Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
KO PROPO VFS-2000J vs Keyence ZERO series >

KO PROPO VFS-2000J vs Keyence ZERO series

KO PROPO VFS-2000J vs Keyence ZERO series

Old 05-27-2004, 03:56 AM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 35
KO PROPO VFS-2000J vs Keyence ZERO series

I am planning to buy an ESC that can be used either for stock or mod motor.
What do you think is better KO PROPO VFS-2000J or Keyence ZERO series?
hamba is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 08:45 AM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I have both and they're both great speedos...

I like the Zero...you don't need a external program unit to set profiles plus you don't need to run any diode or capacitors.

the VFS is great..but to utilize its full potential you'll need to seperately purchase the handheld setting adapter or PC cable.
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 08:46 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Default

Zero!
True R/C Racing is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 04:06 PM
  #4  
Suspended
iTrader: (16)
 
rcpaintinpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: PALMBAY FLORIDA
Posts: 2,739
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Thumbs up keyence

Originally posted by True R/C Racing
Zero!
0v rocks
rcpaintinpete is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 07:50 PM
  #5  
Team EAM
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,495
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Ive had both...No comparison...KO all the way!!

EA
EAMotorsports is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 08:04 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Default

Originally posted by EAMotorsports
Ive had both...No comparison...KO all the way!!

EA
If I was sponsored by Ko I would say the Same (Im guessing you run for them since in ur sig)
True R/C Racing is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 08:31 PM
  #7  
Team EAM
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,495
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Yes but to be honost I havent even gotten one from them since I was picked up...I had already bought 3 before then. Also I would never run something I didnt truely believe in!! Just because someone offers you a sponsorship doesnt mean you have to take it. If Novak were to offer me a deal I would say no...Simply because I dont care for their current speedo's.

EA
EAMotorsports is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 03:57 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
 
=MisFitz= NuKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,058
Default

huh, I thought I already posted in here, was my post deleted???

anyways, here is what I wrote...

I used to run Tekin, long time ago, then went to the old Cyclones, then LRP, then Kyence, now KO. I actually got a KO when I first signed with them, but couldnt figure out the setup deal thing. So I got rid of it, then bought another Quantum, then got rid of that, and got a Kyence. That was a really nice speedo, it did have a lot of adjustability, as far as freq. settings on throttle AND brake, but compared to the Ko, the freq. setting would be one linier setting all the way across the throttle path (if you understand that), as in set it at 4000khz or hz, which ever, and at a tiny bit of throttle, it would be 4000, half way would be 4000, and full throttle would be 4000, same applies with the brake, and the setting you select for it. The Ko on the other hand, splits the throttlw path into 32 steps, the smallest amount of throttle being step 1, to full being 32. Then they give you 32 different frequency settings for EACH of those 32 steps across the throttle path. Basically you can make a curved path, and path that is straight across (the speedo comes preset to step 17(freq.) all the way across from step 1 to 32 (throttle)). Or what a lot of guys like, is starting off with it real smooth(efficient), then as you get some power down, it makes it more torquey, then as you increase to full, it goes back to way efficient(since as full throttle there is no need for torque). I have heard that the G7 is very smooth, but you do not have near the adjustment on it as you do the ko. Ko will be releasing a new speedo later this year, maybe early next year. As far as details, it will be much smaller, and I don't know anything else. I would buy a Ko, but that is me. If you do, buy the Hand held programmer also (you can buy them in a set package). If you take a laptop to the track, get the computer link and software. If you do get one, let me know, and I can send you some setups over the internet, that you can view with the software (I think you can download the software on their site for free)
=MisFitz= NuKe is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 08:41 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
 
orangbaligila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bali, Indonesia
Posts: 368
Default

I found KO VFS is foolproof for fools like mee never set it up since I bought it from a friend,... and it works just fine,.... the variable frequency system (that's VFS, hehehe) really helps,...

but i'd love to try Keyence when I have some extra money,.. anything more expensive than "stock" competition nitro engines is a serious buy,...
orangbaligila is offline  
Old 05-31-2004, 01:24 AM
  #10  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 35
Default

Thanks Guys.
I decided to buy KO with PC interface. This ESC is great, I can set freq the way I like. Right know, I just need some setup to make this work on limit. Any setup would be appreciated. Tx.
hamba is offline  
Old 05-31-2004, 12:59 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
 
=MisFitz= NuKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,058
Default

what are you running, mod or stock, or 19 turn. I can not post right now, I am off to the movies, but I can help you out with set-ups for different motors, especially low-turn mods.
=MisFitz= NuKe is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 01:21 AM
  #12  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 35
Default

Right now, i'm just playing in stock 23T and planning to play in mod 9T or 8T. Any setup will be appreciated.
Btw, it's hard for me to find Schottky Diode since we only have view hobby shops here. Do you know how many amps and volt do I need to put on small turn motor? So I can find Schottky Diode replacement here. Tx.
hamba is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 12:26 AM
  #13  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,819
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

Originally posted by hamba
Thanks Guys.
I decided to buy KO with PC interface. This ESC is great, I can set freq the way I like. Right know, I just need some setup to make this work on limit. Any setup would be appreciated. Tx.
DANG!!
i thought you were going for the Keyence
JayBee is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 06:40 AM
  #14  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 35
Default

Sorry JayBee, our LHS only sells KO...
hamba is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 01:19 PM
  #15  
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Default

Something you guys may want to consider .......

I bought my VFS 2000j on the 20th april and left it in it's pretty box until last week when i installed it in my new 12th car ( crc Bloody Knife).

It ran prefect for the first 2 runs and then started to cut out on me. To the point i couldn't get it to go for the finial.

Post on the VFS thread for help and get told by "Ko Staff" i probably blow the fet's because i had only used the provided diode in the packaging and not another 4/6 needed for the 12 turn motor i was using ????????? (it mentioned this no were in the instructions)

I then get contacted by KO usa themselves (i presume KoStaff on the forums ?) they say i should contact helgar racing uk for a repairs for items not bought in the USA. I reply says i bought it from Speedtech they reply saying Still won't help as there is only a product defect warranty with there speed controls and its my fault for not using enough diodes ?? Also shipping would be expensive. Oh and best of all i should have done some "homework" on the speedo before use.... i suspose they mean trauling the internet for information they should have included in the manual but forgot so as to stop me blowing it ??
Merciless is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.