R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-26-2004, 06:41 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 458
Default setting camber?

Can camber be set if the shocks are not one the car,thanks.
TC3er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 06:52 PM   #2
P2
Tech Fanatic
 
P2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oahu, Hi
Posts: 865
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Not really but anything is possible. Usually the shocks/tires should be on the car. So far I have found that the Hudy or Integy set-up stations sets camber and toe the most accurate.
__________________
TopRacingUSA | Team EPIC | Thunder Power | OD Racing
P2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 06:53 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 458
Default

Yes, I have the tires, but the Xray shocks are so hard build I am having a friend do it so I don't have them, do you think it would be possible to set the camber accurately?
TC3er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 06:58 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Soviet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Littleton, CO - USA
Posts: 1,708
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Build the shocks man...you can do it!!!
__________________
"You don't get hurt racing little cars..."

-Me
Soviet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 06:59 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 458
Default

I tried for about 4 hrs and then gave up.
TC3er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 07:11 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default

i think the shocks are kinda hard too.
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 07:17 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
evaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: south of metro manila
Posts: 963
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

kinda hard is an understatement...

xray shocks are the most difficult to build, wellt thats only me. but really, have any of you had a harder time with other schock's eyelets?

back to the issue, i think its possible, as long as when u install the shocks, you ste the ride height properly, dont think you'll encounter any bumps. however, there is the issue of rebound camber, remember when u set the camber u have to oush the chasis up and down at least twice to get the car to settle before setting the camber, ride height, etc.

hope this helps...
evaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 07:20 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default

i haven't had any harder then Xray's, the Pro 4's were soo easy it was unbelievable.
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 07:35 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
new92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Middleburg (Jax), FL
Posts: 356
Default

I was ready to shoot myself when first building the XRay shocks! I am really dreading a rebuild lol.
new92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 08:30 PM   #10
P2
Tech Fanatic
 
P2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oahu, Hi
Posts: 865
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TC3er
Yes, I have the tires, but the Xray shocks are so hard build I am having a friend do it so I don't have them, do you think it would be possible to set the camber accurately?
The only way you can set your camber w/out the shocks is to put spacers underneath the chassis. Make sure you raise the car to the ride height you will be running 4.5mm, 5mm etc. From there you should be able to set your camber.

As for building the shocks, you need a pair of dykes to hold the shafts when you put the eyelets on. It is very tough and I ruined all my shafts on my first build

Good luck,
P2
__________________
TopRacingUSA | Team EPIC | Thunder Power | OD Racing
P2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 08:33 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Send a message via AIM to True R/C Racing
Default Re: setting camber?

Quote:
Originally posted by TC3er
Can camber be set if the shocks are not one the car,thanks.
Don't be impatient Man. cAmber takes a few Sec/Min to set. If you set Camber w/o the shocks It might not be 100% accurate and will make you do it twice.
True R/C Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 08:53 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
Soviet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Littleton, CO - USA
Posts: 1,708
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Whats so hard about Xray shocks??? screwing the eyelet onto the shaft???

If thats the case...cut a thin strip of leather about 1/2 inch thick and fold it over the shaft...then grip the shaft with a BIGASS pair of pliers. Long pliers if possible because that way you'll have alot of leverage to really clamp down on the shafts. The leather strip will protect the shaft quite well...much better than any plastic, metal or fabric.
__________________
"You don't get hurt racing little cars..."

-Me
Soviet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 11:13 PM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
evaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: south of metro manila
Posts: 963
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by new92
I was ready to shoot myself when first building the XRay shocks! I am really dreading a rebuild lol.
i thought i was alone (you know the ready to shoot myself thingy)

worse about my xray shocks, when everything was instaled in the car, i saw four little washers that resembled the ones that go between the e-clip and the adjustable pistons and now, my xray is running without those washers in the shocks. i'll just wait for my next rebuild before i reinstall them
evaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 11:43 PM   #14
Tech Addict
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

setting the car without its shocks on might be abit inaccurate as the tires are on its own weight only plus without deformation. wheras if u had the shocks on part of the chassis weight would be on it aswell where the tires would deform abit.

lets say u space the car up 5mm without shocks and set camber, then when youre shocks are on, youre tires deform and u crank down the springs to make it 5mm again - thats when there would be abit of camber change, but i dont think itll be much.

i hope this helps and correct me if im wrong
rc_square24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 12:11 AM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
Rob Mincey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 872
Default

Shredded a shock shaft (or, piston rod, in XRay speak) trying to assemble the shocks in my new Factory Kit. Going to buy a good 4-40 tap set and pre-thread those shock ends before attempting again.

Soviet - thanks for the leather tip. I'll try that while building the new shocks.

Rob
Rob Mincey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Camber setting yeahyeah Electric On-Road 3 06-22-2008 01:36 AM
Camber out / Elevated Camber ronestar Nitro On-Road 0 07-27-2006 07:24 AM
camber? peahbeez Electric Off-Road 4 06-02-2005 03:26 PM
Camber Help? doublest Electric On-Road 6 05-03-2003 06:33 AM
Setting: Droop VS Camber link position Alvin Electric On-Road 55 01-13-2002 10:21 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:21 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net