Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Novak SS5800 glitches >

Novak SS5800 glitches

Novak SS5800 glitches

Old 06-07-2004, 05:45 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
StoneMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Maple, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 133
Default Novak SS5800 glitches

I hope someone can help I'm the only one locally that has this set-up.
For two weekends now I have been experiencing the same problem.
The car turns and goes to full throttle with no warning.
More than once

Car: Tamiya EVO III SE
Gearing 35/96 7.13-1
JR XS-3 radio and JR receiver

I have tried: Novak XXtra receiver
relocated receiver
moved ESC to different spots

Motor temp when glitching starts is between 130-145 deg.

Andy

The power has surprised a lot of racers until it turns left and tries to attack a marshall
StoneMan is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 05:59 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

contact novak.. they are very good about making sure there products work properly.. they would know the answer

http://www.teamnovak.com/
burbs is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 07:22 PM
  #3  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

You should also check your crystals to make sure they are in good condition.
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 07:28 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 850
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

When does your problem occur 1 min, 5 mins at the end of the bat pack capacity.....?
vadn1 is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 07:37 PM
  #5  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
StoneMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Maple, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 133
Default

The car doesn't have crystals its a synthsised radio
The glitching startd about 1 min. into the main. When I picked the car up both the wheels and motor were jumping back and forth.

Andy
StoneMan is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 07:39 PM
  #6  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

You might want to test the car with another ESC setup before bieng sure it is the SS5800. A non synthesized radio can lose its signal strength with age and will need to be retuned, I'd think a synthesized setup would need this much more often.
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 07:46 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
StoneMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Maple, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 133
Default

I pulled out the SS5800 and reinstalled my 19T and GT7 and no problem.
I use the same radio for my R40 & F201 so I'm sure its not the radio.
Also changed receiver to the Novak synthsised.
StoneMan is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 08:11 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,640
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

maybe the comm needs to be trued?
Joel Lagace is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 08:19 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (41)
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

I have a couple of them and the only time I've ever had a problem was when the input cable was damaged/cut/frayed.

They unplug from the ESC, so they're easy to replace.

It would have to be pretty f'd up to just run away, they kinda "park" themselves if they don't see a valid neutral signal. They won't run away if you turn off the radio first.
Turbo Joe is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 08:30 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 199
Default

Never mind this....
aviaar is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 04:30 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,487
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Check your switch harness too, mine had a similiar problem when my switch was about to fall apart. sounds like a bad electrical connection or a bad unit. If you can, have some one else try your ss5800 in their car with their radio setup. I run the same radio with a 5800 without trouble. How old is the novak motor system? If you can't find the problem give novak a call, they seem to be pretty good about working with people to figure out problems with the brushless stuff.
kufman is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 09:47 AM
  #12  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
StoneMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Maple, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 133
Default

Thanks to everyone
When I get home tonight I'll check it all out.
I e-mailed novak as well.
Joel you live too close to politicians
Andy
StoneMan is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.