Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC6 Thread >

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Like Tree20Likes

Team Associated TC6 Thread

Old 04-15-2012, 08:48 AM
  #6571  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (60)
 
limiteded1le's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 708
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hairy
thanks, but the bushings don't pass the c-hub enough to keep the ball stud flang and B/H crew from hitting the hub.
Did you ever think to maybe try a new set of bushings or C-Hubs? I know this is a crazy statement but maybe the C-hub or bushing is flawed from the factory. Bad parts do happen in kits. I would get new parts first before u toss the car away or say Associated has no customer service. I've dealt with Don many times and he has always been helpful in resolving whatever issue I've brought to him.
limiteded1le is offline  
Old 04-15-2012, 08:51 AM
  #6572  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 12
Default

I've been thinking of getting either the TC6 or TC6.1, only problem is, there is no part support for it here.

Can I use any Tamiya/Xray suspension parts on this? Those parts are easy to get here.

Please help
abdul basit is offline  
Old 04-15-2012, 07:51 PM
  #6573  
Tech Master
iTrader: (14)
 
kylehirano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,074
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kensei
You don't have to think you'll be better off.
I'm sure you are better off.
Been there, done that.
Tossed the blue American aside.
Most probably going to buy me a T3'12.
I agree, AE quality isn't the same as other kits, never has been. Although price is more acceptable.
kylehirano is offline  
Old 04-15-2012, 08:20 PM
  #6574  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (20)
 
jirish617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: chi south subs
Posts: 830
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by StickyFingaz
The TC5 was not competitive even a few years ago. Save yourself the headache and find a used TC6 roller... hands down a much improved car, and able to compete with the Tamiyas and XRays of today. I always felt the TC5 felt strange on asphalt, and never tracked straight. The top deck was akward and cumbersome, the shocks were marginal at best. Everything in the TC6 is laid out lower and closer to the center... makes for noticeable handling on track.

Only my opinion.
Originally Posted by Losiho
I only just upgraded racing my TC6 from my TC5. As people have said, everything is much improved on the TC6, from the steering assembly, shocks, chassis, bulkheads, the option of running gear diffs, etc etc.

Having said that, I still had my TC5 running fantastic on medium grip ashphalt (3 PBs in one club meeting before I "retired" it).

Given the choice, I would definitely look at a TC6 over the TC5.
thanks for the help guys! now i just gotta try to find a decent used one out there
jirish617 is offline  
Old 04-16-2012, 05:52 AM
  #6575  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by limiteded1le
Did you ever think to maybe try a new set of bushings or C-Hubs? I know this is a crazy statement but maybe the C-hub or bushing is flawed from the factory. Bad parts do happen in kits. I would get new parts first before u toss the car away or say Associated has no customer service. I've dealt with Don many times and he has always been helpful in resolving whatever issue I've brought to him.
I fixed the problem I put tc3 short bushings ( measured to be 4.20mm) in the hubs and had to use 440 ball studs because the 6.1 studs would not go through the bushings. WAY TO GO ASSOCIATED Great new economy we have going here...sell it, to hell with quality, commitment and customers!!!!!
hairy is offline  
Old 04-16-2012, 06:47 PM
  #6576  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (14)
 
R Doyel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tehachapi, Ca
Posts: 488
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CristianTabush
We will have some T6 7075 Hard Anodized aluminum spool cups early next week, barring any out of the ordinary hold ups.
Are they ready?
R Doyel is offline  
Old 04-16-2012, 07:31 PM
  #6577  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Big Features's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Currituck, North Carolina
Posts: 1,893
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hairy
I fixed the problem I put tc3 short bushings ( measured to be 4.20mm) in the hubs and had to use 440 ball studs because the 6.1 studs would not go through the bushings. WAY TO GO ASSOCIATED Great new economy we have going here...sell it, to hell with quality, commitment and customers!!!!!
Not sure why you are having so many issues. Yes, the hubs are a tight fit. They work fine (as race results show). My steering is a bit tight, but it doesn't hamper performance of the car either. Who have you talked to at AE to resolve your problems? If you are still having issues, PM me directly and I'll try my best to help. I don't know of any manufacture that has a perfect kit, and I've driven for four of them.

Mike
Big Features is offline  
Old 04-16-2012, 08:14 PM
  #6578  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (49)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 938
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

What does moving the steering rack in/out do other than change mechanical throw?

I'm assuming it will change the ackerman as well.
aradaiel is offline  
Old 04-16-2012, 08:25 PM
  #6579  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 3,165
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by R Doyel
Are they ready?
they should arrive tomorrow or Wednesday
CristianTabush is offline  
Old 04-16-2012, 10:43 PM
  #6580  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
RacerX20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 281
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Yo peeps.
Just picked up a used TC5 and it's slow as hell on 2s with a ballistic 17.5t and a 5.3 fdr. Like 22mph maxed out.

I'm not racing, just want something fast. So can I just buy like a 8.5t stator and mod the 17.5 to get it up to 5000kv from 2200kv?

Thanks
RacerX20 is offline  
Old 04-16-2012, 11:29 PM
  #6581  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gilroy, Ca.
Posts: 2,001
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RacerX20
Yo peeps.
Just picked up a used TC5 and it's slow as hell on 2s with a ballistic 17.5t and a 5.3 fdr. Like 22mph maxed out.

I'm not racing, just want something fast. So can I just buy like a 8.5t stator and mod the 17.5 to get it up to 5000kv from 2200kv?

Thanks
Yup, that's why Novak has replaceable stators. As long as your ESC can handle the lower turn motor, give it a go. You will need to change your gearing though.
If your ESC has boost capabilities, you can go even faster.
YoDog is offline  
Old 04-16-2012, 11:33 PM
  #6582  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
RacerX20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 281
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I've got the older GTB ESC (purple heatsink), you think it has boost? I'm totally new to Novak ESCs and I'm still tying to figure out all it's features. I figure I should pickup a few pinions to bring the fdr up a little higher. 17.5 to 8.5 is quite a jump haha.
RacerX20 is offline  
Old 04-16-2012, 11:38 PM
  #6583  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (14)
 
R Doyel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tehachapi, Ca
Posts: 488
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RacerX20
I've got the older GTB ESC (purple heatsink), you think it has boost? I'm totally new to Novak ESCs and I'm still tying to figure out all it's features. I figure I should pickup a few pinions to bring the fdr up a little higher. 17.5 to 8.5 is quite a jump haha.
GTBs don't have any timing adjustments. Your 8.5 should keep you busy, coming from a 17.5
R Doyel is offline  
Old 04-16-2012, 11:40 PM
  #6584  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Losiho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 646
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RacerX20
I've got the older GTB ESC (purple heatsink), you think it has boost?
All generations of Novak GTBs, first gen or the current GTB2, do not have any sort of boost or turbo mode.
Losiho is offline  
Old 04-16-2012, 11:40 PM
  #6585  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
RacerX20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 281
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Alright cool. Thanks mate!
Should be fun ahaha!
RacerX20 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.