R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   gearing a Peak dynasty (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/41059-gearing-peak-dynasty.html)

Mr-s413bt 05-21-2004 02:42 PM

gearing a Peak dynasty/new 2 onroad question

Hey Guys.

Ok i am an onroad newbie.

I have been racing offroad on and off for about 13 years now a friend has just lent me a HPI PRO3 TC.

Now its running sorex 27's i think rubber tires.

Now the question i have how hard to i gear a PEAK Dynasty motor?

Now in offroad we would say gear a 12x2 at 10.1:1 how hard do i need to gear this 19t spec motor????

Right now i have geared it really hard or at least so i think. 27/78 gives me a overall drive ratio of 6.50:1

Can someone please help me gear this motor right!!

Thanks

Glenn

Cain 05-25-2004 08:13 PM

Wow, no responses.

I have used this motor before. I am not sure what HPI gives you for info, but I would start by gearing it like a stock motor and checking it after about a 3 minute run to see how the temp is going.

The motor has alot of torque, so you can really gear up with it.

rod_b 05-25-2004 09:12 PM

Gearing it like a Stock motor is asking for disaster. Undergearing is safer than overgearing. I'd start around 8:1

Korey Harbke 05-25-2004 10:50 PM

Although it is safe, that is still kinda way out of the ballpark. Try gearing around a 7.0:1 Final Drive Ratio. That will get you in the ball park. This Motor is has alot of torque and can be geared taller to make up for the lack of rpm. Generally this motor runs hot due to the lack of very many vents... Hope this Helps you out.

-Sushi Boy

Cain 05-26-2004 04:19 AM

I have used this motor, and gearing it like a stock motor as a starting point worked quite well as long as you make sure to check it like I said. But if you know of a better starting point thats great too.

mb racer 05-26-2004 10:54 AM

gearing. 19t