Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC6 Thread >

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Like Tree20Likes

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Reply

Old 06-12-2012, 06:57 PM
  #6931  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
Chaz955i's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,087
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nitrous36 View Post
I know the tape goes over the battery. Im talking about using velcro under the battery.
Why, a proper tape job is reusable and doesn't raise the center of gravity?
Chaz955i is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 07:26 PM
  #6932  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (158)
 
LasagnaCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hickory Hills, IL
Posts: 2,186
Trader Rating: 158 (100%+)
Smile

Originally Posted by nitrous36 View Post
How do some of you guys mount your batteries in the chassis. I thought about using velcro between the batt and chassis instead of tape. That would be cheaper/reusable and easier to mount or remove the battery between charges. But is or would that be legal for racing? I dont know if tracks would allow it.

My other concern is that the velcro may raise the battery slightly higher, effecting handling and weight distribution.
Look at the Puretech straps... much better option than most of the standard velcro straps. The part of the strap that goes under the pack is super thin, the thicker velcro part is on top. You can very easily snug the pack down with this strap without going Hercules tight.

http://www.puretechproducts.com/ptprod_straps.htm

Pic at the bottom shows how thin these straps are.. good stuff.
LasagnaCat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 07:32 PM
  #6933  
Regional Moderator
 
nitrous36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 1,045
Default

Originally Posted by Chaz955i View Post
Why, a proper tape job is reusable and doesn't raise the center of gravity?
Good point.

Originally Posted by LasagnaCat View Post
Look at the Puretech straps... much better option than most of the standard velcro straps. The part of the strap that goes under the pack is super thin, the thicker velcro part is on top. You can very easily snug the pack down with this strap without going Hercules tight.

http://www.puretechproducts.com/ptprod_straps.htm

Pic at the bottom shows how thin these straps are.. good stuff.
Thanks. Ill have to check those out.
nitrous36 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 07:35 PM
  #6934  
Tech Elite
 
vito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: roseburg or
Posts: 3,936
Default

need a good motor and esc set up that will run 70 mph
vito is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 07:45 PM
  #6935  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (34)
 
rbcts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LasagnaCat View Post
Look at the Puretech straps... much better option than most of the standard velcro straps. The part of the strap that goes under the pack is super thin, the thicker velcro part is on top. You can very easily snug the pack down with this strap without going Hercules tight.

http://www.puretechproducts.com/ptprod_straps.htm

Pic at the bottom shows how thin these straps are.. good stuff.
Good stuff. For anyone using these, what is the correct size strap for this car?

Also the top racing strap doesn't go under the battery. Just FYI.
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...nt-Strap-Black

Last edited by rbcts; 06-12-2012 at 07:56 PM.
rbcts is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 08:02 PM
  #6936  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (158)
 
LasagnaCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hickory Hills, IL
Posts: 2,186
Trader Rating: 158 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rbcts View Post
Good stuff. For anyone using these, what is the correct size strap for this car?

Also the top racing strap doesn't go under the battery. Just FYI.
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...nt-Strap-Black
The TOP strap isn't as nice. It's thicker, much less flexible, has to be pulled tighter, and is much more likely to cause tweak. The Puretech strap running under the battery is partly why you can get away with running it a bit looser... the strap is attached to itself, you can slide it back and forth with the battery in place. Since the Top style straps are attached to (and pulling against) the stock battery mounts - that's where the tweak can appear, you're pulling inward from the two end points.
LasagnaCat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 08:20 PM
  #6937  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (158)
 
LasagnaCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hickory Hills, IL
Posts: 2,186
Trader Rating: 158 (100%+)
Default

The bottom part of the Puretech strap is roughly .4mm thick... it's really not an issue or a worry running under the pack. You really can't tell it's running under the pack when it's in the car. The 5 inch strap is the right one, and you get a pair for the price. For any other old-timers, yes.. same Puretech that made the straps you may have run on your rc10/jrx2/etc. once upon a time.
Attached Thumbnails Team Associated TC6 Thread-strap.jpg  
LasagnaCat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 08:29 PM
  #6938  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (34)
 
rbcts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LasagnaCat View Post
The bottom part of the Puretech strap is roughly .4mm thick... it's really not an issue or a worry running under the pack. You really can't tell it's running under the pack when it's in the car. The 5 inch strap is the right one, and you get a pair for the price. For any other old-timers, yes.. same Puretech that made the straps you may have run on your rc10/jrx2/etc. once upon a time.
Wow. Nice pic. I have to say it is much thinner than the top racing strap. Thanks for the info
rbcts is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 11:39 PM
  #6939  
Tech Master
iTrader: (27)
 
racer x 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: im 4rm a far away place called 1st
Posts: 1,847
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

I really hope im not the first to discover this but the tc6.1 castor blocks do not fit straight on the tc6 without any grinding. Im a bit lost on that but nothing the dremel cant handle once charged should finally have my newly acquired tc6 in photographable shape tomorrow night.
racer x 1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 02:27 AM
  #6940  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Big Features's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Currituck, North Carolina
Posts: 1,890
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by racer x 1 View Post
I really hope im not the first to discover this but the tc6.1 castor blocks do not fit straight on the tc6 without any grinding. Im a bit lost on that but nothing the dremel cant handle once charged should finally have my newly acquired tc6 in photographable shape tomorrow night.
First hears for me, other then a little wiggle (easily fixed with a set screw) I e haven't seen or heard about this issue. Are the caster block inserts pressed in all the way? This may be the case.
Big Features is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 03:53 AM
  #6941  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
Chaz955i's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,087
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by racer x 1 View Post
I really hope im not the first to discover this but the tc6.1 castor blocks do not fit straight on the tc6 without any grinding. Im a bit lost on that but nothing the dremel cant handle once charged should finally have my newly acquired tc6 in photographable shape tomorrow night.
If I remember correctly the 6.1 arms are different than the 6 arms and have a wider opening.
Chaz955i is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 07:01 AM
  #6942  
Tech Master
iTrader: (27)
 
racer x 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: im 4rm a far away place called 1st
Posts: 1,847
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chaz955i View Post
If I remember correctly the 6.1 arms are different than the 6 arms and have a wider opening.

Ha that they do but its ok i took care of the situation I just wish I knew and I would have bought .1 arms while i was at the hobby store.
racer x 1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 08:29 AM
  #6943  
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,988
Default Tape

This is how most of the team guys run their tape. It does not go under the battery.
Attached Thumbnails Team Associated TC6 Thread-tape-tc6.jpg  
Rick Hohwart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:37 AM
  #6944  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: kansas
Posts: 442
Trader Rating: 19 (85%+)
Default

Originally Posted by WD40 View Post
Put a bead of glue around the outside edge of the tires. It helps....everyone is doing it at the track I raced at this past weekend.
A bead of glue on the sidewall of the tire? The inside or outside or both? And how thick of a bead ?
AEcarpetracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 10:10 AM
  #6945  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
WD40's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 402
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AEcarpetracer View Post
A bead of glue on the sidewall of the tire? The inside or outside or both? And how thick of a bead ?
The outside only. It makes sense if you think about it. You are wanting to harden the outside of the tires so the car doesn't roll. The thickness is not the important thing....it's just a matter of making the outside hard enough for the car not to roll. When I did mine, I put a bead around it....then wiped it smooth to make a smooth hard surface on the outside of the tire. And my traction rolling went away for the most part (unless I was being super super aggressive). If that doesn't make sense then let me know and I'll try to get a picture up for ya.
WD40 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service