Belt Morphing?

Old 07-08-2010, 11:38 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Default Belt Morphing?

I was wondering if it is possible to maybe morph 2 belts togethor to make a longer belt.?
boblawblaw is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 12:29 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,965
Default

You mean like through a wormhole to a parallel universe?

How long a belt do you need? There's quite a few really long ones available for cars with single belt setups.
niznai is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 12:52 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
 
Foxxrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 2,018
Default

Don't bother trying to make one large belt from two other belts. You'll end up with two useless belts. Like Nazini suggested buy one belt that will fit the car.
Foxxrocket is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 08:45 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
JKL1031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Foxxrocket View Post
Don't bother trying to make one large belt from two other belts. You'll end up with two useless belts. Like Nazini suggested buy one belt that will fit the car.
one useless piece of two belts
JKL1031 is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 09:56 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (15)
 
BadSign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 1,205
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I think it only works if you buy "Power Ranger" brand.
BadSign is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 10:07 PM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
Radio Active's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 7,128
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by boblawblaw View Post
I was wondering if it is possible to maybe morph 2 belts togethor to make a longer belt.?
Is this for your RC car, or have you just put on a lot of weight recently?
Radio Active is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 10:16 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
JKL1031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

seriously, what kind of car.
JKL1031 is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 10:43 PM
  #8  
Tech Apprentice
 
V_28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 61
Default

hmmm... I don't think it will work for an RC car because whatever method you try to connect the two belts, the joint won't hold with all the rpm's a motor places on it. That's a whole lot of friction.
V_28 is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 12:09 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
 
HB Moose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Surf City, USA
Posts: 1,086
Default

Think outside the RC box. Most of the belts are 3mm wide with 3mm pitch. you figure out what size you need an find an industrial supply that sells belts. In school it was called design by catalog.
HB Moose is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.