Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC6 Thread >

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Like Tree20Likes

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Old 12-20-2012, 12:12 PM
  #8371  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,567
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mcrcracer
Coming from a 6 year break in onroad racing, the 6.1 worked great for me at a race last weekend. The car was already upgraded to vertical ball studs, and I have a Worlds Class chassis on the way.

The car was very easy to learn, and I expect to get it dialed by the next race. That being said, I was told it has the stock slippesr spool, and that I need to change the rear diff (apparently it is not the stock one). Also on my list of parts to order:
Airtronics m12
Faster servo (what is the slim futaba one people use?)
Reflex shock bladders
Fan mount with fans
More A arms
If you're running Scale Spec or Stock Touring, the slipper spool is probably fine, and may be better if you're tapping boards. But the fixed spool will be lighter. Gear diff is nice to have, though.

Take a look at the Airtronics M11x. Amain has it discounted at $339.

For Futaba servos, you'd want BLS551 (brushless) or S9551 (coreless). Savox 1251MG if you want to save a few bucks.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 01:07 PM
  #8372  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 436
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wtcc
The TC6 ones are stronger than the actual TC6.1 c-hubs (bad mold flow). So stay with them or check these ones out:
http://zeppinracing.com/portfolio-vi...l-r-for-tc6-1/
Do the TC6 hubs have identical geometry to the TC6.1?
jha07 is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 01:12 PM
  #8373  
gom
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 194
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jha07
Do the TC6 hubs have identical geometry to the TC6.1?
I believe so. It'd be great if someone can verify this though.
gom is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 02:04 PM
  #8374  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (45)
 
rangerjkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,609
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

The TC6 kit 4* C-hubs and TC6.1 with 4* castor block insert are identical and can be used on either car.
rangerjkb is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 02:15 PM
  #8375  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
mtbboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg. Igloo. Hockey. Beer.
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rangerjkb
The TC6 kit 4* C-hubs and TC6.1 with 4* castor block insert are identical and can be used on either car.
Tc6 uses a narrower bearing with a larger id than the tc6.1.
Tc6 uses a 4mm crush tube as well.

D.
mtbboy is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 02:27 PM
  #8376  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Central Washington State
Posts: 131
Default

Does anyone have pictures/instructions for RSD's shock shims? I'm not smart enough to figure out where they go
Vostok 7 is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 05:04 PM
  #8377  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,567
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mtbboy
Tc6 uses a narrower bearing with a larger id than the tc6.1.
Tc6 uses a 4mm crush tube as well.

D.
That has no bearing (oops, pun) on the castor blocks.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 05:07 PM
  #8378  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,567
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Vostok 7
Does anyone have pictures/instructions for RSD's shock shims? I'm not smart enough to figure out where they go
The website says they go behind the shock mounts to make the shocks more upright... So between the shock mount and the shock tower, I'd assume.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 07:50 PM
  #8379  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Just got done building my tc6.1wc. The quality/finish of the parts lessened the joy of building this car. The most troubling things for me:

1) the amount of slop in the front suspension between the hub carriers and arms
2) Shock body threads were so bad that one of the shock collars would not thread on without some deburring using a magnifying glass
3) Pistons would "stick" against the shock bodies depending on the piston position.
4) Some chassis countersunk holes were either not deep enough or the screw heads were too thick, causing the chassis to rock left and right on a completely flat surface.
5) Rear gear diff shims either caused the outdrives to bind or be loose.
6) The servo turnbuckle would every so slightly bind on top corner of the servo at about 70% right turn when using a low profile servo (s9550)


Does anybody know where I can find shims that can be used to take out the slop in the front hub carrier/arm?
Johnnytc3 is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 08:26 PM
  #8380  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
mtbboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg. Igloo. Hockey. Beer.
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Drill a small hole in the c hub.
Insert a grub screw.
Be sure to glue the inserts into place.
mtbboy is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 08:40 PM
  #8381  
Tech Master
iTrader: (37)
 
Mr.juarez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,280
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by beyondthepack
ok, I think I'm driving Cristian nuts lol, ok here are some pictures, hopefully this will clear things up



Love the wiring!! The cleanest ive seen

Originally Posted by wtcc
Maybe you or someone else mixed up the numbers?

TC6: slipper spool & ball diff
TC6.1: spool with plastic outdrives & gear diff

I prefer a mix from both: Slipper spool to spare the drive train (saves you blades, outdrives and axles) and a gear diff in the rear (I am just lazy).
Whats best for a big open track? Since I got mine new a year ago its got ball diffs front and back. What would the front slipper gain me? Keep in mind I run a gt3 silver can tc class not 17.5
Mr.juarez is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 09:16 PM
  #8382  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
KC10Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 300
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have a slight problem. Does anybody know of an alternative method for mounting the top of my shocks? I broke one of my shock bushings at last week's race. I missed the A-main completely as I am apparently the only one in Alaska with the 6.1 WC. I ordered some from A-main Friday night when I got home. I paid extra for priority shipping so they'd be here in time. However, the post office has managed to lose it and I don't think it's going to be here for a couple more days. The only hobby shop within 2,000 miles of here does not have any in stock either. Does anybody have a solution so that I can race tomorrow night? Will mounts from a TC5 or TC4 work? I am going to go by the hobby shop tomorrow and see if they have anything that will work. Thoughts?

KC10Chief is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 10:25 PM
  #8383  
Tech Master
iTrader: (37)
 
Mr.juarez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,280
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Im looking at the tc3 shock mounts and they look like they may work. The tc3 uses one single long screw and a nut rather than 2 like tc6. Its also plastic but as long as it works. Try some of the losi scte or 22. I used some kyosho spares I had the other day when I mounted them upside down.
Mr.juarez is offline  
Old 12-21-2012, 02:57 AM
  #8384  
RCW
Tech Regular
iTrader: (29)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pataskala, Ohio
Posts: 272
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KC10Chief
I have a slight problem. Does anybody know of an alternative method for mounting the top of my shocks? I broke one of my shock bushings at last week's race. I missed the A-main completely as I am apparently the only one in Alaska with the 6.1 WC. I ordered some from A-main Friday night when I got home. I paid extra for priority shipping so they'd be here in time. However, the post office has managed to lose it and I don't think it's going to be here for a couple more days. The only hobby shop within 2,000 miles of here does not have any in stock either. Does anybody have a solution so that I can race tomorrow night? Will mounts from a TC5 or TC4 work? I am going to go by the hobby shop tomorrow and see if they have anything that will work. Thoughts?

You might try one from a B4.1.
RCW is offline  
Old 12-21-2012, 06:10 AM
  #8385  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,031
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mr.juarez
Whats best for a big open track? Since I got mine new a year ago its got ball diffs front and back. What would the front slipper gain me? Keep in mind I run a gt3 silver can tc class not 17.5
The slipper will be the same to drive in comparison to the spool. It will only save you money when hitting something. On an wide open track with at least medium traction the spool will be the faster solution. This where I drive: http://www.amsc-augsburg.de/die-renn...erie/index.php

In the end it really depends on track layout and traction if a gear diff with oil or a spool is faster. If you don't have to break before taking a corner, I would also take a one way into the calculation...
wtcc is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.