Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Mid-Motored TC3? >

Mid-Motored TC3?

Mid-Motored TC3?

Old 07-03-2004, 03:51 AM
  #106  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (10)
 
Xtant3150c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Posts: 681
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Congrats on the race/test! Chassis set up looks good! I hope things keep moving forward for your chassis!
Xtant3150c is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 07:08 AM
  #107  
Tech Apprentice
 
b3buggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Worcester, UK
Posts: 74
Default

hi guys,
another sucessful outing last night, learned a lot about a few things. set FTD , but with limited drivers, seemed very quiet

nearly converted another driver to actually buy one, rather than just helping with testing.
Might have a tootle around after the Junior natinals tommorrow, depends on weather.

Ross
b3buggy is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 05:23 PM
  #108  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Green Bay,WI
Posts: 3,006
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

slide the batteries more forward
R/C Anonymous is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 02:40 AM
  #109  
tornado
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by b3buggy
no kidding sherlock
cannot divulge that info, need only basis.
might be ran on wednesday, if not definatly on friday, will get some ''action'' shots hopefully.

Ross
Keep to yourself mate ...........don't understand wots the BIG secret is all about. Its no secret that your motor mount is CGM's...and the spur holder too.........
 
Old 07-05-2004, 09:03 AM
  #110  
Tech Apprentice
 
b3buggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Worcester, UK
Posts: 74
Default

hi guys,
tornado: only winding you up! dont think you guys get british wit.
like i said, off the shelf parts, makes finding spares easier, dont want to break it and it to be the only one in the world. Also have you tried to find a machine shop close to where i live! would machine parts for it myself but dont have the facilities.

R/C ann.: why move the batteries forward? the balance seems good, and has more initial steering than a standard tc3, due to more weight being at the front than normal. also not that much space available, maybe could move it one mil .

Ross

Last edited by b3buggy; 07-05-2004 at 11:34 AM.
b3buggy is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 08:04 PM
  #111  
tornado
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by b3buggy
hi guys,
tornado: only winding you up! dont think you guys get british wit.
like i said, off the shelf parts, makes finding spares easier, dont want to break it and it to be the only one in the world. Also have you tried to find a machine shop close to where i live! would machine parts for it myself but dont have the facilities.

I'm twisted already.....
 
Old 07-05-2004, 08:33 PM
  #112  
Tech Master
 
Wency_TA03R-PRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The so called planet EARTH !!!
Posts: 1,087
Exclamation

Originally posted by b3buggy
Hi guys,
the car ran last night at a local carpet track. ran it with a friend who is helping to develop the car. He took FTD with it. not a bad start. seems well balanced .
heres a pic with the electronics in. enjoy!
Pic1

Ross
Great!!! it seams a great project or prototype of TC3.. So did you use a 3mm thick carbon fibre chassis or same as the existing?.

Another one what body shell did you use?. stratus/mazda?.
Wency_TA03R-PRO is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 10:09 AM
  #113  
Tech Apprentice
 
b3buggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Worcester, UK
Posts: 74
Default

Hi Guys,
using 3mm chassis with 2mm top deck at the moment.
Will try a few different size top decks and designs if i have time.
Nope used a Vectra!
will be recieving some new parts tommorrow hopefully, and have started to fine tune the car to make it more to my liking in mechanical terms.

Ross
b3buggy is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 03:18 PM
  #114  
Tech Master
 
Wency_TA03R-PRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The so called planet EARTH !!!
Posts: 1,087
Exclamation

ok.. Hope to see this prototype in action and the finish product as well... tnx...
Wency_TA03R-PRO is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 06:53 PM
  #115  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (13)
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,867
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

i would definately try 3mm c/f.3mm seems to have more memory and helps eliminate tweak.use the width of the upper deck to adjust how much flex you need in your chassis if any.try cutting a thin one and a wider one and see which you like better.looks very nice though.good luck with it
protc3 is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 07:01 PM
  #116  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,667
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

from the pics there is plenty of room to move the batts forward a fair amount, forward = better
Kave is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 09:20 AM
  #117  
Tech Apprentice
 
b3buggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Worcester, UK
Posts: 74
Default

Hi guys,
thanks for the comments.

pballkid21587: can you please elaborate?

Ross
b3buggy is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 09:24 AM
  #118  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,667
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

forward transfers more weight to the front giving even more stearing. Also there is not a problem with rear traction so the more stearing you can get the better. Also with more stearing it alows you to explore more on the setup side.
Kave is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 09:40 AM
  #119  
Tech Apprentice
 
b3buggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Worcester, UK
Posts: 74
Default

thank you pballkid21587.
Remember there is more weight at the front than normal anyway. and there is more than enough ballast to move around.
thanks for the comment, i will look futher into it if i start having problems.


ProTc3:
thanks for the comment, i was going to make a few top decks, i already have some in the works. I mainly run on tarmac so have gone for a 2mm for the first one.
If i run carpet then 3mm would be better- but as we dont run foams over here very often 3mm is not essential.
I have done done a flexy top deck for my warpspeed, and so will copy the main idea from that for the flexy one.
More than anything i just wantd it running

Ross
b3buggy is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 10:06 AM
  #120  
Tech Fanatic
 
glide 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 760
Default b3buggy

looks very nice!!... are both the front and rear shafts the same length? and what are they made of?
glide 1 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.