Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Setup setup setup.... >

Setup setup setup....

Setup setup setup....

Old 06-10-2010, 09:59 PM
  #31  
Tech Fanatic
 
zanernator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Port Orchard
Posts: 790
Default

im looking at a car and can i put rubber tires on a foam spec car? i race off-road so not new to rc just on-road
zanernator is offline  
Old 06-10-2010, 10:46 PM
  #32  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,827
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The car doesn't vibrate or chatter under a load.It only does it sitting on a tech stand sitting still.
My car did some weird things when I changed settings on my speedo.I fought it until I found out it was in my radio .I had to change some radio settings to suit the changes I made in the speedo settings.
It's perfectly smooth, even when you turn the wheels just a bit. Anything beyond that and it sounds terrible. I made a vid, and will host and post it tomorrow. Then you guys can see.

I started to think the drive belt was hitting the steering somehow, but it isn't. It just chatters badly when the CVDs are deflected far enough. Limiting the throw would make it impossible to navigate the track I race on.

im looking at a car and can i put rubber tires on a foam spec car?
I don't see why not. The primary difference seems to be the stiffness of the chassis. Try it.
R40Victim is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 01:28 AM
  #33  
Tech Master
 
PDX-Spike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 42
Posts: 1,440
Default

Originally Posted by zanernator View Post
im looking at a car and can i put rubber tires on a foam spec car? i race off-road so not new to rc just on-road
Onroad 1/10th sedans chassis' have hex adaptors that fit both rubber and foam tire wheels.
PDX-Spike is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 07:35 AM
  #34  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (73)
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,755
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by zanernator View Post
im looking at a car and can i put rubber tires on a foam spec car? i race off-road so not new to rc just on-road
Usually the difference between foam and rubber spec chassis are the overall stiffness, springs, and diff options, most foam cars run dual diffs, most rubber run one diff and a spool or one-way. You can mount either tire on either car. If you run high traction carpet tracks many use the foam chassis to help the car not traction roll.
MikeXray is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 08:17 AM
  #35  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,827
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Here's a vid of the issue. I still need to take it apart and confirm the CVDs are free:

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
R40Victim is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 08:24 AM
  #36  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (73)
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,755
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by R40Victim View Post
Here's a vid of the issue. I still need to take it apart and confirm the CVDs are free:

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
Are you 100% sure its not rubbing on the spring perch of the shock? if its not, that's still about the point you'd start to hear chatter, I'm not saying that you can't make it better.
MikeXray is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 09:18 AM
  #37  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

After watching the video.. id be surprised if loctite was your issue.... when loctite contamonates your driveshaft grease, the chatter is 10x worse than that... the whole front end of the car shakes. What you are seeing there wont affect performance on the track... but checking "Free wobble" of your driveshafts out of the car would still be a good thing to look at.
Cpt.America is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 09:42 AM
  #38  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,827
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I just looked again, and nothing is touching anywhere. I guess that's just the nature of this beast. I wonder if it'd still happen with a one way up front... Oh well, if I can't get this thing to drive my way, I'll get a one way. [shrugs shoulders]

Thanks for the help guys, I appreciate it.
R40Victim is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 09:49 AM
  #39  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (73)
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,755
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by R40Victim View Post
I just looked again, and nothing is touching anywhere. I guess that's just the nature of this beast. I wonder if it'd still happen with a one way up front... Oh well, if I can't get this thing to drive my way, I'll get a one way. [shrugs shoulders]

Thanks for the help guys, I appreciate it.
I thought the one-way was a joke, a one-way is NOT your answer, a diff up front would be much better.
MikeXray is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 10:18 AM
  #40  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,827
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
I thought the one-way was a joke, a one-way is NOT your answer, a diff up front would be much better.
Well, I've driven all three types of diffs(not all in the same car) and of the three, my favorite is the one way. I run faster with my old Pro 4 than I do with my brand new T2R. The Pro 4 turns in SO MUCH BETTER that I feel like I'm gonna take a nap waiting for the T2R to finally turn in. It's also loose on power, making it very frustrating to try and be fast with it.

We have a race coming up in about a week. I plan to spend the day deep in my setup book, and try everything. I don't want to just give up and spend $70 if I don't need to. The problem is, if I stick to the spool, and get the setup to where I'm happy, it'll still be a significantly different driving style than my other cars. I have a hard time going back and forth on the same race day. I get used to one, and when I swap, it's like I forgot how to drive. Going from the M18 to the Pro 4 seems easy, even with the big difference in size. Going from either of those cars to the T2R is a headache, very frustrating.
R40Victim is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 10:26 AM
  #41  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Singapore
Posts: 362
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by R40Victim View Post
Well, I've driven all three types of diffs(not all in the same car) and of the three, my favorite is the one way. I run faster with my old Pro 4 than I do with my brand new T2R. The Pro 4 turns in SO MUCH BETTER that I feel like I'm gonna take a nap waiting for the T2R to finally turn in. It's also loose on power, making it very frustrating to try and be fast with it.

We have a race coming up in about a week. I plan to spend the day deep in my setup book, and try everything. I don't want to just give up and spend $70 if I don't need to. The problem is, if I stick to the spool, and get the setup to where I'm happy, it'll still be a significantly different driving style than my other cars. I have a hard time going back and forth on the same race day. I get used to one, and when I swap, it's like I forgot how to drive. Going from the M18 to the Pro 4 seems easy, even with the big difference in size. Going from either of those cars to the T2R is a headache, very frustrating.
Have u looked here? http://nexusracing.net/newsdesk_info...6db93d961b4222
sammies is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 11:03 AM
  #42  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sammies View Post
Yep.. there is a great little piece in that artical on reducing chatter in the factory drive shafts... youll need a dremel.
Cpt.America is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 11:51 AM
  #43  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,827
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

WOW! Great info there, thank you! Looks like a 5 degree improvement is the best I can hope for with a spool. I'll give it one more good try, then I'm switching to something that I know works.
R40Victim is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 02:07 PM
  #44  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Take out these screws
Attached Thumbnails Setup setup setup....-screws.jpg  
Cpt.America is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 09:15 PM
  #45  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,827
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
Take out these screws
This would give me more Flex, which = more traction, thus increased turn in?
R40Victim is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.