Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Foam Tire Truer - Best bang for your buck - Which One? >

Foam Tire Truer - Best bang for your buck - Which One?

Like Tree21Likes

Foam Tire Truer - Best bang for your buck - Which One?

Old 12-27-2021, 09:05 PM
  #31  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,769
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by phatboislim View Post
I'll take it apart and look at the switch, thank you
Interested on what you find plus if CRC has motors they will sell. I bought a used OFNA automatic tire truer a while ago, so I'm interested. Thanks.
glennhl is offline  
Old 12-28-2021, 04:05 PM
  #32  
Tech Initiate
 
bmwjoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 38
Default

Originally Posted by phatboislim View Post
I'll take it apart and look at the switch, thank you
I just recently bought a used Ofna fully expecting to restore it. It is possible the brushes are worn. They are very small brushes for a motor this size. If you are familiar with hobby motors this size, products like the old Sullivan Hi-torque starter motor have brushes double the size. If the motor does not work after changing brushes you can use a motor out of a glow engine starter or nitro starter box from Ofna.

On my particular starter the tire holder runout was terrible. The previous owner either dropped it or struck it probably in an attempt to remove an adapter. I took apart my Ofna starter box and swapped the rotors.
bmwjoon is offline  
Old 12-29-2021, 11:16 AM
  #33  
Tech Master
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,612
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

So I've tested the motor and its good. The fuse didn't look popped but I'm assuming that's the issue. I'm going to finish getting it back together and after I'm out of quarantine I'm going to go buy some 2A fuses and see if it fires back up.
phatboislim is offline  
Old 12-29-2021, 11:51 AM
  #34  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
gubbs3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 785
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by phatboislim View Post
So I've tested the motor and its good. The fuse didn't look popped but I'm assuming that's the issue. I'm going to finish getting it back together and after I'm out of quarantine I'm going to go buy some 2A fuses and see if it fires back up.
I've needed to replace the switch on the ofna. Super cheap. 10 for 6 bucks.
gubbs3 is offline  
Old 12-30-2021, 07:04 PM
  #35  
Tech Master
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,612
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Just in case, where did you order your switch? It doesn't look typical for the parts store
phatboislim is offline  
Old 01-02-2022, 04:52 AM
  #36  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 62
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

Posting this out there incase anyone stumbles on to this thread looking for an inexpensive lathe. Schumacher is now selling a manual tire lathe. I have the eagle branded version and it works great.

https://www.racing-cars.com/new-prod...cember-2021%2f
gfarb is offline  
Old 01-02-2022, 05:00 AM
  #37  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 4,386
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gfarb View Post
Posting this out there incase anyone stumbles on to this thread looking for an inexpensive lathe. Schumacher is now selling a manual tire lathe. I have the eagle branded version and it works great.

https://www.racing-cars.com/new-prod...cember-2021%2f
That exact link was already posted in this thread a few weeks ago.
gigaplex is offline  
Old 01-02-2022, 06:55 AM
  #38  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (76)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 648
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Bypass the switch then you will know for sure .My switch goes out on my starter boxes all the time
martind1318 is offline  
Old 01-02-2022, 07:40 AM
  #39  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
Racermac73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Palmyra, Virginia
Posts: 2,130
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone messed with the smart truer ? Curious what opinions people have about it
Racermac73 is offline  
Old 01-02-2022, 08:20 AM
  #40  
Tech Lord
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 10,732
Default

Originally Posted by Racermac73 View Post
Has anyone messed with the smart truer ? Curious what opinions people have about it
You will be amzed what is to find: https://www.google.nl/search?hl=nl&q...s=heirloom-srp..

Even here:
Smart Workshop Smart Tire Truer
Roelof is offline  
Old 01-02-2022, 03:36 PM
  #41  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 4,386
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
I don't think your Google link does what you expected it to.


WhiteLX and Gezer2u2 like this.
gigaplex is offline  
Old 01-03-2022, 08:49 AM
  #42  
Tech Lord
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 10,732
Default

And still my google does show other hits like this one:

Roelof is offline  
Old 01-03-2022, 04:24 PM
  #43  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,136
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex View Post
I don't think your Google link does what you expected it to.

Google is 'helping you correct your typos' and showing you smart fryers...you need to tell it to proceed to smart truer review instead of the recommended results
ChrisP is offline  
Old 01-03-2022, 04:57 PM
  #44  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 4,386
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ChrisP View Post
Google is 'helping you correct your typos' and showing you smart fryers...you need to tell it to proceed to smart truer review instead of the recommended results
And how do I tell it? The link to confirm just doubles down on showing more fryers. There is no "no I spelled it right" button.
gigaplex is offline  
Old 01-04-2022, 04:43 AM
  #45  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,136
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Sorry...I initially got the same results in my full browser, but there was a hyperlink to 'smart truer review' results instead of the recommended answer...now it takes me straight to the truer results so I can't replicate the steps...
ChrisP is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.