Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC6 Thread > Team Associated TC6 Thread
Like Tree20Likes

Team Associated TC6 Thread


Old 03-01-2012, 05:41 PM
  #6001  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Curacao, Netherlands Antilles
Posts: 2
Default

Hey guys,

My first time posting. Just bought an TC6.1. I have 2 questions.
1. What is the hop ups you guys recommend for this kit? will be running 8.5T brushless.
2. I realized there is not allot of spur gears available for the TC6.1 out there. So which brand will fit for the TC6.1?

Thanks for the help!!
hycinth is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 05:58 PM
  #6002  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
Infinite 12th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Posts: 877
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hycinth View Post
Hey guys,

My first time posting. Just bought an TC6.1. I have 2 questions.
1. What is the hop ups you guys recommend for this kit? will be running 8.5T brushless.
2. I realized there is not allot of spur gears available for the TC6.1 out there. So which brand will fit for the TC6.1?

Thanks for the help!!
I use kimbrough gears. In stock I use 96

This is the most common hop up I've seen
Infinite 12th is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 08:34 PM
  #6003  
Tech Master
 
JustWill75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: DOUGLASVILLE GA.
Posts: 1,793
Default

As of right now I'm driving a tc6 that I'm upgrading to a 6.1. So what 6.1 parts will I need to use the yokomo ecs shaft from Spec R
JustWill75 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 09:02 PM
  #6004  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (58)
 
nmdesertracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Mexico=BFE
Posts: 731
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Robinson racing product's spur gears fit the 6.1
nmdesertracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 05:26 AM
  #6005  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 776
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default My tc6.1



I must work on wires but now is OK.

Team Associated TC6 Thread-421707_305228199538646_100001544063411_788219_879119028_n.jpg
Team Associated TC6 Thread-426728_305228022871997_100001544063411_788218_1443562756_n.jpg

1346g ready on RIDE ets tires.

:-)
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 07:38 AM
  #6006  
Tech Regular
 
durtbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: planet X in a distant galaxy
Posts: 399
Default

Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post


I must work on wires but now is OK.

Attachment 887295
Attachment 887296

1346g ready on RIDE ets tires.

:-)
Are you running the top deck flipped over and button heads? reason?
durtbag is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 08:08 AM
  #6007  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 776
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by durtbag View Post
Are you running the top deck flipped over and button heads? reason?
Hm.

It produce better flex and also do not tweek car when screw is overtighted.

And also after inpact car back usually to flat state

Sorry for my english.
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 08:28 AM
  #6008  
Tech Master
iTrader: (70)
 
burgboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Da 'Burg
Posts: 1,247
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post


I must work on wires but now is OK.

Attachment 887295
Attachment 887296

1346g ready on RIDE ets tires.

:-)
What part numbers are you using for the that steering rack???
Thanks,
Jon
burgboyz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 08:43 AM
  #6009  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 776
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by burgboyz View Post
What part numbers are you using for the that steering rack???
Thanks,
Jon
Hi!

Its just part made from carbon like letter L.
Connected to this 2 holes just after a-arm.

I did one hole for middle there is servo mount blue part.
Servo saver is from monster truck. Trf is too soft.

Link is connected to snap which replace screw on servosaver.

All parts are non destroyed so if want test tc6 servo style I can just remove my mod.

But I prefer it, for me car easy turn into corner and also save space for electronics.

There was some movie on yt. User abrampl

Regards!
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 10:14 AM
  #6010  
The Evicerator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default Spec-R BD5 DCJ's

What hex adapter are you guys using with the spec r yokomo BD5 DCJ's...?
Steve Weiss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 10:17 AM
  #6011  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
CristianTabush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,915
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Yokomo's will probably be your best bet.
CristianTabush is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 10:21 AM
  #6012  
The Evicerator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Originally Posted by CristianTabush View Post
Yokomo's will probably be your best bet.
haha I figured but I thought I would ask just in case
Steve Weiss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 10:31 AM
  #6013  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (15)
 
masterhit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 477
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Steve Weiss View Post
What hex adapter are you guys using with the spec r yokomo BD5 DCJ's...?
I used Hotbodies thin PN 72044. It gives you a few more options for shimming at the hex that way. IIRC a 1mm shim puts you at stock hex width.

It is close at the C-hub but I did not have to grind once shimmed under the hex pin.

I spent last practice abusing them with a boosted 5.5 on carpet and no issues.

Mike Slaughter
masterhit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 10:42 AM
  #6014  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Hi

How do you guys cut the top deck?


Any pictures pls!?
zzztech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 11:43 AM
  #6015  
Tech Adept
 
Redwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 188
Default

Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
Tamiya sells all sorts of shims of various sizes. I think those are 4mm pins (you'll need to measure to verify). Here is an example:

http://www.rcmart.com/rc-washer-tami...m-p-18082.html
Originally Posted by Big Features View Post
Neal, to remove outer hinge pin slop drill a hole in the bottom of the hub and use a set screw to secure it.

For the inner pins, use 12R5 bulkhead shims for width (6.1 offset blocks help too) and ballstud washers for wheelbase.

This is what me and the majority of the AE team drivers use with great results. Hope this helps.

Mike
Originally Posted by grippgoat View Post
To remove slop between the rear hub and hingepin, do the previously-mentioned drill + setscrew, or I've found that dribbling a very small amount of CA down the holes in the insert makes it grab the hinge pin. Do a small amount at a time. You may be able to put the pin through and back out very quickly before the glue sets, to make sure it won't be too tight. But you definitely want to let it dry before you do final assembly, or else you might not get it apart again. With either approach, you may have to back off the hinge pin retaining screw a hair to free up the pin in the arm and avoid binding.

If you still have forward/backward slop, your options are thin 3mm ID shims (Tamiya makes 'em, speedtech sells 'em, you can also I think get Atomic from HKS hobby or other places). Or, someone said you can loosely place the inserts into the hub, then install the hub into the arm to get them pushed in just enough, then glue them.

-Mike
Thanks for the help guys, I take it then that it is common to have the hubs rock a little in the wishbones? I didn't think it was so bad with the old parts but maybe I never noticed.

At first I thought it was because I had not glued the caster inserts into the C-Hub but that didnt help. I think the hole is just slightly too big for the shaft so the set screw or the glue option should work.

I am confident if I try the glue option I will mess it up, so I will try the set screw if I can find some, though all TC6.1 arms, hubs etc. seem to be out of stock here so maybe I will wait until I have a backup.

Thanks for the replies though, appreciated.

Regards,

Neal
Redwood is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service