Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
stupid question about hudy lathes..... >

stupid question about hudy lathes.....

stupid question about hudy lathes.....

Old 05-26-2004, 08:04 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
Cardboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Flushing,NYC
Posts: 843
Default stupid question about hudy lathes.....

i'm planning on buying a hudy lathe within the next month or so, but i have one question. on hudy's website, every one of their lathes is listed as a "modified" lathe. can they cut stock motors? i don't see mention of stockers anywhere......
Cardboard is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 08:16 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose California
Posts: 1,251
Default

Theres no real reason a lathe can't do one or another....I've done both on my Cobra
The Black Kat is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 08:16 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
BigDogRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,955
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

that's because they are intended for use on motors where you can remove the armatures. Our current stock motors have locked timing and you are allowed to remove the arms. Back int eh day however, you couldn't open a stock motor (ROAR legal) so you had to have a "stock motor" lathe that could cut the comm while still installed in the can. That sucked...
BigDogRacing is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 08:18 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,154
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yea any "Mod" lathe will cut any of the popular stock motors out today.......several years back the stock motors were a non-rebuildable sealed type and you needed a special lathe to cut them.....now there just all mod lathes since the introduction of the rebuildable stock class....
Joe B is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 08:19 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,154
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

whoops same time
Joe B is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 10:08 PM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
evaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: south of metro manila
Posts: 963
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

geeeeesh, so that explains it
evaa is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 12:46 PM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
Cardboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Flushing,NYC
Posts: 843
Default

Originally posted by BigDogRacing
that's because they are intended for use on motors where you can remove the armatures. Our current stock motors have locked timing and you are allowed to remove the arms. Back int eh day however, you couldn't open a stock motor (ROAR legal) so you had to have a "stock motor" lathe that could cut the comm while still installed in the can. That sucked...
ah, thanks.
Cardboard is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.