R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-01-2004, 11:07 AM   #16
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Consider. . .

also the KO Helios EX-10. Everybody here swears that it is more balance than the M8 and 3PK. It just looks weird. And also recently, 3PK's are getting a lot of glitches here. Dunno why. As for my EX-10 I have not experience any glitch yet.
Peace and Happy Racing!
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 04:29 PM   #17
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 87
Default

I am a big guy ... I have big hands .. so when I went radio shopping last yea comfort was a big thing for me ... the best feeling radio I found was the M8 I had to do a little dremeling to get it so I could hit the brake adjustment easily and a little for y thumb on the top piece but thats just because I have huge bear paws for hands .... the best balanced that I have found is the M8 but hey this is just my .00002 opinion .. but I love mine and the ability to be totally crystalless is awesome ... I wont change unless a better balanced totaly crystalless radio comes out ... and I dont think thats going to happen for a while ... not without a huge price tag .... and I only have $300 my crystalless M8 ..

have fun racing

E
roddude65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 05:41 PM   #18
Tech Master
 
Car Breaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Grave Yard
Posts: 1,261
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default Re: Consider. . .

Quote:
Originally posted by lem2
also the KO Helios EX-10. Everybody here swears that it is more balance than the M8 and 3PK. It just looks weird. And also recently, 3PK's are getting a lot of glitches here. Dunno why. As for my EX-10 I have not experience any glitch yet.
Peace and Happy Racing!
that is the diffrences in quality between "made in Japan" and " Make in Taiwan"
Car Breaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 07:04 PM   #19
Tech Adept
 
prodrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 174
Default quality control

about 3pk's quality control, i hear that the newest version( black titanium version) is even worse than the gold version. some people said the circuit board is poor quality and glitches alot
prodrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 09:16 PM   #20
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 56
Default

I'll throw my 3PK cents in....I personally have'nt had any problems. Note: I'm running in PCM mode. FWIW
Mister_Drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 02:29 AM   #21
Tech Fanatic
 
evaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: south of metro manila
Posts: 963
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by andsetinn
Both radios are fine. I race with Futaba 3VC so I might be biased but I think the M8 uses more power, empties the batteries faster. It might be issue on long race days. I'm not sure how much power the 3PK uses.
the 3pk consumes relatively little power. i used to have 700s in my 3pk and it could last for one whole race day (3 heats and 3 mains, plus several bats for practice and trimming) sometimes, i even leave the radio on by accident. i upgraded to 2100s a couple of months ago and i have so far gone through three race days (with all the practice and leaving the radio on stuff) and i have yet to recharge my bats.
evaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 08:50 AM   #22
Tech Regular
 
miniracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 268
Default Re: Consider. . .

Quote:
Originally posted by lem2
also the KO Helios EX-10. Everybody here swears that it is more balance than the M8 and 3PK. It just looks weird. And also recently, 3PK's are getting a lot of glitches here. Dunno why. As for my EX-10 I have not experience any glitch yet.
Peace and Happy Racing!
I notice also that most of the glitch are those radios using 75mhz both 3pk and M8. But on 40mhz mostly 3pk's. Hmmm. Knock on wood I use a M8 on 40mhz no glitch so far anywhere.

Both radios are great, for the M8 get a battery tray as it eats up the stock 700mah pack quite quick.
miniracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 10:25 AM   #23
Tech Addict
 
Sleighty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 568
Default

hey guys,
I was just about to buy the m8 and i wondered if its kool to work with any servo? will it work with standard, FET, and digital?
Will it maximise digital servos like the Helios or the 3pk HRS will?

thanks
__________________
A1-RC.com
Team Scream
Xray
Sleighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 11:39 AM   #24
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 34
Default Re: Consider. . .

Quote:
Originally posted by lem2
also the KO Helios EX-10. Everybody here swears that it is more balance than the M8 and 3PK. It just looks weird. And also recently, 3PK's are getting a lot of glitches here. Dunno why. As for my EX-10 I have not experience any glitch yet.
Peace and Happy Racing!
Yup I just bought the Helios too. Awesome radio, the menus are intuitive and easy to navigate through. The hard copy of the manual is what really puzzles you. You know what I mean if you've had a chance to read it.
Silvercomet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 11:55 AM   #25
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Consider. . .

Quote:
Originally posted by Silvercomet
Yup I just bought the Helios too. Awesome radio, the menus are intuitive and easy to navigate through. The hard copy of the manual is what really puzzles you. You know what I mean if you've had a chance to read it.
It can't be any worse than my Mars R manual.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 08:00 PM   #26
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Worthington, OH
Posts: 164
Default

Just an FYI. In July, Futaba is coming out with a synthesize module for the 3PK transmitter and synthesized receivers. However, I currently have a 3PK and am using it synthesized. A Hitec synthesizer module will work in a 3PK. I use the Hitec module and a Novak Xtra receiver.
Hondaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 08:41 PM   #27
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 56
Default

Cool. I used the Hitec Lynx 3D Synth module in my Fut. 3PJS. Worked great with the Novak also. Can't wait to get Futaba's synth unit for my new 3PK. Thanks for the info.
Mister_Drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2004, 01:15 AM   #28
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

i can't remember when, either late june or july, Airtronics is coming out with their syn. module and receiver also.
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2004, 02:08 AM   #29
Tech Adept
 
prodrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 174
Default finally....

i was offered a great bargain, $150 for a rarely used m8 with lrp phaser receiver, either that or an almost brand new japanese version 3pk without receiver for the same price, so without hesitation i took the m8, considering all your input in this matter, also i feel reluctant to have to study all the multi layer menus that 3pk offers. i hope i made a wise choice.
prodrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2004, 06:24 AM   #30
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: finally....

Quote:
Originally posted by prodrive
i was offered a great bargain, $150 for a rarely used m8 with lrp phaser receiver, either that or an almost brand new japanese version 3pk without receiver for the same price, so without hesitation i took the m8, considering all your input in this matter, also i feel reluctant to have to study all the multi layer menus that 3pk offers. i hope i made a wise choice.
The M8 is probably the most popular radio built. You made a good choice and IMO, they all pretty much do the same thing and unless you're a seasoned pro, you wont notice a huge difference between brands of high end radios.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Futaba 2pl or Airtronics MX-3 dorick Electric On-Road 3 05-15-2007 03:51 PM
Futaba or Airtronics? losi09 Electric Off-Road 51 03-01-2007 10:15 PM
Airtronics/Futaba/JR??? Vegaspilot Electric Off-Road 4 08-29-2006 04:45 AM
Futaba 3PK/Airtronics M11/M8 WisRacr1 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 9 02-28-2006 05:00 PM
Futaba 3pk or Airtronics M8 warlord385 Electric On-Road 5 01-29-2003 06:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:02 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net