R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-19-2004, 08:27 AM   #46
Tech Initiate
 
Arthur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 46
Default

Well I guess my guess was probably wrong! Ah well not the first or last time for me

Clearly anything over 5000mAh is obviously wrong.

A 10-15% difference in the charge/discharge capacity sounds spot on to me?

What are you saying is 'normal'?
Arthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 09:04 AM   #47
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

My GP 3300 usually charge up to 4200 mAh. This is with a 6 amp charge and delta voltage of 0.06V but I always equalize them on a Robitronic tray before charge so they accept much more capacity than without equalizing. I think this is normal.
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 09:14 AM   #48
Shop Owner
 
nnick's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cheapest prices in Europe ;)
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to nnick Send a message via MSN to nnick Send a message via Yahoo to nnick Send a message via Skype™ to nnick
Default

If you use equalizer tray it is normal to get 4000> numbers. Otherwize it goes up to 2900-3200

Nick
__________________
Nikolakopoulos Nick
RC RING

The #1 source for all your electric needs www.rcring.eu

Enjoy RCing....
R/C Tech #82
IRT #123

Don't practice until you get it right. Practice until you can't get it wrong

Team Xray T4'17, Team Xray X10'18, TOP Racing Rebel
nnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 10:56 AM   #49
Tech Fanatic
 
crimson eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 841
Send a message via ICQ to crimson eagle
Default

Hi all,

I was cycling my cells yesterday, I'm getting 4600 on charge and 3300 on discharge, this is not too unusual particularly with older cells and after traying them to 0v there is always going to be some losses and I do find that NiMh's take a lot of time on the tray as compared to NiCd's. All of my cells that I have cycled so far are like this. If do not tray them to 0v then I will only get about 3800 on charge and will still get 3300 on discharge. Nothing unusual at all. I will however be verifying my charge and discharge currents soon, but I do not anticipate a problem.

The issue some one mentioned about changing the offset seventeen is to correct the charge current after changing the ROM to a newer version. This is very noticable as before the correction the charger will be charging at just over half the amps it thinks it is (approx) this therefore will mean the ridiculously high charge Mah numbers will be generated 6000+ sometimes. Changing the offset correct this.
crimson eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 07:51 PM   #50
Tech Fanatic
 
crimson eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 841
Send a message via ICQ to crimson eagle
Default

Good evening all,

Just something else for you all to check out, the attached pic is of a 4 cell pack (not a very good pack) which I have cycled with Pro trak and generated labels for using excell. I'm quite happy with the results if not the numbers on the pack.

Not easy to tell but from top to bottom the numbers are: -


seconds at 30A (blue)
Average volts
volts at 5min
power %
Charge capacity
discharge capacity
Match %

The pack info is column 0 column 1 is cell 1 etc etc.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img_2229.jpg (62.4 KB, 266 views)
crimson eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 06:00 AM   #51
Tech Addict
 
JohnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Back in good old England :)
Posts: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nnick
Thanks John for the time and effort!

I'm not sure what is the value of the offset 17. I'll check it when I go home.

It might got screwed since I had some problems of not keeping the settings some time ago!

Thanks again

Nick
No problem Nick, The settings you are talking about will be the offsets for individual cell monitoring. If you let the memory back-up battery run down or remove it all of these settings are lost.

You should have a piece of paper that came with the Pro-trak, if not there are instructions on the web site about re-calibrating the unit.

This only affects the individual cell monitoring though, for charging/dis-chaging you won't have any problems.
JohnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 12:06 AM   #52
Tech Master
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Margaritaville
Posts: 1,957
Default

I was wondering if anyone tried making a clear faceplate out of lexan and puting lights in the charger? Was gonna do that with my GFX. Maybe I will try it when I get my protrak.
NismoSkyline17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 09:55 AM   #53
Tech Fanatic
 
crimson eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 841
Send a message via ICQ to crimson eagle
Default

Hi Nismo,

No I have not heard of that but I'll ask Phil about it next time I talk to him. He has had requests for different face plates and done quite a variety over the years, but a clear one is definitely new to me.
crimson eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 03:31 PM   #54
Tech Fanatic
 
crimson eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 841
Send a message via ICQ to crimson eagle
Default

Hi Nismo,

I spoke to Phil today, he said he has not had that request and it's not something he intends to offer. You may hwever try talking to Tre's, he does custom faceplates and may be able to help, his e-mail is below.

[email protected]
crimson eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 05:05 PM   #55
Tech Master
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Margaritaville
Posts: 1,957
Default

It looks like it would be easy. When I get mine I'll try and make one. All you would have to do is bend some lexan, mark the holes, and drill them out. Then I guess find some one to make the list decals for the button functions.
NismoSkyline17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 10:08 PM   #56
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 35
Default Pro Tak Setting Question

HI!

To all Pro Trak owners...

How do you set the delta peak on the pro Trak? Is the setting a per cell setting or for 1 pack (6 cells)? I usually set it at 40mV but others are saying it should be .04mV. I'm confused what to enter on the delta peak setting PER CELL OR TOTAL FOR 1 PACK?.

Thanks in advance for your help guys!
gido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 11:50 PM   #57
Tech Fanatic
 
crimson eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 841
Send a message via ICQ to crimson eagle
Default

Gido,

it's for the full pack. For NiMh's I use about 0.04v for 6 cells and 0.03 for 4 cells. If you have a later version then you can set the delta sepperately for NiMh and NiCd and for peak and repeak.
crimson eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 10:54 AM   #58
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 23
Default Pro-Trak

Hi Guys

Just wonderd if you could give me your opinion on what charge mode your all useing on your Pro-Traks?

i.e Linear
Solft pulse
Hard pulse
Or the step Charge

Just got one 2 weeks ago and just wonderd wot you guys found to be the best.

Cheers
simo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 01:41 PM   #59
Tech Fanatic
 
crimson eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 841
Send a message via ICQ to crimson eagle
Default

Hi Simo,

If I'm charging to Race I use linear, seems to give the best punch and is the fastest to charge. If I'm charging to do a cycle, I use soft pulse. This takes longer but seems to be easier on the cells.
crimson eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 08:03 AM   #60
Tech Fanatic
 
crimson eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 841
Send a message via ICQ to crimson eagle
Default

Good Morning,

I'll be obtaining a used Pro Trak for sale at the weekend if any of you are interested. It is the 20A discharge version it will be upgraded to the latest software, fully calibrated and will come with the Temp detect module as I understand and will be offered for around $250 + Shipping (about $15). This is over $100 cheaper than a new unit. Please e-mail if interested, I'll post pics when I have it.
crimson eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Trak BMS chrisHN Singapore R/C Racers 0 12-05-2007 04:33 AM
Pro Trak 30 crimson eagle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 11-12-2004 10:51 AM
Pro-Trak BMS Glenn Atterton R/C Tech Site Forum 1 11-21-2003 11:26 AM
Pro-Trak Is The Best CRASH Electric On-Road 5 04-13-2002 06:36 PM
Pro-Trak CRASH Electric On-Road 38 03-15-2002 10:30 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:54 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net