Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC6 Thread >

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Like Tree20Likes

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Reply

Old 07-25-2013, 10:05 AM
  #9451  
Tech Master
iTrader: (38)
 
cdwilliams1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,055
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tommy R View Post
Definitely go WAY up in front diff oil weight, IMO. I was running either a gear diff with 2.5 million(!) in it or a slipper spool with success. I've run as light as 50k in the front on asphalt and it was fine on a low powered VTA car, but for carpet I ran much higher. Hope this helps!

Oh, another question... Has the car always performed like this on carpet since you built it or has this been a gradual change over time?
First night of racing with it. So it's always been this way

Thanks all for the help. That's a bunch of stuff to try for next week.
cdwilliams1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 02:54 PM
  #9452  
Tech Master
iTrader: (37)
 
Mr.juarez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,280
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know what other floater servo arm I can use? With the rsd chassis

Last edited by Mr.juarez; 07-25-2013 at 03:24 PM.
Mr.juarez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 03:05 PM
  #9453  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Tommy R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 637
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cdwilliams1 View Post
First night of racing with it. So it's always been this way

Thanks all for the help. That's a bunch of stuff to try for next week.
Happy to do my part to help! Hope you get it sorted out soon....

Tommy
Tommy R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 03:21 PM
  #9454  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Bay area, Ca.
Posts: 1,727
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JustWill75 View Post
I have been using YoDog's servo mount on my TC6.1 for a while now with a Futaba BLS551 on it. I was wondering what would happen if spaced the servo forward so that the linnkage between the arm and bellcrank are not swept back as much. I was looking at other steering systems and just noticed that a lot of them place the servo farther forward.

Has anybody esle try this? Is their a benefit to this or not? I'm going to race this Wednesday night and try it out.
It would be a good idea to use the kit servo spacers to move the servo more forward. Depending on the cap height of the servo this will determine how much spacing to use. I'm using the AE 2mm servo spacers with both my Spektrum and Futaba low profile servos.
YoDog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 03:32 PM
  #9455  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Bay area, Ca.
Posts: 1,727
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mr.juarez View Post
Anyone know what other floater servo arm I can use? With the rsd chassis
Hey George, sorry I couldn't get to you last weekend. Had a ton of wedding issues to work trough then ran really late Saturday morning trying to head up to Reno.
YoDog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 04:10 PM
  #9456  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,429
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

When will the Tc7 come out ????
bertrandsv87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 04:30 PM
  #9457  
CL
Tech Addict
iTrader: (33)
 
CL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 744
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bertrandsv87 View Post
When will the Tc7 come out ????
2 Weeks...
CL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 05:16 PM
  #9458  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
DARKSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nashville-Memphis
Posts: 8,843
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

really?
DARKSIDE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 05:32 PM
  #9459  
Tech Master
iTrader: (37)
 
Mr.juarez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,280
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
Hey George, sorry I couldn't get to you last weekend. Had a ton of wedding issues to work trough then ran really late Saturday morning trying to head up to Reno.
no problem rick. i had a bad day anyways out there. good luck with your new job!!
Originally Posted by bertrandsv87 View Post
When will the Tc7 come out ????
Originally Posted by CL View Post
2 Weeks...
Originally Posted by DARKSIDE View Post
really?
:lo l:
Mr.juarez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 08:24 PM
  #9460  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
bhambrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: B'ham, AL.
Posts: 2,026
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CL View Post
2 Weeks...
bhambrent is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 12:16 AM
  #9461  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Kellen Guthrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 598
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

So I tried the rick howhart reedy race setup. The only difference is I'm running a front spool with 37.5wt in the rear diff. I'm running 7b and the rear hole for ackerman. Also a regular weight ltr and 32.5 in all 4 shocks. The car is awesome entry to apex but is undriveable out of the corner. I even had barry baker drive it and he couldn't do a lap. Anyone have any idea what might be going on?

Thanks
Kellen Guthrie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 05:35 AM
  #9462  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Tommy R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 637
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kellen Guthrie View Post
So I tried the rick howhart reedy race setup. The only difference is I'm running a front spool with 37.5wt in the rear diff. I'm running 7b and the rear hole for ackerman. Also a regular weight ltr and 32.5 in all 4 shocks. The car is awesome entry to apex but is undriveable out of the corner. I even had barry baker drive it and he couldn't do a lap. Anyone have any idea what might be going on?

Thanks
When I had a similar issue it turns out I had a screw that had backed out of my caster block. Assuming nothing is broken/tweaked, I would again recommend looking into the front droop setting. I hate to sound like a broken record with regard to droop, but I've been amazed at the difference it can make.
Tommy R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 07:34 AM
  #9463  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,070
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kellen Guthrie View Post
So I tried the rick howhart reedy race setup. The only difference is I'm running a front spool with 37.5wt in the rear diff. I'm running 7b and the rear hole for ackerman. Also a regular weight ltr and 32.5 in all 4 shocks. The car is awesome entry to apex but is undriveable out of the corner. I even had barry baker drive it and he couldn't do a lap. Anyone have any idea what might be going on?

Thanks
Check the servo saver to see if it has loosened.
MDawson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 08:06 AM
  #9464  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
vivo quevas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central, Ca.
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kellen Guthrie View Post
So I tried the rick howhart reedy race setup. The only difference is I'm running a front spool with 37.5wt in the rear diff. I'm running 7b and the rear hole for ackerman. Also a regular weight ltr and 32.5 in all 4 shocks. The car is awesome entry to apex but is undriveable out of the corner. I even had barry baker drive it and he couldn't do a lap. Anyone have any idea what might be going on?

Thanks
I too tried Ricks setup and the car was undriveable! I tried this setup and the car was a lot closer to something I could drive.
http://teamassociated.com/pdf/cars_a..._rroc_2013.pdf
vivo quevas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 08:17 AM
  #9465  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
chevtech23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Everett WA
Posts: 447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vivo quevas View Post
I too tried Ricks setup and the car was undriveable! I tried this setup and the car was a lot closer to something I could drive.
http://teamassociated.com/pdf/cars_a..._rroc_2013.pdf
+1 on Bobs setup, but be aware you may have to grind on the steering arm to get it to clear the upper deck for clearance. I left mine at 2b.
chevtech23 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service