R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-31-2004, 08:06 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to FUK_WRX Send a message via AIM to FUK_WRX Send a message via MSN to FUK_WRX Send a message via Yahoo to FUK_WRX
Default Has anyone tried this

Have any of you guys tried the KOSE onboard antenna?? Does it work?

Just curious cause i dont see anyone using them.

FUK_WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 08:23 PM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Default

that looks similar to the "rubber ducky" antenas for airplane radios. They are very nice, they dont bend and break. they are also flexible.

My neighbor has one on his Hitec 9 channel radio, which he uses to fly some LARGE airplanes...and has never had a problem.

How much are they?
atlrcracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 08:34 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to FUK_WRX Send a message via AIM to FUK_WRX Send a message via MSN to FUK_WRX Send a message via Yahoo to FUK_WRX
Default

but how do u hook up the reciever wire in that?
FUK_WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 09:44 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: land of mass unemployment
Posts: 1,313
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

FUK-WRX:


Hi,

in the past you had to cut the antena wire to a given length. I'm not sure about this one from Kose tho.
__________________
Team Tekin, KoPropo, Power Push Batteries, Tempgun.com
PROTECT ME FROM THE THINGS I WANT.
THAT WHICH FEEDS ME DESTROYS ME.
Life is short - live it! Your only old when your dreams are replaced by regrets.
TimXLB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 10:31 PM   #5
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Cutting the antenna wire on a Rx is the worst thing you could do. These antennas are a "tuned" length. If you were to cut the wire, you'd screw with the resonnance (sp?) of the antenna and more than likely end up with some serious glitch problems because it would no longer be "tunned" to the right frequancy.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 10:55 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to FUK_WRX Send a message via AIM to FUK_WRX Send a message via MSN to FUK_WRX Send a message via Yahoo to FUK_WRX
Default

I wonder if the KOSE is the same, i dont think i want to cut the antenna wire from my reciever.
FUK_WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 12:15 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Johnny J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 375
Default

From that pic it just looks like you wrap it around the pole thing.
Johnny J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 12:35 AM   #8
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Back That Thang Up!
Posts: 3,468
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I use the Deans antenna on my car and it requires tghe cutting of the rx wire:


never had any problems
403forbidden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 04:25 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 588
Default

This Kose antenna actually lenghtens the antenna wire, it comes with plastic "thingie" that you wrap the original antenna wire round.
What I've learnt in electronics tells me that antenna wire length is not used to tune receivers. Longer wire is always better, you're not supposed to cut the wire because it would make the antenna too short to pickup strong enough signal. The guys flying airplanes often double the length of antenna wire to get more range. my2c
andsetinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 06:05 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to FUK_WRX Send a message via AIM to FUK_WRX Send a message via MSN to FUK_WRX Send a message via Yahoo to FUK_WRX
Default

But does work? I would like to get one if it does.
FUK_WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 07:37 AM   #11
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Default

In my exprience with the Radio antenna, there is NO cutting of the wire. Now, we are talking about a RX antenna..so i know it is different.

My neighbor has NEVER had an issue with ANY RANGE issues with his airplanes....and there is NO room for error with a $1000.00 plane 100ft in the air!

How much are they anyway?
atlrcracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 07:41 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to FUK_WRX Send a message via AIM to FUK_WRX Send a message via MSN to FUK_WRX Send a message via Yahoo to FUK_WRX
Default

it 15 bucks
FUK_WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 08:07 AM   #13
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: OH...for now
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by andsetinn
Longer wire is always better, you're not supposed to cut the wire because it would make the antenna too short to pickup strong enough signal.
The antenna length determines properties of the signal, such as wavelength. A shorter or longer antenna will result in different properties.

If I'm not mistaken, longer wavelength signals provide more power than short wavelengths. This is why a submarine needs to string 100's of yards of antenna trailing behind the sub. The longer wavelength is able to travel through the very dense conditions of water better.

I'm sure there's an electronics wiz out there somewhere that could explain it.
collins77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 08:15 AM   #14
Tech Regular
 
HK Racing Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ravinia, Il
Posts: 251
Send a message via AIM to HK Racing Joe
Thumbs up IT'll WORK!!!

Don't worry as long as u don't cut the wire ur fine
HK Racing Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 06:47 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to FUK_WRX Send a message via AIM to FUK_WRX Send a message via MSN to FUK_WRX Send a message via Yahoo to FUK_WRX
Default

Cool thanks
FUK_WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:32 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net