Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Paradigm monster VS Fukuyama Monster >

Paradigm monster VS Fukuyama Monster

Paradigm monster VS Fukuyama Monster

Old 06-02-2004, 04:13 AM
  #121  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Im using purple on both side at the moment, its run preety fast.
FUK_WRX is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 07:45 AM
  #122  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,915
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default A note about Magnets in a Monster

I had a problem a few weeks ago where my motor would run strong for 2 minutes and then my lap times would fall off. Turns out I was REALLY over geared. The locals were running a 7.20 final and I was running a 6.62 final! When i figured out what was wrong and changed my gear to 7.20 my car did the same thing. Fast early but slow after 2 minutes.

Turns out if you overheat the magnets they lose their strength. They are fine when its cool but after a few minutes on the track the magnets fade. A friend had a Magnet Zapper so we zapped the can. After zapping the motor was fine again, strong start to finish.

Be careful with your gearing and don't over heat your motors.
AdrianM is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 09:15 AM
  #123  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose California
Posts: 1,251
Default

Originally posted by ottoman
You cant dyno a motor with out a load applied and expect to get any usable results... when does your motor run in your car with out a load? All real dyno's apply a load to the motor either by a flywheel (Phantom..Robi etc) or with a load motor (turbo dyno) how can you get a torque reading with out a load?
Mine uses a magnet....Its like a magnetic pinion gear....with no teeth

I'm not getting a torque reading....just an amp reading....Usually (keyword) the motors with the higher amp rating on my dyno produce more torque. For example:

Dud-Monster produced 19,000 at 2.5 amps (sucked on track)
Adverage-Monsters produce 22,500 at 3.5 amps (good)
My dad's Monster produced 25,700 at 7.5 amps (FAST! keeps up with 19ts)

Mine produced 25,000 RPM at 4.7 amps...It should be fairly good

BTW: I use the same springs/brushes on the dyno I use on the track
The Black Kat is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 09:32 AM
  #124  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

AdrianM: is 100% correct....

When you overheat the motor, most people forget about the magnets.......
Tres is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 09:45 AM
  #125  
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

The Black Kat - I checked the amp draw of my monster with 4505's and putnam greens after one run; the greens gave less amp draw and ran better out on the track... forget about amp draw, forget about rpm just drop it on the track and run it.
fatdoggy is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 11:06 AM
  #126  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose California
Posts: 1,251
Default

Like I said....lets wait til Saturday

-Dan
The Black Kat is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 02:25 PM
  #127  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 593
Default no Load Amps

Means zero, Zip, Nadda to me. Waaay too many things can change the amps with no load. Hung brush? Dirty comm? Heavy springs? Dry or misaligned bushings? Loose magnet? All theses things will change no load amp draw. Add an extra shim to the arm, make it tight. How many amps do you want it to draw ?

Fatdoggy is correct.

With out a load, you really can't tell what it is putting out. Same thing with any other motor.
David Root is offline  
Old 06-02-2004, 04:48 PM
  #128  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose California
Posts: 1,251
Default

I always give the brushes a tug, make sure the comm is good AND of course...Shim it properly in the magnetic field (I find that can gain a couple hundred RPM if you shim the motor properely

I dyno my motors the way I race them

I don't swear by the dyno...I just use it as a reference/comparison tool....So far it has served me well. Hopefully it doesn't let me down
The Black Kat is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.