R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2001, 06:22 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Angry Glitching Problem

I had a major glitching problem runing my TC3 the past weekend at the National. I changed radio, crystals, servo and speed control and the glitching didn't go away. Is it possible the motors would cause the radio to glitch. I tried 2 MVP and one seems to glitch more than the other.

Thanks
Joe
JChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2001, 06:25 PM   #2
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Were you running all three caps with two of them soldered to the same point on the motor can? Seems like you tried everything else I can think of. When you say you changed the radio, did that include the reciever? Those are my only thoughts.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2001, 06:35 PM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Default

I started with 2 caps which I think it was a big mistakes. Then I put on one more caps and it got better. I tried using my Nitro car's radio, 3 different recievers and a different servo and the glitching was still there. IS it possible my digital servo causes it to glitch? I use a M8, KO 2143 and Novak Cyclone.

Thanks
Joe
JChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2001, 06:39 PM   #4
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I know a few people who use digital units with no change in radio singnal quality. Sorry, but I must say, I am out of ideas. Have you had the problems since you returned from the event? Have you tried standing the reciiever on its side? As you can see I'm grasping for straws here!
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2001, 06:45 PM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Default

I will tried it this weekend and let you know.

Thanks
JChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2001, 06:58 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

As far as Motor Caps are concerned....doesn't the MVp come with the 3 caps alread in the endbell like the GM3 and the Fantom GM3? I have a Fantom GM3 and have no caps on my motor that I had to solder on. Did I forget to solder the Caps on?

Mike Webb
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2001, 07:33 PM   #7
Regional Moderator
 
daniz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: D-Square Racing
Posts: 3,189
Default

JChan : Try Modified Motor, if the glitches gone you know what's your problem then... Stock Motor's sparks can promote glitch.
daniz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2001, 10:01 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stan Lee's office
Posts: 148
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mike_Webb
As far as Motor Caps are concerned....doesn't the MVp come with the 3 caps alread in the endbell like the GM3 and the Fantom GM3? I have a Fantom GM3 and have no caps on my motor that I had to solder on. Did I forget to solder the Caps on?

Mike Webb
You need caps on your MVP........ it is made be Reedy.....

Now your GM3 has Caps build in......... it is made by trinty
now your Fantom Gm3 is build by trinty and tweeked by Fantom

hope that helped

Wolverine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2001, 10:04 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

Is your reviever wire touching any graphite?? That could be causing the problem. Is your reviever near the motor if so move it as fare away as possible. Appart from that and the ones already I have no idea. Orion and trinity have surface caps, don't think reedy does as Wolverine said.
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2001, 10:11 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

Thanks guys. One of the guys at my track took silicon tubing and put it on the exposed wire that leads to the antena holder so that it doesn't touch the Chassis on his XXX-S. The way he has his receiver mounted was flat and he had glitches. He then stood it up on its side and the antena wire comes out of the reciever by the servo and then runs backwards to the holder. He also has two pieces of double sided tape under the receiver holding it to the chassis. Hope this may give you a idea.

Mike Webb
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2001, 10:33 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: In Da Club
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to M Ignacio
Default

Rc Car Mag. Had a great article on radio glitching. All the idea's you guys mentioned were mentioned in the Rc Car Mag article. More power to you guys.
M Ignacio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2001, 10:40 AM   #12
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,044
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Problem with the article is that they mentioned everything but the motor. With the reedy cans there seems to be a problem with some units not grounding the the retainer ring in the can. In other words the ring isn't getting good contact with the can when you tighten the endbell down. I've had to grind the paint off where the ring pushes up against the tabs on the can that hold the ring in. The best way to remove some paint there is to use a dremel cut off wheel and just scuff it up a little. If you still glitch with a P2k then you know it's not the MVP. I'm assuming also you wipe the magnets off and cut your comm every so often too.
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Glitching electronics problem for a XXX-T crizo Electric Off-Road 4 05-28-2008 04:10 PM
Arcing/Glitching Problem 4x4xfar Monster Trucks 22 09-26-2005 07:56 AM
Glitching Problem TuxRacer Electric On-Road 28 11-13-2003 02:37 PM
Severe Glitching Problem - Please Help! Accord Electric On-Road 2 06-18-2003 02:44 AM
Any 3PK owners have glitching problem? Aku-Man Electric On-Road 31 06-04-2003 04:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:14 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net