R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2006, 07:26 PM   #481
Tech Elite
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,674
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Chris,

Have you tried any of the GP 4300 Cells yet???

I'm running a few electric races this summer while racing 1/8 Scale gas, but I know come October, its time to play on the rug again.

Also thanks for repairing the 30amp charger for Rinkrat - any idea what happened??
__________________
Darkside, Sweep, BSR, Fantom, IGT Hobbies and IGT8
Byrons Fuel, ProtoForm Bodies & Futaba Radio Gear by Choice
Founding Member of CORRC .... 5280raceway
www.darksidems.com www.igthobbies.com www.IGT8.com
Grenade10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2006, 10:08 PM   #482
Tech Fanatic
 
crimson eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 841
Send a message via ICQ to crimson eagle
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grenade10
Chris,

Have you tried any of the GP 4300 Cells yet???

I'm running a few electric races this summer while racing 1/8 Scale gas, but I know come October, its time to play on the rug again.

Also thanks for repairing the 30amp charger for Rinkrat - any idea what happened??
No I haven't got my mits on any of those yet, I imagine I will eventually.

Discharge FETs do blow occasionally though I have never had it happen to one of mine. Phil was telling me that one of the reasons is from connecting fully charged cells backwards (doesn't mean it happened in this case). Even though there is a fuse in line a fuse does not blow instantaneously, there is always a fraction of a seconds where the FETS are getting crazy amps, this is not a good thing. this does not always short them out straight away, might get away with it 10 times, maybe not.
crimson eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 02:34 PM   #483
Tech Addict
 
radio_car_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default PT software v1.5.6

Hi Kimihiko,

can this software be run on a PDA ?

if not can you write 1 that will

cheers

RCR
radio_car_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 03:19 PM   #484
Tech Elite
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,674
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

I agree on the software, as I use an HP hand held that runs on Windows CE. I use it to keep track of the set ups, motor and roll out for on road cars. If it could get the data on the batteries, I could use it to track my packs. Then the only thing left is for it to be able to read the data from my motor dyno and my Nomadio radio. Could be sold as the ultimate RC computer!!

Dreaming Me Thinks!!!


Thoughts???
__________________
Darkside, Sweep, BSR, Fantom, IGT Hobbies and IGT8
Byrons Fuel, ProtoForm Bodies & Futaba Radio Gear by Choice
Founding Member of CORRC .... 5280raceway
www.darksidems.com www.igthobbies.com www.IGT8.com
Grenade10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 08:00 PM   #485
Tech Adept
 
kiyano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tokyo,Japan
Posts: 151
Default

The present software does not operate in PDA

I do not have experience which developed PDA software. Therefore, I need to perform study. If the function which displays data in graph is excluded, I may be able to make PDA software comparatively easily.

Are you going to connect Protrak with PDA by what kind of cable?

thank you,
Kimihiko.
__________________
Kimihiko Yano
http://www.kimihiko-yano.net/
kiyano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 09:47 PM   #486
Tech Regular
 
rinkrat99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to rinkrat99
Default

Hi Kiyano

Now it might be possible to save the files from the ProTrak from a laptop onto an SD Card which the PDA's may accept and then use the Excel feature to look at the data. I will have to play with this on Sunday and let you know what I find. Otherwsie a direct data transfer from the Laptop to the PDA will work also.
rinkrat99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 12:39 PM   #487
Tech Addict
 
radio_car_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rinkrat99

Now it might be possible to save the files from the ProTrak from a laptop onto an SD Card which the PDA's may accept and then use the Excel feature to look at the data. I will have to play with this on Sunday and let you know what I find. Otherwsie a direct data transfer from the Laptop to the PDA will work also.
threads been quite for a while.

how'd you get on with the above?
radio_car_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 11:38 AM   #488
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Hi everybody,

I'm new in here. I am currently using a Version 7 Protrak charger. In Protrak site, it used to have EEPROM bin file to burn the EEPROM for DIY upgrading. But I found that it's not available anymore. Does anybody has the bin file for the latest version? Or at least anything newer than Version 7?
LotusElise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 02:48 AM   #489
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hmm, Im using Protrak since years and had contact with Phil several times but I never heard you could DIY EEPROM upgrade. Must be really long time ago.
__________________
Classic RC - http://classicrc.wordpress.com/
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 03:36 AM   #490
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Thx V12. I possibly remember that wrong....sorry about the hassle but is it possible to get the bin file of the latest rom so that I can burn one for myself? It's can save a lot of time and money on mailing ( I'm broke already due to R/C, sorry mate...haha...)
LotusElise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 04:23 AM   #491
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via ICQ to Merciless
Default

Don't know about getting the bin file to burn yourself. How do you think Phil could make a living if we passed around the upgraded firmware's for free ?? (and remember if we start doing this and as a result Phil loses money firmware upgrades could become a thing of the past and one of the pro-trak's best features will be gone )

I'm sure he'd send you the eeprom for home upgrade. (i think might be the option you remember ?! as i can't rememeber a download option) I've never took that route myself but as you, remember that being an option.

Give him a call or drop a mail and i'm sure he'll let you know what options you have
Merciless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 04:57 AM   #492
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Many thx for all repsonse here. You guys are very unite and I'm please to be a owner of Protrak charger.
LotusElise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 07:07 PM   #493
Tech Elite
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,674
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Thanks goes to Pro-Trak for giving us the ability to "Upgrade" our current chargers to do Lipo batteries. Give reason to why I spent the $'s.

Hey Grimson Eagle, whats your thoughts on IB 4200 or GP 4300, Fall 1/12 scale is coming soon.

Thanks
__________________
Darkside, Sweep, BSR, Fantom, IGT Hobbies and IGT8
Byrons Fuel, ProtoForm Bodies & Futaba Radio Gear by Choice
Founding Member of CORRC .... 5280raceway
www.darksidems.com www.igthobbies.com www.IGT8.com
Grenade10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 08:21 PM   #494
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grenade10
Hey Grimson Eagle, whats your thoughts on IB 4200 or GP 4300, Fall 1/12 scale is coming soon.

Thanks
That should be Crimson Eagle
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 10:07 AM   #495
Tech Elite
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,674
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

I used the term "Grimson" as he usually tells me what its going to cost to fix, update or add options to my charger!!

Actually just a Stupid Type-O!!
__________________
Darkside, Sweep, BSR, Fantom, IGT Hobbies and IGT8
Byrons Fuel, ProtoForm Bodies & Futaba Radio Gear by Choice
Founding Member of CORRC .... 5280raceway
www.darksidems.com www.igthobbies.com www.IGT8.com
Grenade10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Trak BMS chrisHN Singapore R/C Racers 0 12-05-2007 04:33 AM
Pro Trak 30 crimson eagle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 11-12-2004 10:51 AM
Pro-Trak BMS Glenn Atterton R/C Tech Site Forum 1 11-21-2003 11:26 AM
Pro-Trak Is The Best CRASH Electric On-Road 5 04-13-2002 06:36 PM
Pro-Trak CRASH Electric On-Road 38 03-15-2002 10:30 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:32 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net