R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-06-2010, 05:54 AM   #46
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 13
Default

t3r is on nexusracing.com for $275.. looks like my entry car back into touring ever since the old ta04-r
lerryfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 04:08 PM   #47
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: SC
Posts: 54
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Any more word on this? I'm looking for an entry-level TC for some open-class parking lot racing. Considering the OFNA 10e, and now this?
CodeToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 07:41 PM   #48
Tech Fanatic
 
Damnit Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 778
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Damnit Man
Default

I just got a T3R and cannot seem to get the rear diff to be smooth at all. It feels like there is a notch in something so every time you spin it it clicks. I have tried several times at building it and am following the manual exactly. Could it just be because it is not broken in yet? I have never had one do this before when built brand new, so I have to be missing something...
__________________
Donovan P.
Damnit Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 01:46 AM   #49
Tech Champion
 
hanulec's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 8,562
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damnit Man View Post
I just got a T3R and cannot seem to get the rear diff to be smooth at all. It feels like there is a notch in something so every time you spin it it clicks. I have tried several times at building it and am following the manual exactly. Could it just be because it is not broken in yet? I have never had one do this before when built brand new, so I have to be missing something...
Did u sand down the diff rings? If not, try that. Otherwise atleast try the car a few times and check the diff operation after each run.
__________________
FJ / ROAR #2-122945 / MaxRotation FPV Drone Racing / [email protected] Awesomatix USA / Wild Turbo Fan / Mon-Tech Racing / RocheRC USA / Side Piece /
LRP / John's BSR Tires / TeamEAM / TQ Wire / R1 / Team Scream / PCR / MIX
RacerLog wiki Awesomatix A700 / 2wd offroad 4 life
hanulec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 12:20 PM   #50
Tech Fanatic
 
Damnit Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 778
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Damnit Man
Default

I sanded them the same way I have done for every diff I have built in the past. I just bench ran it holding the right side rear tire for about 2 minutes and then held the left side tire for another 2 minutes with it spinning. This seems to have smoothed it out a bit.
__________________
Donovan P.
Damnit Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 12:27 PM   #51
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damnit Man View Post
I sanded them the same way I have done for every diff I have built in the past. I just bench ran it holding the right side rear tire for about 2 minutes and then held the left side tire for another 2 minutes with it spinning. This seems to have smoothed it out a bit.
My t3 diff did the same thing. It was the pos xray thrust bearing in it. I swapped to the Schumacher thrust and it went away. Or just get a gear diff
__________________
R1 Wurks/Awesomatix USA/Roche USA/Protoform/Solaris/Mo Speed/Speedworld Raceway
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 03:13 PM   #52
Tech Regular
 
billdapart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Barbara. CA
Posts: 385
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default lipo mounting

I have a question for those of you who already have the t3r. How well does the lipo mounting system work?

From what I can see on their website it looks like the whole lipo is mounted on top of the battery stops and sits about 6mm above the chassis. Then it's supposed to be taped in with tape that goes through the actual chassis which could be cut if the chassis bottomed out (probably not gonna happen but still)

The mounting of a lipo in the chassis is paramount in my concerns when picking a new chassis in the coming months and so far I have yet to see anything that is really good save the photon with lipo option (which is impossible to get) and the exotek conversions.

Maybe I'll just run a second TC5X...
__________________
RoadrunnersRC.com - Come on out and join the fun!
billdapart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 03:49 PM   #53
Tech Fanatic
 
Damnit Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 778
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Damnit Man
Default

The battery sits flat on the chassis and the kit comes with pieces that prevent the lipo from moving. It is designed to use battery tape, but you can get an aftermarket battery strap for it.
__________________
Donovan P.
Damnit Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 05:37 PM   #54
Tech Master
 
KWT-NITRO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 1,616
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackedOutREVO View Post
My t3 diff did the same thing. It was the pos xray thrust bearing in it. I swapped to the Schumacher thrust and it went away. Or just get a gear diff
do you have the part number for the schumacher thrust bearing??

thanks in advance

Ali
__________________
Team Kuwait, Team Terribles, www.rccck.org
Kuwait National Champion
FEMCA Truggy Finalist & FEMCA Buggy Semi-Finalist
Thanks to all my sponsors: Modelix/Ultimate Racing, AKA Racing, AVID Racing, Stick-it1 Racing and HES
KWT-NITRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 08:11 PM   #55
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KWT-NITRO View Post
do you have the part number for the schumacher thrust bearing??

thanks in advance

Ali
Yes sir, its 1954. It IS a bigger size then the stock, but it fits fine. Ive been running one for about 3 months now
__________________
R1 Wurks/Awesomatix USA/Roche USA/Protoform/Solaris/Mo Speed/Speedworld Raceway
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 10:11 PM   #56
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackedOutREVO View Post
Yes sir, its 1954. It IS a bigger size then the stock, but it fits fine. Ive been running one for about 3 months now
I don't know which of these it is, but I have heard good things about the AVID thrust bearings.

http://www.avidrc.com/product/13/thrust-bearings/

I am partial to these Losi thrusts (I am not certain these are the exactly correct part number. I just know where to find them on the wall at my LHS) since I can get them at my LHS and they are 1/3 the price of the Xray and work as well if not better IMHO.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...st-Bearing-Set

I use the Xray thrust washers and just use the actual caged bearing. Sand the washers down with 1000 grit each time as well as the diff rings and use AE6636 diff lube with the red writing in both the thrust and the diff balls. I build it just like my pancar diffs and it is just as locked and smooooooth!

I'm sure the schumacher works well too. I started using the losi thrust when I had my first Mi3!
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 09:41 PM   #57
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 13
Default

so noone has actually given theirs thoughts on the car after some use.. whats the verdict? is it raceable? competitive? worth the price. or is there a better car out there for the same price?

thanks,
matt
lerryfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 11:50 PM   #58
Tech Master
 
KWT-NITRO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 1,616
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

am running a T2R Pro, bought it as a start-up car untill i get my T3. i've been driving it for a week or more, 4 to 6 packs a day everyday with zero issues except for the stock bearings. car is fast and handles great, thats a T2R and i'm sure the T3R is even better.

i'm starting to think if i should get the T3 or stick with my T2R

i got atomic turnbuckles for less than 25 bucks for all 6 turnbuckles and its all set.

people migh say that the composite rear diff is very fragile but i've been running mine with a 4.5T motor and the diff still looks new.

just my 2 cents

Ali
__________________
Team Kuwait, Team Terribles, www.rccck.org
Kuwait National Champion
FEMCA Truggy Finalist & FEMCA Buggy Semi-Finalist
Thanks to all my sponsors: Modelix/Ultimate Racing, AKA Racing, AVID Racing, Stick-it1 Racing and HES
KWT-NITRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 11:52 PM   #59
Tech Master
 
KWT-NITRO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 1,616
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackedOutREVO View Post
Yes sir, its 1954. It IS a bigger size then the stock, but it fits fine. Ive been running one for about 3 months now
thanks for your help, the grooved washers have different sizes like in Nitro or they share the same outer diameter?

cheers

Ali
__________________
Team Kuwait, Team Terribles, www.rccck.org
Kuwait National Champion
FEMCA Truggy Finalist & FEMCA Buggy Semi-Finalist
Thanks to all my sponsors: Modelix/Ultimate Racing, AKA Racing, AVID Racing, Stick-it1 Racing and HES
KWT-NITRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 11:06 PM   #60
Tech Regular
 
billdapart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Barbara. CA
Posts: 385
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default so um...

So I am really amazed that there is not more people chiming in on this car.. It seems like a really great car for the price point and yet next to no conversations or people doing write-ups or talking about their race experiences so far..

Did something happen to the T2R that has automatically put people off this car?

I'm trying to decide between this or an FF03 pro right now and it looks like the FF03. I know they can't really compare but come on guys, where's all the x-ray fans!?
__________________
RoadrunnersRC.com - Come on out and join the fun!
billdapart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE TRACK RACEWAY Apex Mid Atlantic RC Racing 28983 12-14-2017 07:08 AM
XRAY & HUDY New Releases OLD 69 XRAY Australia 247 10-12-2015 06:12 PM
XRAY T3 mario Electric On-Road 3480 05-30-2014 08:42 AM
'10 HobbyPLEX Summer Carpet Racing HobbyPLEX Nebraska/Iowa Racing 98 09-23-2010 11:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:08 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net