ESC Mosfets

Old 06-08-2004, 08:36 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
SalvadoriRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brazil, Sao Paulo
Posts: 928
Default ESC Mosfets

Does anybody know the specifications of a ESC mosfet????

A friend of mine repairs and makes some mods on ESCs but he told me that here in Brazil I can't find mosfet which holds more than 120amps.....he told me that LRP, novak, etc, are using 150amps mosfets right now.....

I would like to get info about the 150A mosfets, but any advice will be welcome, because I'm sure I'll find the mosfets cheaper than here in Brazil

please help me!!
SalvadoriRacing is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 08:41 PM
  #2  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 74
Default

pls see the web site www.irf.com
Loman is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 08:48 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
SalvadoriRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brazil, Sao Paulo
Posts: 928
Default

I was searching for mosfets on google and I've found this website.....

What voltage is an ESC mosfet?????
SalvadoriRacing is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 09:17 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
SalvadoriRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brazil, Sao Paulo
Posts: 928
Default

im' really mad,

but the only mosfet I found and I think is compatible with ans ESC is this:

http://ec.irf.com/v6/en/US/adirect/i...uctID=IRF1302:
SalvadoriRacing is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 11:21 PM
  #5  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 74
Default

or u can search HexFet power MosFet 30V surface mount irf7413. I know some ESC use this.
Loman is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 08:55 AM
  #6  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 113
Cool MOSFETs For An ESC

There are alot of different FETs that will work in an ESC. The two most common are the traditional stand-up type (commonly called thru-hole) and SMTs (surface mount transistors). The SMTs are being used alot these days because they take up alot less space than the traditional type. However, the SMTs usually can't take heat and high current loads as well as the traditional type can. The IRF7413 , for example, is a SMT that can handle 13 amps continuous and 58 amps for a split second. Your average traditional type transistor can handle 80 or more amps continous and much higher than that for s split second. The Novak GT7 uses 4 160 amp transistors for the drive and 2 160 amp transistors for the brake current. Some people may not know this, but the GT7 uses the traditional type transistors that have been laid down to save on space. When choosing transistors you want to look for more than just an amp rating. On-resistance, size, current drop at high temperatures and rise and fall times are some of things that should be considered. Hope this helps!
tmeeks is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 10:06 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

When I rebuilt my Duster I used IRL2203 transisters. They aren't the best, but they are a lot better than the standard ones. Looking for low on resistance is more important than the current since the to-220 package has a current limit of like 80 amps anyway. An on resistance of 4 mOhms is pretty good for a 5 or 6 transistor ESC. The IRL2203's have an on resistance of like 7 mOhms (.007) I think. The IRF1302 is 4 mOhms (.004) and the IRF2804 is 2 (.002) mOhms. Using a little math we would see that 5 of the .002 ohms transistors in parallel would give an ESC resistance of .0004 ohms, 5 of the .004's gives .0008 ohms. Hope this helps.

Last edited by kufman; 06-09-2004 at 10:11 AM.
kufman is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 11:09 AM
  #8  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
SalvadoriRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brazil, Sao Paulo
Posts: 928
Default

thank you guys....

and how about this mosfet:

http://ec.irf.com/v6/en/US/adirect/i...uctID=IRF2804:

more amp draw and less resistance I found.....through hole type, fits perfectly my tekin G9 and thre novak cyclone.....


AAHH!!! Where can i find these mosfets for sale indivdually or small quantities (less than 50 mosfets per package)

Last edited by SalvadoriRacing; 06-09-2004 at 11:18 AM.
SalvadoriRacing is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 12:06 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
seaball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,304
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

maybe digikey.com?
seaball is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 12:26 PM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
SalvadoriRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brazil, Sao Paulo
Posts: 928
Default

sorry kufman,

I didn't notice you've wrote about the IRF2804


seaball,

thanks!!!!
SalvadoriRacing is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 01:08 PM
  #11  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 113
Cool MOSFETs For ESCs

Is there any particular reason for you wanting to change the FETs? The Cyclone and G9 both have very good FETs in them, unless of course they are damaged. Be careful when selecting transistors because when you get a higher amp rating you sometimes lose efficiency as well as other things. For example, the Duratrax Intellispeed 8T Pro has a wickedly high amp rating for continuous and pulse current (1200 or so, 4700 respectively). However, it is rated for an 8 turn or higher motor. I'd rather have overall quality than quantity. I'm not saying that it's a bad ESC, but the numbers aren't what I'm looking for. Good Luck!
tmeeks is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 01:10 PM
  #12  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
SalvadoriRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brazil, Sao Paulo
Posts: 928
Default HELP ME!!!

what does it mean????

continuous drain current @ 10 v (SILICON limited) >>> 280 Amps
continuous drain current @ 10 v (Package limited) >>> 75 Amps

I saw this info on the IRF2804 datasheet
SalvadoriRacing is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 01:12 PM
  #13  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
SalvadoriRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brazil, Sao Paulo
Posts: 928
Default

tmeeks,

My friend has a cyclone with burnt mosfets......and I would like to try some mods on my G9....
SalvadoriRacing is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 01:16 PM
  #14  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 113
Default FETs

Do you know how the Cyclone was damaged?
tmeeks is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 01:21 PM
  #15  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
SalvadoriRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brazil, Sao Paulo
Posts: 928
Default

yep...

it's the first cyclone.....

the brake mosfets are damaged.....the brake simply stopped working.....
SalvadoriRacing is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.