R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-13-2004, 01:35 PM   #1
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 113
Cool Novak's Best ESC?

Do any of you guys still run a Novak Cyclone (any series)? I believe that it's one of the best line of ESCs ever made and can still run with the best of them. Forget this tiny, lightweight, overheating and burning up crap! What do you think? Thanks for any replies!
tmeeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2004, 01:55 PM   #2
X2
Tech Regular
 
X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
Posts: 340
Default

I like my old Cyclone TC, its not a patch on the performance of my dominator evo but at least it dont blow up every few runs. Makes a good back up speedo as its pretty indestructable.
X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2004, 01:59 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
PitCrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle Indoor Raceway
Posts: 2,129
Default

Original Cyclone. Still have one. Still works (but I get some glitches sometimes now...?)
PitCrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2004, 03:38 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to burbs Send a message via Yahoo to burbs
Default

i have had my cyclome for many years.. it is the speedo i always go back to... all of the others i have had always go wrong.. the cyclone . TC and the C2 series are the best,,,, even my gt7 went bad on me....
burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2004, 05:59 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: seattle, WA
Posts: 864
Default

The cyclone Im running in my Mi2 I bought used, from a guy who used it for something like 3 years, and I've been using it for over a year (in its 4th car of mine now). It works awsome. I'll see how it compares to my Keyence Im getting. But I will always have it atleast as my back up esc.
racerdx6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 09:47 AM   #6
WC
Tech Master
 
WC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Global Citizen
Posts: 1,930
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default Re: Novak's Best ESC?

Quote:
Originally posted by tmeeks
Do any of you guys still run a Novak Cyclone (any series)? I believe that it's one of the best line of ESCs ever made and can still run with the best of them.
Spot on, brother!! Imho Cyclone is the BEST ESC design by far, and its even more programmable than GT7. Still can't believe the Cyclone is eight years old already, a true classic.

Cyclone is small enough for size not to matter much; it may be 10-20g heavier than a "latest" ESC but weight is not an issue... need more to counterweight the batteries anyway.

Favourite model is the Cyclone-99 ("purple label") and the original Cyclone TC; original Cyclone works good too. Later C2/TC2 has fussier wiring requirements.

Again I'm a big supporter of Novak if only because of their fantastic customer service. Nowhere else have I been able to email their Head Tech Honcho (thanks again Charlie!!) and get a personal reply no less.



But with sadness... Cyclone's reign is slowly coming to a close. I see Novak has ceased support for the original green-label Cyclones and only the purple labels (c99, cTC) and C2/TC2 are still available under the swapover program.
__________________
--------------------
www.PandaGFX.com
--------------------
www.MelbRC.org
----------------
WC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 12:10 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
glide 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 760
Default Re: Novak's Best ESC?

Quote:
Originally posted by tmeeks
Do any of you guys still run a Novak Cyclone (any series)? I believe that it's one of the best line of ESCs ever made and can still run with the best of them. Forget this tiny, lightweight, overheating and burning up crap! What do you think? Thanks for any replies!
Agreed....i've had the old Cyclone TC (green label) for 4yrs + now and it has'nt failed me once!!! Not sure how much better the new GT7's are in the resistance department and programability.... just have'nt felt the need to upgrade to it just yet. ...i like the built in shotkey's on the GT7's though.
glide 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 01:42 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
LosiFromHell986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: El Cajon, San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,625
Send a message via AIM to LosiFromHell986
Default

I'm not into onroad, but which Cyclone would be good for offroad? I'm gunna need an ESC for a XXXTMFE soon, and I was just curious....
LosiFromHell986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 06:13 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
ScottyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,208
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I remember reading somewhere that the Duratrax Intellispeed is based on the Cyclone design. Good news is you can buy this speedie new for $90!

Anyone have any experience with it?

ScottyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 06:17 PM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: seattle, WA
Posts: 864
Default

Even if it's based on the cyclone, it doesnt mean its going to be as reliable and work as good for as long as most cyclones do.

The cyclone should be good in just about any vehical. So it would work fine in a stadium truck.
racerdx6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 07:53 PM   #11
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 113
Cool Novak's Best

Quote:
Originally posted by LosiFromHell986
I'm not into onroad, but which Cyclone would be good for offroad? I'm gunna need an ESC for a XXXTMFE soon, and I was just curious....
Any of the Cyclones will work in any situation. By using the Pit Wizard it is possible to come up with over 500 million different configurations (according to the manual). Even if you don't have the PW you still have 3 totally different setups built in. I've used fixed-setup speedos for years with good results. When I started using my Cyclone '99 (purple label) 4 years ago I couldn't believe how many things you can change on it. According to most people today the only negative thing about the Cyclone is the lack of on-board programming. It has never bothered me. In fact, it is kind of awesome using the Pit Wizard. Novak truly did revolutionize the ESC industry when they invented this line of speedos. Sorry about this reply being so long. Thanks for the response!
tmeeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 11:09 PM   #12
WC
Tech Master
 
WC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Global Citizen
Posts: 1,930
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Novak's Best ESC?

Onboard programming would be cool, but imagine what kind of user interface you would need to design into it?? You'd need several buttons at a minimum, and some fancy LCD or other display screen for feedback.

Doubt anyone can remember how to program the GT7 (uses a series of LEDs) without the manual, unless they do it several times every day.

Damned good idea to build the Pit Wizard (handheld & PC versions); even better idea was to build it into the Millenium Pro charger!!

Self-solderable wire posts... Simple BRILLIANT!

Quote:
Originally posted by glide 1
... old Cyclone TC (green label) ...i like the built in shotkey's on the GT7's though.
GT7 has built-in Schottky... but so does the Cyclone & TC.
(C2/TC2 lost it)

But the built-in Schottky is small and has only limited current so
and external one is still 'recommended' for supermod motors.
__________________
--------------------
www.PandaGFX.com
--------------------
www.MelbRC.org
----------------
WC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2004, 08:28 AM   #13
Tech Apprentice
 
thedominator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Venice Florida
Posts: 50
Send a message via AIM to thedominator
Default

I have a tc2 cyclone and it was a great esc. Always ran cool and never glitched or anything. right now its just sitting around cause i switched over to BL but i'm hoping to find a roller to put it in.
thedominator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2004, 10:30 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
rice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: racing is my life
Posts: 2,501
Default

for me i go for gt7 and tc2. tc2 i like coz you can program it with your mill. pro and you have the option were the wire go or solder.
rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2004, 11:29 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 303
Default

I run a cylclone purple label in my T-Fource and I will put a Blue label in my new TC3. I love them.
RC Paperboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak's BL exchange program gezer2u Electric Off-Road 17 04-14-2013 01:54 PM
Novak's Ionic-D bvoltz Rookie Zone 1 07-14-2005 05:51 PM
Novak's new charger? Roberto Falcon Electric On-Road 0 07-14-2005 02:23 PM
Novak's new charger?? RaDon Electric On-Road 6 05-13-2005 04:49 AM
Novak's brushless speedo. Nightbreed Electric On-Road 14 01-27-2003 06:25 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:18 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net