Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Reedy Quasar Pro Recall, 21 BUSINESS DAYS TURNAROUND >

Reedy Quasar Pro Recall, 21 BUSINESS DAYS TURNAROUND

Reedy Quasar Pro Recall, 21 BUSINESS DAYS TURNAROUND

Old 05-27-2004, 10:25 AM
  #46  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Awol , Gee Wiz , I guess my charger must of been sooo special.....

You think ?
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 01:47 PM
  #47  
Tech Regular
 
mwcet8k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 266
Default

You're exactly right Wild Cherry. Because you received good service, that proves beyond a shadow of a doubt that EVERY OTHER PERSON also received good service. You should be a lawyer!!
mwcet8k is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 09:34 PM
  #48  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Originally posted by mwcet8k
You're exactly right Wild Cherry. Because you received good service, that proves beyond a shadow of a doubt that EVERY OTHER PERSON also received good service. You should be a lawyer!!

Thanks mwcet8k, I`m no body , ask Ritchie......


Bottom line


Ship out date May 4th Tuesday
shipping cost $19.19 UPS Store ( pack it yourself & save $ 9.00)

Recieved back May 24th Monday

*Bonus 10 sets of brush`s > my choice
or, go for the machine wound mod motor......

What did they do to my charger?

They exchange it for a brand new one in the box.....

Quasar Version 2.1.......


If you have the Version 1.0,,, exchange the thing as soon as possible......
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 04:02 AM
  #49  
Registered User
 
ritchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,044
Default

Originally posted by Wild Cherry
Pits > They updated & replace a transistor that puff magic smoke....

Ooo yeah ?
I tell you bout the bag of brush`s they gave me....

Not so bad ...
well which was it.? did they replace the transistor, or did they give you a new one.
ritchie is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 07:41 AM
  #50  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Ritchie when I got it it back , I did`nt look that close.

The box the charger came in did`nt have the heat shrink & had been used for storage like the one I sent . I just assume it was the old one I sent back. Upon closer inspection I discovered to my delight a brand new V2.1 quasar with instructions & cords + one small bag containing 10 sets of Reedy 766U laydown brush`s.....


Considering how many charger`s they must of recieved by now i feel the turn around was`nt much time....


+ the fact you sold the charger used to me for a $100.00
+19.19 shipping
total $119.19

One heck of deal ! Don`t chea think.

Moral> Find a used V 1.0, let them sell & you do the upgrade...

Big savings & you get the best charger available.....
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 01:58 PM
  #51  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (9)
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 9,045
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Wild Cherry


What did they do to my charger?

They exchange it for a brand new one in the box.....

Quasar Version 2.1.......
Dude, I hope your right. I hope they do simply replace it with a new one. It'll make selling it much easier!
Darkseid is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 12:20 AM
  #52  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

lol ..
Naaaa, I think this one is a keeper & I doubt I would want to sell....



It be tuff to find a charger as good as the Quasar v2.1....
No power supply needed...
20 amp discharger.....


Back by a great company....

Team Ae.....

Last edited by Wild Cherry; 05-29-2004 at 12:26 AM.
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 09:00 PM
  #53  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,378
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default How does the fixed charger work?

Anyone have any comments on how the repaired charger works in comparison to the Version 1? Can you tell any difference?

Thanks.
Still Bill is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 09:13 AM
  #54  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

XXX-S Bill

The V2.1 operates the same as the V1.0 ...

It looks the same & my replacement Quasar V2.1 performs great !


Technical information ( Reprint from instuction manuel)


Version 2.1 software.

The new model 611B charger uses improved software that is more resistant to static discharge(ESD) and power line noise.
Some additional safety measures were also added. Maximun delta is 10vM for all types of cells, and maximun charge rate for 7 and 8 cell packs is 1 amp.

Hope this helps.....
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 09:30 AM
  #55  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,378
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Wild Cherry.
Still Bill is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 05:29 PM
  #56  
Tech Addict
 
Neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: me..me..me
Posts: 583
Default

I won't be getting my charger updated. They are just making the charger more "User Frendly".
Neil is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 12:58 PM
  #57  
jsp
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: escondildo,ca.
Posts: 483
Default

I was at the Reedy race over the past weekend. I asked around to find out who to talk to about Quasar repairs. I finally talked to Garry. He returned my Quasar to my pit bench in about an hour with all the updates. That's great service in my book.
john
jsp is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 01:50 PM
  #58  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (9)
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 9,045
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Neil
I won't be getting my charger updated. They are just making the charger more "User Frendly".
Like I said, companies don't do "safety recalls" just to make a product more 'userfriendly'! I don't care what AE is telling people, its costing them a fortune to do all this stuff and they wouldn't do it if they didn't absolutely have to.

If they did recalls just to make stuff more 'user friendly', then they would recall kits everytime they make a running upgrade, but they don't do that.

I'm not trying to convince you to send it in, I just saying. This was listed by AE as a "safety recall". Thats serious stuff, not just upgrades.
Darkseid is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 01:54 PM
  #59  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (9)
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 9,045
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Giving up props...

I'll give AE their props on this recall. They got my charger back to me only 12 days. 6 days if you only count the business days. They got the charger on the 20th of this month and I got it back today.

Pretty good.....pretty good.

I would have prefered it didn't have to be done at all, but since I did have to send it in, at least they got it back to me quickly.
Darkseid is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 05:34 PM
  #60  
Tech Addict
 
Neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: me..me..me
Posts: 583
Default

My charger has never overcharged a pack for no reason. I have overcharged packs because I did'nt have the charger setup properly. I guess when I have a backup charger I will send mine in but until then I'm going to continue to use it.
Neil is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.