Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Has anyone tried this >

Has anyone tried this

Has anyone tried this

Reply

Old 05-31-2004, 07:06 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Has anyone tried this

Have any of you guys tried the KOSE onboard antenna?? Does it work?

Just curious cause i dont see anyone using them.

FUK_WRX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 07:23 PM
  #2  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Default

that looks similar to the "rubber ducky" antenas for airplane radios. They are very nice, they dont bend and break. they are also flexible.

My neighbor has one on his Hitec 9 channel radio, which he uses to fly some LARGE airplanes...and has never had a problem.

How much are they?
atlrcracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 07:34 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

but how do u hook up the reciever wire in that?
FUK_WRX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 08:44 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: land of mass unemployment
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

FUK-WRX:


Hi,

in the past you had to cut the antena wire to a given length. I'm not sure about this one from Kose tho.
TimXLB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 09:31 PM
  #5  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Cutting the antenna wire on a Rx is the worst thing you could do. These antennas are a "tuned" length. If you were to cut the wire, you'd screw with the resonnance (sp?) of the antenna and more than likely end up with some serious glitch problems because it would no longer be "tunned" to the right frequancy.
Jon Kerr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 09:55 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I wonder if the KOSE is the same, i dont think i want to cut the antenna wire from my reciever.
FUK_WRX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 11:15 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
 
Johnny J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 375
Default

From that pic it just looks like you wrap it around the pole thing.
Johnny J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 11:35 PM
  #8  
Suspended
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Back That Thang Up!
Posts: 3,468
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I use the Deans antenna on my car and it requires tghe cutting of the rx wire:


never had any problems
403forbidden is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 03:25 AM
  #9  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 588
Default

This Kose antenna actually lenghtens the antenna wire, it comes with plastic "thingie" that you wrap the original antenna wire round.
What I've learnt in electronics tells me that antenna wire length is not used to tune receivers. Longer wire is always better, you're not supposed to cut the wire because it would make the antenna too short to pickup strong enough signal. The guys flying airplanes often double the length of antenna wire to get more range. my2c
andsetinn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 05:05 AM
  #10  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

But does work? I would like to get one if it does.
FUK_WRX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 06:37 AM
  #11  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Default

In my exprience with the Radio antenna, there is NO cutting of the wire. Now, we are talking about a RX antenna..so i know it is different.

My neighbor has NEVER had an issue with ANY RANGE issues with his airplanes....and there is NO room for error with a $1000.00 plane 100ft in the air!

How much are they anyway?
atlrcracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 06:41 AM
  #12  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

it 15 bucks
FUK_WRX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 07:07 AM
  #13  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: OH...for now
Posts: 84
Default

Originally posted by andsetinn
Longer wire is always better, you're not supposed to cut the wire because it would make the antenna too short to pickup strong enough signal.
The antenna length determines properties of the signal, such as wavelength. A shorter or longer antenna will result in different properties.

If I'm not mistaken, longer wavelength signals provide more power than short wavelengths. This is why a submarine needs to string 100's of yards of antenna trailing behind the sub. The longer wavelength is able to travel through the very dense conditions of water better.

I'm sure there's an electronics wiz out there somewhere that could explain it.
collins77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 07:15 AM
  #14  
Tech Regular
 
HK Racing Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ravinia, Il
Posts: 251
Thumbs up IT'll WORK!!!

Don't worry as long as u don't cut the wire ur fine
HK Racing Joe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 05:47 PM
  #15  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Cool thanks
FUK_WRX is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service