Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC6 Thread >

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Like Tree20Likes

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Reply

Old 04-25-2012, 07:33 PM
  #6661  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=jorgesimes;10652314]I could elaborate here for 10 pages, but in the end it's all on practice. So there's nothing like you try it.

Thank you for your answer. Stock position is 7B and 2B which is where I am at now. I shall try the shorter steering link position A then. From p.26 its a big jump in Ackerman angle right?
zzztech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 05:49 AM
  #6662  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 227
Default

Originally Posted by jorgesimes View Post
I could elaborate here for 10 pages, but in the end it's all on practice. So there's nothing like you try it.



it's all on page 26 of the manual of the TC6.1 and on page 23 of the TC6, if you need more help say it.
Thanks buddy, I found it, I will go thru it and will ask if I've question again, thanks
icefish is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:23 AM
  #6663  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: colorado springs, co
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Hello,
I just got a TC6.1 ft and will be racing it indoors on carpet in the 17.5 blinky class.
I saw that Amain is selling an associated set of ceramic bearings for the TC6. Are these the same bearings that are in the factory team tc6.1?

If not, then
Will the car be any faster if I switch to ceramic bearings?
Are there any other advantages to the ceramic bearings other than they turn easier?
In your opinion, is the $70 cost worth it?
what is better for indoor carpet, metal sealed or rubber sealed bearings?


thanks
rc_speed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:40 AM
  #6664  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 365
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rc_speed View Post
Hello,
I just got a TC6.1 ft and will be racing it indoors on carpet in the 17.5 blinky class.
I saw that Amain is selling an associated set of ceramic bearings for the TC6. Are these the same bearings that are in the factory team tc6.1?

If not, then
Will the car be any faster if I switch to ceramic bearings?
Are there any other advantages to the ceramic bearings other than they turn easier?
In your opinion, is the $70 cost worth it?
what is better for indoor carpet, metal sealed or rubber sealed bearings?


thanks
No, the 6.1 does not come with ceramic bearings. In my opinion, the cost of ceramic bearings is not worth it. Its hard to notice any performance difference at all. Ceramics are also brittle, meaning that with a good board hit they are capable of breaking the bearings inside and rendering them useless. I use standard steel bearing from Avid (cost a buck a piece) and they work great. I use metal shielded on carpet, and rubber sealed on outdoor tracks.

Hope this helps.
Jonesy112 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 11:06 AM
  #6665  
Tech Regular
 
ghiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 315
Default Zeppin chassis

Ok, i've tried the Zeppin chassis i've been asking about few pages back.
It actually works better than the stock. I've always had a traction problem on the rear on a certain spot of the track i'm often going to. The problem doesn't exist anymore, it seams like it have more flex so the rear end is less rigid and the car turns way better than before. I love the battery tray solution, it requires a coupple of spacers ( not included while in the instruction it's clearly explained that with the new 6000mAh batt's it is required to add few) but these are missing in the package. The chassisi is also few millimeters narrower, this solution is better for asphalt because it avoid the tipical side scratches and eventual fiber delamination of the chassis. There is a major flaw though: the steering linkage cannot be placed on the rear position, it touches the battery causing the chassis to bind, there's no way to avoid it. I've tried to fix this eliminating the center plastic piece that holds the battery in position, using instead a coupple of plastic spacers but this allow the battery to slide further inside the chassis causing the belt to rub on the battery.
Added some spacers to the euter "wings" of the battery tray to slide the battery further out, but the car on the Hudy balancing tool resulted uneven in balance, so i had to come back to the solution of placing the battery in the original position with the stock battery spacer and use the steering linkage in the forward position
That isn't so bad for me, i love to have ton's of steering and the forward position seems to suits better for my driving style. It sucks not to have the choice offered from the original layout though.

I'm positive about triyng also the upcoming Exotek's chassis. Can't wait to put my hands on it.
ghiro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 11:14 AM
  #6666  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Norridge IL
Posts: 77
Default

What about the new rsd chassis comming out its 14 mm narrower and will have dual bellcrank steering from the 417
Little John is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 12:00 PM
  #6667  
Tech Fanatic
 
Geberit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 770
Default

Originally Posted by Little John View Post
What about the new rsd chassis comming out its 14 mm narrower and will have dual bellcrank steering from the 417
I pre-ordered the RSD6 chassis and can't wait to get it. If you look at the spy photo of the exotek chassis you can see there is no plastic part for steering this means they will also have a dual ballcrank steering and some other stuff, look how many screws there are in front of the chassis and you can see a Yokomo or Tamiya like A-arm holder so the bulkheads should be different too
Geberit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 09:43 AM
  #6668  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: nor-cal
Posts: 29
Default

Hello, what is the fix for removing the slop in the springs. When checking droop the spring isn't putting pressure against the retainer. No other TC I've ever had has had this issue. Thanks
discodom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 02:30 PM
  #6669  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
Chaz955i's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,087
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by discodom View Post
Hello, what is the fix for removing the slop in the springs. When checking droop the spring isn't putting pressure against the retainer. No other TC I've ever had has had this issue. Thanks
Stock springs?

What is your shock length end to end?

When building my car there was no slop in the springs when using kit droop settings.
Chaz955i is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 04:11 PM
  #6670  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: nor-cal
Posts: 29
Default

Silver front. Green rear. 64.5 length. I'll check to see if I can shorten it up. Running in the 3b holes also.
discodom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 05:24 AM
  #6671  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (158)
 
LasagnaCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hickory Hills, IL
Posts: 2,186
Trader Rating: 158 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by discodom View Post
Hello, what is the fix for removing the slop in the springs. When checking droop the spring isn't putting pressure against the retainer. No other TC I've ever had has had this issue. Thanks
How are you checking droop? If you're using the stock gauge, I was always under the impression that you wanted the shocks unmounted anyway while checking droop. Being the lazy everything assembled/up-travel checking person I am.. could be wrong with that.
LasagnaCat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 06:07 AM
  #6672  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: nor-cal
Posts: 29
Default

I check droop like the instructions say. Shock length is fine for a 5mm droop also. My tc6.1 isn't the only 1like this at my track. When I pick my car off the table I can move the springs up and down. I'm going to try tc6 arms and see if it's the arm location. Rick, any thoughts on this. Dominic Favorito. Thanks
discodom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 01:32 PM
  #6673  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 179
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Questions?? 4PL

I have a couple FHSS receivers I've been using from my 3PL and heard the
4PL is compatible with these recievers and has some extra features I want to use since I race touring cars.

The only thing keeping me from getting the 4PL is this issue I hear with the steering stops breaking.

Does anyone have a picture of these steering stops inside the controller they mind to share??

Are these stops something I can reinforce to make them stronger or is there a way to replace them if they do break??
ChampRC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 02:00 PM
  #6674  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (29)
 
Wattsup23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 977
Trader Rating: 29 (97%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LasagnaCat View Post
How are you checking droop? If you're using the stock gauge, I was always under the impression that you wanted the shocks unmounted anyway while checking droop. Being the lazy everything assembled/up-travel checking person I am.. could be wrong with that.
With Droop you leave you shocks attached, you are probably thinking of measuring the downstops on the car when is where you detach the shocks.

Originally Posted by ChampRC View Post
I have a couple FHSS receivers I've been using from my 3PL and heard the
4PL is compatible with these recievers and has some extra features I want to use since I race touring cars.

The only thing keeping me from getting the 4PL is this issue I hear with the steering stops breaking.

Does anyone have a picture of these steering stops inside the controller they mind to share??

Are these stops something I can reinforce to make them stronger or is there a way to replace them if they do break??
I have the 4PL and haven't had any issues with it to date. I wouldn't worry about that problem. I absolutely love the radio and it is a great investment!
Wattsup23 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 02:28 PM
  #6675  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (158)
 
LasagnaCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hickory Hills, IL
Posts: 2,186
Trader Rating: 158 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wattsup23 View Post
With Droop you leave you shocks attached, you are probably thinking of measuring the downstops on the car when is where you detach the shocks.
From the Olly Jeffries TC6 build tips article....

http://www.petitrc.com/reglages/asso...ips/index.html

"Before fitting the shocks you need to set droop. Make sure the droop is set before fitting the shocks. The shocks can put pressure on the suspension arm, which then makes it difficult to set the droop accurately. I always set droop without shocks fitted."

I know how I set everything on my own rides, so on some level I probably shouldn't be in this discussion. Every time the droop/uptravel/downstops discussion starts it seems like nobody can agree upon what seems like varying shades of phrasing for adjusting the same thing(?)

LasagnaCat is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service