R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-18-2004, 06:28 PM   #16
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

Correct, and when discharging it is better to discharge at 30 amps cause that more closely replicates the discharge rate when racing so you can see how the batteries are performing. Most chargers, dischargers will give you info and you want the info when discharging at 30A.
__________________
RC Car Action Editor and Photographer
Carl Hyndman
edseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2004, 06:59 PM   #17
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default

thank you all for clearing up my question. So i can use any 12 volt power supply to discharge at 30 amps.
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2004, 07:06 PM   #18
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

The amps of the PS doesn't matter as much durring the discharge as long as it has enough to power the charger.
__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2004, 07:10 PM   #19
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 74
Default

any comment in PITBULL X3? How about the charging performance compare with turbo series.
Loman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2004, 08:51 PM   #20
Tech Master
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to burbs Send a message via Yahoo to burbs
Default

clinttredway

if u had to discharge at 14 amps then something is wrong with your charger... the dischage mode does not require a higher power supply...discharge mode does not draw from the power supply in an amp reading.. it does it in volts...

i have a t 30 and i use a novak n power 10 amp supply... i have never had a single problem and i discharge at 30 amps every time... your power supply rating it based on your charging amps. and the motor draw... if u run motors u want to have 13amp or ;arger supply.. because a motor can pull that many am,ps...


ce manual says they recommend i belive 14.5 amps...
burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2004, 09:08 PM   #21
Tech Master
 
clinttredway's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,292
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Send a message via MSN to clinttredway
Default

I guess I was reading it wrong... oh well.. I still have a good power supply now
__________________
Do or Do Not, There Is No Try
clinttredway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 01:29 PM   #22
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default

on gfx do you put both postives and both negatives on a battery? And it can only charge one battery right? Also for motor run-in which plugs do you use, the small or the big or both?
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 02:50 PM   #23
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Use the big ones, the small ones are only used durung cycling.

http://www.competitionelectronics.co...20op%20ins.pdf
__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com

Last edited by Tres; 05-21-2004 at 03:06 PM.
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 03:04 PM   #24
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default

Thanks tres.
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 03:25 PM   #25
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 56
Default

Hi,

I have a Turbo 35 GFX and a 12.5 amp power supply, my charger will discharge at 30amps off of this power supply.

Cheers,
Sam.
Sam Contarino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 03:28 PM   #26
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default

yes i think we already clarified that, if you look page i think 1-2 pages. ( Check page 4 )
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 03:48 PM   #27
Tech Addict
 
jeepnyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: The Great Smokey Mountains, TN USA
Posts: 553
Default

Way to go JD.....when in doubt...check the manual. They are written in a simple easy to understand way......to clarify things in more detail ........post your question.....someone knowlegeable will provide an answer (hopefully, no speculation)....

HAPPY RACIN'

GO FAST..............TURN LEFT...........
jeepnyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 05:13 PM   #28
Tech Master
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to burbs Send a message via Yahoo to burbs
Default

actually i use mt voltage leads always... they are meant to read the voltage more acuratly... not just during cycling if u dont use them when u charge it will not peak at the proper reading to.. i know where talking minimal difference,, but as competitiive as most are .. i t would matter..
burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 05:22 PM   #29
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Green Bay,WI
Posts: 3,006
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to R/C Anonymous
Default

if you look at the voltage on the T35 with and without the small wires connected there is a difference for charging and discharging...i use those wires for both
__________________
Geoff C.
R/C Anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 09:09 PM   #30
Tech Elite
 
ottoman's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 2,761
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I asked Jim Baily (co owner of CE) about the small leads and he said they are only used for discharging and wont affect the charging of a batt.
ottoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Competion Electonics turbo 35bl stealth ed, turbo 30, Pitbull x3 & Novak Millenium Pr pablo101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 10-27-2008 09:44 AM
Competition Electronics Turbo 35 BL stealth Edition And Turbo Flex 30 NIdaho Mudder R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 06-10-2007 07:55 AM
FS: NIB TOP .12 3port turbo motor, NIB RD Logic Turbo II exhaust rossiRocket R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 12-06-2005 10:10 AM
Wanted, metal lathe, milling machine, Turbo matcher, turbo Zapper lazarus Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 1 05-15-2003 12:20 PM
Tunning issue with MR12 turbo and RD turbo pipe PG Nitro On-Road 12 05-05-2003 10:19 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:32 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net