers | ORCA | OD 12 Racing | NorCal Hobbies | JWerks | Sonic Racing | Team Gayzer | AYO Racing | Team Hastings | Uncle Larry Concepts | Moonlight Toys
stonedgti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2004, 08:06 PM   #140
Tech Fanatic
 
pro3racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Stevens Point Wisconsin
Posts: 964
Default

i 've been posting in the xxx-s thread about this, i'll switch over now. I run the regular cyclone, but have a tc2 that doesn't work. Could i keep the stock(smaller) cap. and solder on the tc2(larger) capactor, to end up running two on the same esc, one big, one small. What would this do, would it help, hurt?
pro3racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2004, 09:16 PM   #141
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by was ist los?
Hey AzNDRAGster, noticed you're from SF. Where do you race? RC Tech?
Yep. Name is Tony Mac.

I have an older ESC that doesn't have a capacitor and I want to install an capacitor, where would I have to solder it?
Tek Nickal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2004, 09:20 PM   #142
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have some 4700uf caps, 16v, 185F if anyone is interested. They're covered with a carbon fiber decal and look pretty nice.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 03:40 AM   #143
Tech Apprentice
 
alfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 87
Default

can anyone clear this up for me, after reading this entire thread i have read many conflicting conclusions.

If i was to run a 10,000 microfarad capacitor, whats the difference between this and a 1,000 microfarad capacitor? Punchier? Smoother? Cooler Esc?

Thanks.
alfa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 10:04 AM   #144
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by alfa
can anyone clear this up for me, after reading this entire thread i have read many conflicting conclusions.

If i was to run a 10,000 microfarad capacitor, whats the difference between this and a 1,000 microfarad capacitor? Punchier? Smoother? Cooler Esc?

Thanks.
yes, yes, yes
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 11:27 AM   #145
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by alfa
can anyone clear this up for me, after reading this entire thread i have read many conflicting conclusions.

If i was to run a 10,000 microfarad capacitor, whats the difference between this and a 1,000 microfarad capacitor? Punchier? Smoother? Cooler Esc?

Thanks.
higher the microfarad the more punchier.

so 10,000 (more punch) will be a noticable diffrence with just 1000 (less punch)

but then

the higher ther the voltage the capacitor can handel, the less punch.

so a 10v will have more punch then a 16v capcitor.

so i recommend a 10,000 uf capacitor with a voltage around 10v

or if you cant find a 10,000 uf capcitor get 2 4700 capcitors with a voltage of 10v each.


i hope this helps
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 10:37 PM   #146
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

You can get 2 10,000uF 10v on ebay for about $10.0
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 10:38 PM   #147
Tech Apprentice
 
alfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 87
Default

thankyou very much this helps HEAPS
alfa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 10:46 PM   #148
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rc-zombies
You can get 2 10,000uF 10v on ebay for about $10.0
wheres that site schumacher or something..... has that yokomo layote....

cant quiet remember

2 10,000 uf capacitors.......

might as well just get a 22,000

i cant remember the site but they have on there its CRAZY big
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 10:53 PM   #149
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

http://www.rczone.net/modules.php?na...wcontent&id=22

here...!!! found it
check out that big blue thing
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 10:55 PM   #150
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

makes things easier

Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
capacitors? aus jd 2703 Electric On-Road 22 08-13-2007 02:51 AM
ESC capacitors pro4racer Electric On-Road 1 08-10-2005 05:45 AM
esc capacitors??? primusblowsgoat Electric On-Road 2 12-23-2004 10:01 AM
Capacitors on ESC slow Electric On-Road 3 01-07-2004 08:17 AM
Capacitors!! Where to get them???? Racer4Life Electric On-Road 15 10-09-2003 04:34 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:05 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net