Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC6 Thread >

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Like Tree20Likes

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Old 09-11-2012, 02:48 AM
  #7396  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Default

Originally Posted by evo8guy
I am thinking about getting back into onroad and I am leaning towards the tc6.1. Are there any parts I should order for spares? what are the weak spots on the car? or anything you might recommend for upgrades? any help would be great.
After 4 national races here in Portugal and many practice days I have only broken 2 C-Hub's, replaced some front outdrives and replaced a knuckle because I stripped the threads on it. Besides that, I've gone trough a pair of belts and some blades, so this is basically what I would consider having at hand, maybe add some spare bearings in case you loose them or they seize when you break the knuckles.

As for upgrades, the RSD shock bladders are a must. They make the whole shock building process a lot easier. I can get zero rebound with ease, these are a great improvement over stock. I would also give their shock pistons a try. Also their springs are great match for the car. Although the car performs great out of the box, these are great tuning options that should get you going around the track easier.

Last edited by z3zinho; 09-11-2012 at 02:48 PM.
z3zinho is offline  
Old 09-11-2012, 09:52 AM
  #7397  
Company Representative
iTrader: (25)
 
ammdrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,956
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Got a couple races on the 6.1 and am really liking the higher roll centers.. New lid in from Mike is really pretty cool also.
Attached Thumbnails Team Associated TC6 Thread-photo.jpg  
ammdrew is offline  
Old 09-11-2012, 06:06 PM
  #7398  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
G4ZZ4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Australia, VIC
Posts: 577
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default LRP fan mount

Hi guys thought i'd share this I'm not too sure if it works yet I haven't tested it but at least I get to use the heatsink
Attached Thumbnails Team Associated TC6 Thread-lrp-fan.jpg  
G4ZZ4 is offline  
Old 09-12-2012, 09:03 AM
  #7399  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 340
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ammdrew
Got a couple races on the 6.1 and am really liking the higher roll centers.. New lid in from Mike is really pretty cool also.
Ammdrew, you mind sharing what your setup was and what you changed to? Thanks
MattDub is offline  
Old 09-12-2012, 09:08 AM
  #7400  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 410
Default

has anyone tried the higher roll center setup on carpet yet?

read that keven h was going to do that, any reports on how it worked out?
Bappe is offline  
Old 09-12-2012, 11:57 AM
  #7401  
Tech Master
iTrader: (27)
 
bertottius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Barrington, NJ
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

when you say "higher roll center" do you mean mounting the camber links higher on the shock towers?
bertottius is offline  
Old 09-12-2012, 11:57 AM
  #7402  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
AM03GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,046
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by G4ZZ4
Hi guys thought i'd share this I'm not too sure if it works yet I haven't tested it but at least I get to use the heatsink
This works. I was doing this for a while using the short motor mount front bracket...
AM03GT is offline  
Old 09-12-2012, 01:32 PM
  #7403  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
G4ZZ4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Australia, VIC
Posts: 577
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AM03GT
This works. I was doing this for a while using the short motor mount front bracket...
Good stuff
G4ZZ4 is offline  
Old 09-12-2012, 10:53 PM
  #7404  
Company Representative
iTrader: (25)
 
ammdrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,956
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

sure
http://www.rctech.net/forum/attachme...drewmowery.jpg
ammdrew is offline  
Old 09-13-2012, 05:15 AM
  #7405  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Default Modified Chassis

I used to race on road glow touring back in the mid 90's but got out of it and am in the process of getting back in and running electric touring; I have decided on the TC6.

Like my old car I had, I wound up spending close to $1,000 extra on after market parts and hop ups in order to compete at local tracks here in Houston.

I have noticed that there are some after market chassis, shock mods, body stiffeners, etc that one can buy to increase performance.

Question: if I plain to get back into racing like in the past, are these extra parts advisable?
Davinci7_gis is offline  
Old 09-13-2012, 08:12 AM
  #7406  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 3,165
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

A stock TC6 or 6.1 will be plenty competitive here in Houston out of the box. The only musts that I would advise for is a spring set, a fan for your motor and some RSD bladders. Other items are tuning options but not a total must have.

If you need some help with your TC6 and want to see your options, see me at M&m tonight or possibly Mike's this weekend. I will be more that glad to help.
CristianTabush is offline  
Old 09-13-2012, 11:33 AM
  #7407  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (120)
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,702
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys when switching to the vertical camber links do i need a longer turnbuckle? If so what length do i need. thanks
Potoczak is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 02:44 PM
  #7408  
Tech Apprentice
 
Fjeld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 55
Default

Did try the high diff roll center to day. It did realy calm the car down did realy like it
Fjeld is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 02:55 PM
  #7409  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,550
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Potoczak
Hey guys when switching to the vertical camber links do i need a longer turnbuckle? If so what length do i need. thanks
Not needed just use the standard ones,

Beth.
evochick is offline  
Old 09-14-2012, 03:04 PM
  #7410  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (14)
 
R Doyel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tehachapi, Ca
Posts: 488
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Potoczak
Hey guys when switching to the vertical camber links do i need a longer turnbuckle? If so what length do i need. thanks
If you use the V3 position it extends the link pretty far. I put longer links on mine just to be safe. That way you don't run the risk of them stripping themselves out during an impact.
R Doyel is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.