R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-23-2010, 01:25 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Mazdaspeed 6 wing - Cut out the slots or not?

Protoform Mazdaspeed 6 bodies come with a wing that has 4 sections to cut out that allow a little air to pass under the curved vertical section. I'm curious if anyone has experimented with leaving them uncut vs. cut out. I assume there should be a bit more downforce if left uncut and maybe a bit more top speed when cut out, but I don't really know if this is actually the case.

Has anyone played around with this?

Thanks
__________________
Dave Locke
Team PerformanceHobbies.ca | ORCA RC | Bodies by Brandon | Team Meeting
XRAY T4'15 x2 | XRAY XB4 | XRAY XB8E | XRAY XB8
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 01:51 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Personally I never took the time to cut them out, so I don't know if cut made any difference or not. Probably more people don't cut them out then do but for no other reason it is just more time to do it then anything.
__________________
JRXS Type R, I have four of them!! ;) ( Yes, I still have them!!)And racing one of them again!!
22 3.0SR
22T 2.0 w/ Exotech chassis
Yeti35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 02:31 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Foxxrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 2,018
Default

I've always been to lazy to cut out those areas. But as far as I know, cutting them out would mean less downforce, and more speed.
__________________
Tamiya 416X/ Tamiya TA-05 IFS/ Losi XXX-SCT/ HPI Baja 5SC/ Tamiya M05/ Tamiya F103/ Tamiya F104/ Team Associated 10R5O/ Kyosho IGT2/
Foxxrocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 04:29 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
YLLIB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Posts: 1,709
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have cut them out once and it really loosens the car up. I have never done it again. Billy
YLLIB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 04:36 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
ShaunMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Loading...
Posts: 3,390
Default

As mentioned above, it frees up the rear of the car quite a bit. Plus, cutting out all those slots is a real PITA! Much easier to just cut the wing out to spec then play around with front to rear placement.
ShaunMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 04:47 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the replies. I think I'll leave it uncut then if it loosens it up that much. I'd rather have it stick than gain a tiny bit of top end.

Cheers
__________________
Dave Locke
Team PerformanceHobbies.ca | ORCA RC | Bodies by Brandon | Team Meeting
XRAY T4'15 x2 | XRAY XB4 | XRAY XB8E | XRAY XB8
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 05:22 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
AGNO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Firenze Italy
Posts: 609
Default

I always execute the opening slot with a faster system using the Dremel.
Decreases a little by opening the load and improves high-speed, however you can easily close with a bit of tape



__________________
Team GMV / RC electric AS Laurenziana
Hot Bodies TCXX - HW Xerun - IP - Spec-R
AGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 05:37 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
KWT-NITRO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 1,616
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

i have no idea if it changes anything,

but i saw few set-up sheets for Paul Lemieux T2009 and T3 where he uses the Speed 6 with the DNA wing??!! i dont know why
__________________
Team Kuwait, Team Terribles, www.rccck.org
Kuwait National Champion
FEMCA Truggy Finalist & FEMCA Buggy Semi-Finalist
Thanks to all my sponsors: Modelix/Ultimate Racing, AKA Racing, AVID Racing, Stick-it1 Racing and HES
KWT-NITRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:39 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net